Page 1 of 1

Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 10:21 pm
by roger.magnusson
Fusion Studio 9 looks awesome! The most unexpected addition for me was the Apple-certified ProRes encoding on Windows. It works perfectly.

The release notes also mentions optional support for FFmpeg:
FFmpeg can be installed to further increase codec support.

FFmpeg is not mentioned in the manuals, so how do I configure it?

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 10:36 pm
by Jith Kumar
Download the 'shared linking' version of FFmpeg from here and extract to C:\FFmpeg.

If you have installed FFmpeg on a different location, there is a PathMap - "FFmpeg:" - which can be set to point to the FFmpeg install location.

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 11:14 pm
by roger.magnusson
Thanks Jith!

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 12:43 pm
by Adelson Munhoz
roger.magnusson wrote:The most unexpected addition for me was the Apple-certified ProRes encoding on Windows. It works perfectly.


Hi Roger,

I cannot find how to export ProRes files from Fusion on Windows. Is there any trick?

Thanks for any help

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 1:57 pm
by roger.magnusson
In the File tab of the saver, set the "Output Format" to "QuickTime Movies", then on the Format tab you can set the Compression to any ProRes flavour.

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 2:07 pm
by Adelson Munhoz
That's strange, because the only formats I see is AVID or Uncompressed
Clipboard02.jpg
Clipboard02.jpg (51.12 KiB) Viewed 10980 times

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 2:11 pm
by Sander de Regt
What OS are you running this on?

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 2:12 pm
by Peter Loveday
Are you using Fusion (free) or Fusion Studio?

The Studio version is required to write ProRes on Windows or Linux.

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 2:26 pm
by Adelson Munhoz
Sander de Regt wrote:What OS are you running this on?


Hi Sander. I am on Windows 10

The Studio version is required to write ProRes on Windows or Linux.


Oh I see. I installed Fusion 9 free in a separate computer for testing purposes. That's the reason.

Thanks Peter.

I have not seen this mentioned in the changelog though.

I will test this in the Studio version.

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:05 pm
by Ryan Bloomer
I can confirm Prores export is working on Win10 with Fusion Studio 9. I don't have FFmpeg installed. Prores will not render through the render que, it's only working through local rendering for me.

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:09 pm
by Chad Capeland
Ryan Bloomer wrote:I can confirm Prores export is working on Win10 with Fusion Studio 9. I don't have FFmpeg installed. Prores will not render through the render que, it's only working through local rendering for me.


Do you get a warning when you submit, or does it just fail with no explanation?

EDIT: Assuming it's a licensing issue (Apple doesn't want BMD to enable unlimited ProRes rendering) I wonder if there would be a possibility of a special sublicense. Like a dongle that costs $400 but allows 25 render nodes to save ProRes. Same dongle hardware, just instead of licensing a workstation, it licenses a limited size farm.

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:15 pm
by Sander de Regt
Can Prores render distributed then? I thought it would be similar to regular movie formats, that can only render sequentially on a single computer.

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:24 pm
by Ryan Bloomer
Chad Capeland wrote:
Do you get a warning when you submit, or does it just fail with no explanation?


The Render Manager reports an "ERROR: could not load comp" - i'm using my local machine as a render node, so all loaders and plugins are available. Same comp renders fine through local rendering.

I can't try another node ( i have another thread about licensing FusionStudio9 render nodes)

It'd be nice to be able to put a queue of files up for rendering and have the Render Manager know to distribute one comp to each node when rending video files rather than image sequences. I like the idea of a dongle as well for this purpose. The cost would be worth it when you have a render farm at your disposal.

But could try to set up a script that would convert the image seq to a prores file after completeion so you get the full speed of the farm.

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 3:55 pm
by roger.magnusson
Ryan Bloomer wrote:I can confirm Prores export is working on Win10 with Fusion Studio 9. I don't have FFmpeg installed. Prores will not render through the render que, it's only working through local rendering for me.

It's all in the release notes:
  • Fusion is now certified for Apple ProRes on all three platforms. The unsupported 32bit QuickTime framework is no longer used on Windows.
    • Fusion Studio can load and save Apple ProRes on all platforms.
    • Fusion (free) can load and save Apple ProRes on macOS.
    • Fusion (free) can load but not save Apple ProRes on Windows and Linux.
    • Render Node can load but not save Apple ProRes on all platforms.

