Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 185
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm
  • Location: Sweden

Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostTue Aug 01, 2017 10:21 pm

Fusion Studio 9 looks awesome! The most unexpected addition for me was the Apple-certified ProRes encoding on Windows. It works perfectly.

The release notes also mentions optional support for FFmpeg:
FFmpeg can be installed to further increase codec support.

FFmpeg is not mentioned in the manuals, so how do I configure it?
Offline

Jith Kumar

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:47 pm
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostTue Aug 01, 2017 10:36 pm

Download the 'shared linking' version of FFmpeg from here and extract to C:\FFmpeg.

If you have installed FFmpeg on a different location, there is a PathMap - "FFmpeg:" - which can be set to point to the FFmpeg install location.
Offline

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 185
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm
  • Location: Sweden

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostTue Aug 01, 2017 11:14 pm

Thanks Jith!
Offline
User avatar

Adelson Munhoz

  • Posts: 239
  • Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 5:44 pm

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostWed Aug 02, 2017 12:43 pm

roger.magnusson wrote:The most unexpected addition for me was the Apple-certified ProRes encoding on Windows. It works perfectly.


Hi Roger,

I cannot find how to export ProRes files from Fusion on Windows. Is there any trick?

Thanks for any help
Offline

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 185
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm
  • Location: Sweden

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostWed Aug 02, 2017 1:57 pm

In the File tab of the saver, set the "Output Format" to "QuickTime Movies", then on the Format tab you can set the Compression to any ProRes flavour.
Offline
User avatar

Adelson Munhoz

  • Posts: 239
  • Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 5:44 pm

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostWed Aug 02, 2017 2:07 pm

That's strange, because the only formats I see is AVID or Uncompressed
Clipboard02.jpg
Clipboard02.jpg (51.12 KiB) Viewed 2897 times
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 581
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostWed Aug 02, 2017 2:11 pm

What OS are you running this on?
Offline
User avatar

Peter Loveday

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2014 6:23 am

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostWed Aug 02, 2017 2:12 pm

Are you using Fusion (free) or Fusion Studio?

The Studio version is required to write ProRes on Windows or Linux.
Love, Light and Peace,
- Peter Loveday
Offline
User avatar

Adelson Munhoz

  • Posts: 239
  • Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 5:44 pm

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostWed Aug 02, 2017 2:26 pm

Sander de Regt wrote:What OS are you running this on?


Hi Sander. I am on Windows 10

The Studio version is required to write ProRes on Windows or Linux.


Oh I see. I installed Fusion 9 free in a separate computer for testing purposes. That's the reason.

Thanks Peter.

I have not seen this mentioned in the changelog though.

I will test this in the Studio version.
Offline

Ryan Bloomer

  • Posts: 256
  • Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 6:58 pm

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostWed Aug 02, 2017 3:05 pm

I can confirm Prores export is working on Win10 with Fusion Studio 9. I don't have FFmpeg installed. Prores will not render through the render que, it's only working through local rendering for me.
Offline

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 1485
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostWed Aug 02, 2017 3:09 pm

Ryan Bloomer wrote:I can confirm Prores export is working on Win10 with Fusion Studio 9. I don't have FFmpeg installed. Prores will not render through the render que, it's only working through local rendering for me.


Do you get a warning when you submit, or does it just fail with no explanation?

EDIT: Assuming it's a licensing issue (Apple doesn't want BMD to enable unlimited ProRes rendering) I wonder if there would be a possibility of a special sublicense. Like a dongle that costs $400 but allows 25 render nodes to save ProRes. Same dongle hardware, just instead of licensing a workstation, it licenses a limited size farm.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 581
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostWed Aug 02, 2017 3:15 pm

Can Prores render distributed then? I thought it would be similar to regular movie formats, that can only render sequentially on a single computer.
Offline

Ryan Bloomer

  • Posts: 256
  • Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 6:58 pm

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostWed Aug 02, 2017 3:24 pm

Chad Capeland wrote:
Do you get a warning when you submit, or does it just fail with no explanation?


The Render Manager reports an "ERROR: could not load comp" - i'm using my local machine as a render node, so all loaders and plugins are available. Same comp renders fine through local rendering.

I can't try another node ( i have another thread about licensing FusionStudio9 render nodes)

It'd be nice to be able to put a queue of files up for rendering and have the Render Manager know to distribute one comp to each node when rending video files rather than image sequences. I like the idea of a dongle as well for this purpose. The cost would be worth it when you have a render farm at your disposal.

But could try to set up a script that would convert the image seq to a prores file after completeion so you get the full speed of the farm.
Offline

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 185
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm
  • Location: Sweden

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostWed Aug 02, 2017 3:55 pm

Ryan Bloomer wrote:I can confirm Prores export is working on Win10 with Fusion Studio 9. I don't have FFmpeg installed. Prores will not render through the render que, it's only working through local rendering for me.

It's all in the release notes:
  • Fusion is now certified for Apple ProRes on all three platforms. The unsupported 32bit QuickTime framework is no longer used on Windows.
    • Fusion Studio can load and save Apple ProRes on all platforms.
    • Fusion (free) can load and save Apple ProRes on macOS.
    • Fusion (free) can load but not save Apple ProRes on Windows and Linux.
    • Render Node can load but not save Apple ProRes on all platforms.
Offline

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 1485
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostWed Aug 02, 2017 6:28 pm

roger.magnusson wrote:It's all in the release notes:


Right, but it's the difference between trying to enable stereo in the viewer and getting a warning dialog vs Fusion exiting.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 1876
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostThu Aug 03, 2017 12:00 am

I suppose all of this is not BM's fault but the strict regulation by Apple. If it would batch or render distributed, Fusion would be the cheapest solution for mass ProRes encoding around. This restrictive attitude is probably the reason why it won't come to Resolve either.

IMHO Apple should rethink their politics regarding Prores or they may loose it's position as a pseudo-standard in the industry quickly. There are more and more cameras and recorders offering DNxHD/HR as an alternative.
Offline
User avatar

Eugene Afanasiev

  • Posts: 545
  • Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 2:57 pm
  • Location: Russia

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostSat Aug 05, 2017 3:25 pm

Jith Kumar wrote:Download the 'shared linking' version of FFmpeg from here and extract to C:\FFmpeg.

If you have installed FFmpeg on a different location, there is a PathMap - "FFmpeg:" - which can be set to point to the FFmpeg install location.

Thank you!!!
__
--Blackmagic URSA Mini Pro, DaVinci Resolve 14 Studio, Fusion 9 Studio Owner
--Run on ALIENWARE 17 R3 (Win 10, i7 6820HQ, 16 GB RAM, GeForce 980M 4GB.
--BMD's cameras user since 2014
--All my movies: http://www.youtube.com/rebelorelse
Offline

Axel Mertes

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:25 am

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostWed Aug 09, 2017 1:20 pm

Jith Kumar wrote:Download the 'shared linking' version of FFmpeg from here and extract to C:\FFmpeg.

If you have installed FFmpeg on a different location, there is a PathMap - "FFmpeg:" - which can be set to point to the FFmpeg install location.


Ha, the important stuff isn't in the manual, but here ;-)

Then the manual talks about stand-alone Render Manager, which not even exist anymore. Please raise a few thumbs to get back our beloved stand-alone Render Manager!!!

I have downloaded the FFMPEG shared x64 version and extracted its folder to C:\FFmpeg as suggested.
So I see following folder structure:

C:\FFmpeg\bin
\doc
\licenses
\presets

Or should that look different?
I once tried copying the files from the \bin folder directly into the C:\FFmpeg root folder - but that hasn't changed anything, as far as I can tell.

Then i started Fusion 9 Studio. I can't really tell if there are new formats. How can I check if that is working as expected?

Under Quicktime I only see ProRes, DNxHD and H264 options. I hoped to see e.g. some old school codecs like Quicktime Animation Codec etc.

No idea if that works out, but what else would it be useful for?

Cheers
Axel
Axel Mertes, CTO/Founder
Magna Mana, Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Offline

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 1485
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostThu Aug 10, 2017 10:07 pm

Is there a way to verify that Fusion is seeing FFmpeg and what format capabilities are available?
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 185
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm
  • Location: Sweden

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostThu Aug 10, 2017 10:50 pm

Load a file that Fusion doesn't normally support, like the .mkv container. If it loads successfully, the Format tab in the Loader will simply say "FFMPEG Assorted formats".