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 02, 2017 6:28 pm
by Chad Capeland
roger.magnusson wrote:It's all in the release notes:


Right, but it's the difference between trying to enable stereo in the viewer and getting a warning dialog vs Fusion exiting.

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 12:00 am
by Uli Plank
I suppose all of this is not BM's fault but the strict regulation by Apple. If it would batch or render distributed, Fusion would be the cheapest solution for mass ProRes encoding around. This restrictive attitude is probably the reason why it won't come to Resolve either.

IMHO Apple should rethink their politics regarding Prores or they may loose it's position as a pseudo-standard in the industry quickly. There are more and more cameras and recorders offering DNxHD/HR as an alternative.

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Sat Aug 05, 2017 3:25 pm
by Eugene Afanasiev
Jith Kumar wrote:Download the 'shared linking' version of FFmpeg from here and extract to C:\FFmpeg.

If you have installed FFmpeg on a different location, there is a PathMap - "FFmpeg:" - which can be set to point to the FFmpeg install location.

Thank you!!!

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 1:20 pm
by Axel Mertes
Jith Kumar wrote:Download the 'shared linking' version of FFmpeg from here and extract to C:\FFmpeg.

If you have installed FFmpeg on a different location, there is a PathMap - "FFmpeg:" - which can be set to point to the FFmpeg install location.


Ha, the important stuff isn't in the manual, but here ;-)

Then the manual talks about stand-alone Render Manager, which not even exist anymore. Please raise a few thumbs to get back our beloved stand-alone Render Manager!!!

I have downloaded the FFMPEG shared x64 version and extracted its folder to C:\FFmpeg as suggested.
So I see following folder structure:

C:\FFmpeg\bin
\doc
\licenses
\presets

Or should that look different?
I once tried copying the files from the \bin folder directly into the C:\FFmpeg root folder - but that hasn't changed anything, as far as I can tell.

Then i started Fusion 9 Studio. I can't really tell if there are new formats. How can I check if that is working as expected?

Under Quicktime I only see ProRes, DNxHD and H264 options. I hoped to see e.g. some old school codecs like Quicktime Animation Codec etc.

No idea if that works out, but what else would it be useful for?

Cheers
Axel

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 10:07 pm
by Chad Capeland
Is there a way to verify that Fusion is seeing FFmpeg and what format capabilities are available?

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 10:50 pm
by roger.magnusson
Load a file that Fusion doesn't normally support, like the .mkv container. If it loads successfully, the Format tab in the Loader will simply say "FFMPEG Assorted formats".

You can find example .mkv files (containing H.264 and H.265 video clips) in various bit rates here: http://jell.yfish.us/

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 12:29 am
by Chad Capeland
Thanks for the tip. It does load as you say. I don't see any difference for options in the Saver though.

Still can't read DNxHR files, either, though I could in 8. I can output DNxHR, though. Odd.

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 10:35 pm
by Axel Mertes
Thanks for the tipp!

So it works only for Loaders... But that works pretty fine.

Now I just need to figure out why some older OFX plugins won't work anymore. No backward compatibility on OFX side? How does Nuke etc. handle this?

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Mon Aug 14, 2017 11:05 pm
by Abdelrahman Magdy
Is the FFmpeg support only available in Fusion Studio?

If not, how can I get it to work on Linux?

I have FFmpeg installed as a package from the repositories and also as a static build (these are the only install options available for Linux). I add "FFmpeg:" to the path map with the path to both installations, but Fusion still doesn't see it, as I am still unable to load any of the formats that are not normally supported in Fusion (e.g. mkv)

What am I missing?

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 12:05 am
by Jith Kumar
Abdelrahman Magdy wrote:Is the FFmpeg support only available in Fusion Studio?

FFmpeg support is available on both Fusion [free] and Fusion Studio.

Abdelrahman Magdy wrote:If not, how can I get it to work on Linux?
I have FFmpeg installed as a package from the repositories and also as a static build

Static build of ffmpeg wont work, Fusion needs the shared libs. Make sure you have installed the 'dev' packages of FFmpeg from your distro repo. (Which linux distro are you running btw? )

Also note that some linux distros have really old version of FFmpeg in the repos. Fusion needs FFmpeg 3.1 or later.