You can find example .mkv files (containing H.264 and H.265 video clips) in various bit rates here: http://jell.yfish.us/
Offline

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 1485
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostFri Aug 11, 2017 12:29 am

Thanks for the tip. It does load as you say. I don't see any difference for options in the Saver though.

Still can't read DNxHR files, either, though I could in 8. I can output DNxHR, though. Odd.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline

Axel Mertes

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:25 am

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostFri Aug 11, 2017 10:35 pm

Thanks for the tipp!

So it works only for Loaders... But that works pretty fine.

Now I just need to figure out why some older OFX plugins won't work anymore. No backward compatibility on OFX side? How does Nuke etc. handle this?
Axel Mertes, CTO/Founder
Magna Mana, Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Offline

Abdelrahman Magdy

  • Posts: 157
  • Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 10:08 pm

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostMon Aug 14, 2017 11:05 pm

Is the FFmpeg support only available in Fusion Studio?

If not, how can I get it to work on Linux?

I have FFmpeg installed as a package from the repositories and also as a static build (these are the only install options available for Linux). I add "FFmpeg:" to the path map with the path to both installations, but Fusion still doesn't see it, as I am still unable to load any of the formats that are not normally supported in Fusion (e.g. mkv)

What am I missing?
System specs:
Resolve version: 14.0.0.078
OS: dual-boot (Windows 7 & CentOS 7)
CPU: Intel i7-4790k 4GHz Quad-Core
RAM: 32GB
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 770 2GB
Offline

Jith Kumar

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:47 pm
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostTue Aug 15, 2017 12:05 am

Abdelrahman Magdy wrote:Is the FFmpeg support only available in Fusion Studio?

FFmpeg support is available on both Fusion [free] and Fusion Studio.

Abdelrahman Magdy wrote:If not, how can I get it to work on Linux?
I have FFmpeg installed as a package from the repositories and also as a static build

Static build of ffmpeg wont work, Fusion needs the shared libs. Make sure you have installed the 'dev' packages of FFmpeg from your distro repo. (Which linux distro are you running btw? )

Also note that some linux distros have really old version of FFmpeg in the repos. Fusion needs FFmpeg 3.1 or later.
Offline

Abdelrahman Magdy

  • Posts: 157
  • Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 10:08 pm

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostTue Aug 15, 2017 9:15 am

Jith Kumar wrote:Static build of ffmpeg wont work, Fusion needs the shared libs. Make sure you have installed the 'dev' packages of FFmpeg from your distro repo. (Which linux distro are you running btw? )

Also note that some linux distros have really old version of FFmpeg in the repos. Fusion needs FFmpeg 3.1 or later.

Hi Jith.. Thanks for the reply. Sorry I forgot to mention that, but I am on Linux Mint 18.2 so it uses Ubuntu repositories for some packages, and I think FFmpeg is one of them. I can't remember now which version I installed, but I will check when I go home. Anyway, I am sure that Ubuntu repos have the latest version of FFmpeg. I just might need to force it to install the latest version, instead of an older one (if that is what it is doing)

Regarding the 'dev' packages, is there a specific package I need to install, or should I just install all of them. My guess is it would be this package:

libavcodec-dev: FFmpeg library with de/encoders for audio/video codecs - development files

...but there are other 'dev' packages in the repos, so I am not sure if they are needed or not. Here is a link with all the FFmpeg related packages in the repos:

https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/ffmpeg

Lastly, after I install these packages, will Fusion recognize FFmpeg automatically, or do I need to point it to a specific package?

Thank you very much.
System specs:
Resolve version: 14.0.0.078
OS: dual-boot (Windows 7 & CentOS 7)
CPU: Intel i7-4790k 4GHz Quad-Core
RAM: 32GB
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 770 2GB
Offline

Abdelrahman Magdy

  • Posts: 157
  • Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 10:08 pm

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostTue Aug 15, 2017 9:02 pm

Jith Kumar wrote:Static build of ffmpeg wont work, Fusion needs the shared libs. Make sure you have installed the 'dev' packages of FFmpeg from your distro repo. (Which linux distro are you running btw? )

Also note that some linux distros have really old version of FFmpeg in the repos. Fusion needs FFmpeg 3.1 or later.

I confirm that FFmpeg works on Linux after updating to 3.3 and installing the 'dev' packages. I didn't even need to point Fusion to it, as it was installed automatically in /usr/bin.

Thank you very much, Jith.
System specs:
Resolve version: 14.0.0.078
OS: dual-boot (Windows 7 & CentOS 7)
CPU: Intel i7-4790k 4GHz Quad-Core
RAM: 32GB
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 770 2GB
Offline

Ulisses Simionato

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 2:45 pm

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostWed Aug 16, 2017 11:52 am

Does the DNxHD codec supports alpha?

Are there an option in the free version for export a mov with alpha to FCPX?

Tks,
Ulisses
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 652
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostTue Aug 22, 2017 8:25 am

Ulisses Simionato wrote:Does the DNxHD codec supports alpha?

Are there an option in the free version for export a mov with alpha to FCPX?

Tks,
Ulisses
If you use FCPX, the you're on a mac (don't you ? you didn't write it). Therefore the best way for you is to export QT ProRes 4444. You'll have your mov and your alpha...
Offline

Ulisses Simionato

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 2:45 pm

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostTue Aug 22, 2017 3:09 pm

I have a PC station with Fusion, exporting comps to be edited in FCPX.
Used to save as QT animation codec.

Tks,
Ulisses
Offline

Bernd Klimm

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 7:37 am

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostWed Aug 23, 2017 9:50 am

Jith Kumar wrote:Static build of ffmpeg wont work, Fusion needs the shared libs.


Thanks Jith, that tip helped me as well, although given some programming background I should have realized that by myself :roll:

Given the questions and popularity of this thread I suspect some people might still be struggling with some or the other part, so I recorded this short tutorial video (on windows). Though quite simple, perhaps it will still be of use.

Offline

Axel Klostermann

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 9:51 am
  • Location: Germany

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostFri Aug 25, 2017 2:05 pm

Hello everybody

can anybody explain how I can come into the enjoyment of FFmpeg on Mac!?

Thanks a lot

axel
Offline

Abdelrahman Magdy

  • Posts: 157
  • Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 10:08 pm

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostSun Aug 27, 2017 9:42 am

Hi.. I am currently trying Fusion on CentOS 7, but I can't find a repo where I can install ffmpeg 3 without having to go through and searching for the dozens of dependencies needed to get it to install.

I have managed to install it on Linux Mint 18 before, but I am having no luck at all with CentOS.

Has anybody figured that out?

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
System specs:
Resolve version: 14.0.0.078
OS: dual-boot (Windows 7 & CentOS 7)
CPU: Intel i7-4790k 4GHz Quad-Core
RAM: 32GB
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 770 2GB
Offline

Przemek Jeske

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 2:58 pm

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostSun Aug 27, 2017 5:12 pm

personally , for Centos, I use ffmpeg from negativo17 repos:
https://negativo17.org/

- but make sure not to mess ffmpeg and related packages by using multiple sources for those. You might end up with different file versions requiring different dependencies - which would be a first step to hell ;) .
So basically it means disable unused repos, add a negativo one and install ffmpeg and other extras from there.
The reason I use ffmpeg from there it has quite a bit of useful stuff enabled (nvenc for example) while other Centos repos tend to have quite a bit of features on it disabled.
Offline

Abdelrahman Magdy

  • Posts: 157
  • Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 10:08 pm

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostSun Aug 27, 2017 6:49 pm

Przemek Jeske wrote:personally , for Centos, I use ffmpeg from negativo17 repos:
https://negativo17.org/

- but make sure not to mess ffmpeg and related packages by using multiple sources for those. You might end up with different file versions requiring different dependencies - which would be a first step to hell ;) .
So basically it means disable unused repos, add a negativo one and install ffmpeg and other extras from there.
The reason I use ffmpeg from there it has quite a bit of useful stuff enabled (nvenc for example) while other Centos repos tend to have quite a bit of features on it disabled.

Thanks Przemek. I surely know about that first step to hell :D. I almost got myself into it when I enabled both Nux and rpmfusion, as some packages from the Nux repo needed specific versions of some packages that were only available in that repo, and that were updated by rpmfusion.