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 9:15 am
by Abdelrahman Magdy
Jith Kumar wrote:Static build of ffmpeg wont work, Fusion needs the shared libs. Make sure you have installed the 'dev' packages of FFmpeg from your distro repo. (Which linux distro are you running btw? )

Also note that some linux distros have really old version of FFmpeg in the repos. Fusion needs FFmpeg 3.1 or later.

Hi Jith.. Thanks for the reply. Sorry I forgot to mention that, but I am on Linux Mint 18.2 so it uses Ubuntu repositories for some packages, and I think FFmpeg is one of them. I can't remember now which version I installed, but I will check when I go home. Anyway, I am sure that Ubuntu repos have the latest version of FFmpeg. I just might need to force it to install the latest version, instead of an older one (if that is what it is doing)

Regarding the 'dev' packages, is there a specific package I need to install, or should I just install all of them. My guess is it would be this package:

libavcodec-dev: FFmpeg library with de/encoders for audio/video codecs - development files

...but there are other 'dev' packages in the repos, so I am not sure if they are needed or not. Here is a link with all the FFmpeg related packages in the repos:

https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/ffmpeg

Lastly, after I install these packages, will Fusion recognize FFmpeg automatically, or do I need to point it to a specific package?

Thank you very much.

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2017 9:02 pm
by Abdelrahman Magdy
Jith Kumar wrote:Static build of ffmpeg wont work, Fusion needs the shared libs. Make sure you have installed the 'dev' packages of FFmpeg from your distro repo. (Which linux distro are you running btw? )

Also note that some linux distros have really old version of FFmpeg in the repos. Fusion needs FFmpeg 3.1 or later.

I confirm that FFmpeg works on Linux after updating to 3.3 and installing the 'dev' packages. I didn't even need to point Fusion to it, as it was installed automatically in /usr/bin.

Thank you very much, Jith.

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:52 am
by Ulisses Simionato
Does the DNxHD codec supports alpha?

Are there an option in the free version for export a mov with alpha to FCPX?

Tks,
Ulisses

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:25 am
by Sam Steti
Ulisses Simionato wrote:Does the DNxHD codec supports alpha?

Are there an option in the free version for export a mov with alpha to FCPX?

Tks,
Ulisses
If you use FCPX, the you're on a mac (don't you ? you didn't write it). Therefore the best way for you is to export QT ProRes 4444. You'll have your mov and your alpha...

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 3:09 pm
by Ulisses Simionato
I have a PC station with Fusion, exporting comps to be edited in FCPX.
Used to save as QT animation codec.

Tks,
Ulisses

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2017 9:50 am
by Bernd Klimm
Jith Kumar wrote:Static build of ffmpeg wont work, Fusion needs the shared libs.


Thanks Jith, that tip helped me as well, although given some programming background I should have realized that by myself :roll:

Given the questions and popularity of this thread I suspect some people might still be struggling with some or the other part, so I recorded this short tutorial video (on windows). Though quite simple, perhaps it will still be of use.


Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Fri Aug 25, 2017 2:05 pm
by Axel Klostermann
Hello everybody

can anybody explain how I can come into the enjoyment of FFmpeg on Mac!?

Thanks a lot

axel

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Sun Aug 27, 2017 9:42 am
by Abdelrahman Magdy
Hi.. I am currently trying Fusion on CentOS 7, but I can't find a repo where I can install ffmpeg 3 without having to go through and searching for the dozens of dependencies needed to get it to install.

I have managed to install it on Linux Mint 18 before, but I am having no luck at all with CentOS.

Has anybody figured that out?

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Sun Aug 27, 2017 5:12 pm
by Przemek Jeske
personally , for Centos, I use ffmpeg from negativo17 repos:
https://negativo17.org/

- but make sure not to mess ffmpeg and related packages by using multiple sources for those. You might end up with different file versions requiring different dependencies - which would be a first step to hell ;) .
So basically it means disable unused repos, add a negativo one and install ffmpeg and other extras from there.
The reason I use ffmpeg from there it has quite a bit of useful stuff enabled (nvenc for example) while other Centos repos tend to have quite a bit of features on it disabled.

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Sun Aug 27, 2017 6:49 pm
by Abdelrahman Magdy
Przemek Jeske wrote:personally , for Centos, I use ffmpeg from negativo17 repos:
https://negativo17.org/

- but make sure not to mess ffmpeg and related packages by using multiple sources for those. You might end up with different file versions requiring different dependencies - which would be a first step to hell ;) .
So basically it means disable unused repos, add a negativo one and install ffmpeg and other extras from there.
The reason I use ffmpeg from there it has quite a bit of useful stuff enabled (nvenc for example) while other Centos repos tend to have quite a bit of features on it disabled.

Thanks Przemek. I surely know about that first step to hell :D. I almost got myself into it when I enabled both Nux and rpmfusion, as some packages from the Nux repo needed specific versions of some packages that were only available in that repo, and that were updated by rpmfusion.

Fortunately, they were just a couple of packages, so I reverted them back to the earlier versions, and disabled rpmfusion.

I will take a look at negativo and try installing ffmpeg from it.

Thank you very much.

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:45 pm
by Jith Kumar
Axel Klostermann wrote:can anybody explain how I can come into the enjoyment of FFmpeg on Mac!?
axel

The easiest way to install FFmpeg on mac is via Homebrew. You can follow this instructions if you are unfamiliar with Homebrew.

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Mon Aug 28, 2017 8:04 am
by Sam Steti
I think the easiest would rather be a package install : http://www.ffmpegmac.net/

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Sat Sep 30, 2017 7:50 pm
by Darren Cook
Any tips for getting ffmpeg-dev (or whatever I need for Fusion 9) on Mint 18.1 ?

To get ffmpeg 3.x I use this ppa: https://launchpad.net/~jonathonf/+archi ... u/ffmpeg-3
But there is no ffmpeg-dev package, even though it has been compiled with --enable-shared
I'm not sure what ffmpeg-dev adds, and so I'm not sure what I could set the "FFmpeg:" user path to.

The ffmpeg -version information is below.

ffmpeg version 3.3.4-2~16.04.york0 Copyright (c) 2000-2017 the FFmpeg developers
built with gcc 5.4.0 (Ubuntu 5.4.0-6ubuntu1~16.04.4) 20160609
configuration: --prefix=/usr --extra-version='2~16.04.york0' --toolchain=hardened --libdir=/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu --incdir=/usr/include/x86_64-linux-gnu --enable-gpl --disable-stripping --enable-avresample --enable-avisynth --enable-gnutls --enable-ladspa --enable-libass --enable-libbluray --enable-libbs2b --enable-libcaca --enable-libcdio --enable-libflite --enable-libfontconfig --enable-libfreetype --enable-libfribidi --enable-libgme --enable-libgsm --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libopenjpeg --enable-libopenmpt --enable-libopus --enable-libpulse --enable-librubberband --enable-libshine --enable-libsnappy --enable-libsoxr --enable-libspeex --enable-libssh --enable-libtheora --enable-libtwolame --enable-libvorbis --enable-libvpx --enable-libwavpack --enable-libwebp --enable-libx265 --enable-libxvid --enable-libzmq --enable-libzvbi --enable-omx --enable-openal --enable-opengl --enable-sdl2 --enable-libdc1394 --enable-libiec61883 --enable-chromaprint --enable-frei0r --enable-libopencv --enable-libx264 --enable-shared
libavutil 55. 58.100 / 55. 58.100
libavcodec 57. 89.100 / 57. 89.100
libavformat 57. 71.100 / 57. 71.100
libavdevice 57. 6.100 / 57. 6.100
libavfilter 6. 82.100 / 6. 82.100
libavresample 3. 5. 0 / 3. 5. 0
libswscale 4. 6.100 / 4. 6.100
libswresample 2. 7.100 / 2. 7.100
libpostproc 54. 5.100 / 54. 5.100

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 9:58 pm
by Jith Kumar
If you are installing from a repo/ppa, setting FFmpeg: path-map is not needed. The PPA you used do have the dev packages. Try installing them like this:
Code: Select all
# Install the dev packages
sudo apt-get install libavcodec-dev libavformat-dev libswresample-dev libavresample-dev libswscale-dev
# update the shared library cache
sudo ldconfig


If it doesn't fix the issue, please paste the output of the following command here.
Code: Select all
# ldconfig -p | grep ffmpeg

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2017 8:03 am
by Darren Cook
> apt install libavcodec-dev libavformat-dev libswresample-dev libavresample-dev libswscale-dev
> ldconfig

Brilliant Jith, thanks! Not only does Fusion now find and use ffmpeg, but it also fixes my more important problem of not being able to load mp4 files.

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2018 11:18 pm
by abukva
Hi, I've done everything mentioned in this topic regarding Linux and I still do not have other codecs in my compression drop menu. This is ffmpeg output, I am using debian with fusion 9

Code: Select all
ffmpeg version 3.4.1-1+b1 Copyright (c) 2000-2017 the FFmpeg developers
  built with gcc 7 (Debian 7.2.0-18)
  configuration: --prefix=/usr --extra-version=1+b1 --toolchain=hardened --libdir=/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu --incdir=/usr/include/x86_64-linux-gnu --enable-gpl --disable-stripping --enable-avresample --enable-avisynth --enable-gnutls --enable-ladspa --enable-libass --enable-libbluray --enable-libbs2b --enable-libcaca --enable-libcdio --enable-libflite --enable-libfontconfig --enable-libfreetype --enable-libfribidi --enable-libgme --enable-libgsm --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libmysofa --enable-libopenjpeg --enable-libopenmpt --enable-libopus --enable-libpulse --enable-librubberband --enable-librsvg --enable-libshine --enable-libsnappy --enable-libsoxr --enable-libspeex --enable-libssh --enable-libtheora --enable-libtwolame --enable-libvorbis --enable-libvpx --enable-libwavpack --enable-libwebp --enable-libx265 --enable-libxml2 --enable-libxvid --enable-libzmq --enable-libzvbi --enable-omx --enable-openal --enable-opengl --enable-sdl2 --enable-libdc1394 --enable-libdrm --enable-libiec61883 --enable-chromaprint --enable-frei0r --enable-libopencv --enable-libx264 --enable-shared
  libavutil      55. 78.100 / 55. 78.100
  libavcodec     57.107.100 / 57.107.100
  libavformat    57. 83.100 / 57. 83.100
  libavdevice    57. 10.100 / 57. 10.100
  libavfilter     6.107.100 /  6.107.100
  libavresample   3.  7.  0 /  3.  7.  0
  libswscale      4.  8.100 /  4.  8.100
  libswresample   2.  9.100 /  2.  9.100
  libpostproc    54.  7.100 / 54.  7.100
Hyper fast Audio and Video encoder

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2018 12:40 am
by retrovolga
Hi, i'm newbie in Linux, please write a full step by steb guide what and where to download and how to install FFmpeg to Fusion in Centos 7. Thank you)

Re: Fusion 9 supports FFmpeg, how to configure?

PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2018 4:41 pm
by retrovolga
Found this metod, works for me:

Download or pull the git repository from FFMpeg.org (even if you already have it installed)
(if you don't have kernel headers and gcc tools installed you need to do that. If the following doesn't work, you don't have that done)
Unpack it to a directory in your home
cd to that directory in your favorite terminal emulator (<ctrl>+<alt>+t most of the time)
type the following: ./configure -enable-nonfree --enable-shared --prefix=/home/<yourusername>/ffmpeg/ (< that's the place you want to install it)
wait for this to finish (hopefully with no errors)
type: make
Wait for the lengthy make process to finish
type: make install

The next part is easier to do in the config file for Fusion (which is JSON formatted) so browse to...
/home/<your user name>/.fusion/BlackmagicDesign/Fusion/Profiles/Default
Open the file called Fusion.prefs in your favorite editor and look for Paths = { Map ={
Scroll to the bottom of that section and add the following line just before the one that starts with ["Bins:"]
["ffmpeg:"] = "/home/<your user name>/ffmpeg",
^ it's really important that you include the trailing comma in JSON unless it's the last line

You can do that from the interface in Fusion but if you do, make absolutely sure to include the : after ffmpeg and for dog's sake, remember that you're in a case sensitive OS

Make full backup of the system disk before, couse when istalling kernel headers and gcc tools, it will update kernel from original BM distributive Davinci 14.2, and centos cant boot. After that, restore from backup and copy ffmpeg folder to it.
For backup, it's free solution: www.veeam.com/ru/linux-backup-free-download.html
Tutorial: www.serveradmin.ru/backup-i-perenos-linux-servera/