Fortunately, they were just a couple of packages, so I reverted them back to the earlier versions, and disabled rpmfusion.

I will take a look at negativo and try installing ffmpeg from it.

Thank you very much.
System specs:
Resolve version: 14.0.0.078
OS: dual-boot (Windows 7 & CentOS 7)
CPU: Intel i7-4790k 4GHz Quad-Core
RAM: 32GB
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 770 2GB
Offline

Jith Kumar

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:47 pm
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostSun Aug 27, 2017 10:45 pm

Axel Klostermann wrote:can anybody explain how I can come into the enjoyment of FFmpeg on Mac!?
axel

The easiest way to install FFmpeg on mac is via Homebrew. You can follow this instructions if you are unfamiliar with Homebrew.
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 652
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostMon Aug 28, 2017 8:04 am

I think the easiest would rather be a package install : http://www.ffmpegmac.net/
Offline

Darren Cook

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 3:31 pm

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostSat Sep 30, 2017 7:50 pm

Any tips for getting ffmpeg-dev (or whatever I need for Fusion 9) on Mint 18.1 ?

To get ffmpeg 3.x I use this ppa: https://launchpad.net/~jonathonf/+archi ... u/ffmpeg-3
But there is no ffmpeg-dev package, even though it has been compiled with --enable-shared
I'm not sure what ffmpeg-dev adds, and so I'm not sure what I could set the "FFmpeg:" user path to.

The ffmpeg -version information is below.

ffmpeg version 3.3.4-2~16.04.york0 Copyright (c) 2000-2017 the FFmpeg developers
built with gcc 5.4.0 (Ubuntu 5.4.0-6ubuntu1~16.04.4) 20160609
configuration: --prefix=/usr --extra-version='2~16.04.york0' --toolchain=hardened --libdir=/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu --incdir=/usr/include/x86_64-linux-gnu --enable-gpl --disable-stripping --enable-avresample --enable-avisynth --enable-gnutls --enable-ladspa --enable-libass --enable-libbluray --enable-libbs2b --enable-libcaca --enable-libcdio --enable-libflite --enable-libfontconfig --enable-libfreetype --enable-libfribidi --enable-libgme --enable-libgsm --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libopenjpeg --enable-libopenmpt --enable-libopus --enable-libpulse --enable-librubberband --enable-libshine --enable-libsnappy --enable-libsoxr --enable-libspeex --enable-libssh --enable-libtheora --enable-libtwolame --enable-libvorbis --enable-libvpx --enable-libwavpack --enable-libwebp --enable-libx265 --enable-libxvid --enable-libzmq --enable-libzvbi --enable-omx --enable-openal --enable-opengl --enable-sdl2 --enable-libdc1394 --enable-libiec61883 --enable-chromaprint --enable-frei0r --enable-libopencv --enable-libx264 --enable-shared
libavutil 55. 58.100 / 55. 58.100
libavcodec 57. 89.100 / 57. 89.100
libavformat 57. 71.100 / 57. 71.100
libavdevice 57. 6.100 / 57. 6.100
libavfilter 6. 82.100 / 6. 82.100
libavresample 3. 5. 0 / 3. 5. 0
libswscale 4. 6.100 / 4. 6.100
libswresample 2. 7.100 / 2. 7.100
libpostproc 54. 5.100 / 54. 5.100
Offline

Jith Kumar

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:47 pm
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostMon Oct 02, 2017 9:58 pm

If you are installing from a repo/ppa, setting FFmpeg: path-map is not needed. The PPA you used do have the dev packages. Try installing them like this:
Code: Select all
# Install the dev packages
sudo apt-get install libavcodec-dev libavformat-dev libswresample-dev libavresample-dev libswscale-dev
# update the shared library cache
sudo ldconfig


If it doesn't fix the issue, please paste the output of the following command here.
Code: Select all
# ldconfig -p | grep ffmpeg
Offline

Darren Cook

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 3:31 pm

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostTue Oct 03, 2017 8:03 am

> apt install libavcodec-dev libavformat-dev libswresample-dev libavresample-dev libswscale-dev
> ldconfig

Brilliant Jith, thanks! Not only does Fusion now find and use ffmpeg, but it also fixes my more important problem of not being able to load mp4 files.

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests