Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

nuke2fusion - nuke hotkeys, node equivalents, layouts for Fu

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

alan bovine

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 6:20 pm

nuke2fusion - nuke hotkeys, node equivalents, layouts for Fu

PostMon Aug 07, 2017 9:35 pm

Hey Fuzionmongers,

I've set up a Github repo with some of my defaults for Fusion. Im a long time Nuke/Fusion user who were looking to customize Fusion to mimic/be inspired by Nuke. Especially if you're a Nuke user and are having a bit of trouble adjusting to new layouts, hotkeys and node names.

I've provided a lot (but not all) of the most common Nuke hotkeys, Nuke screen layouts and Nuke nodes. So when you hit that TAB looking for Nuke's Reconcile3d in Fusion, you'll actually get the equivalent of Fusion's; which is Locator3D.

Hopefully this will help some Nuke users in picking up Fusion for production work.

https://github.com/statixVFX/nuke2fusion

Image

Feel free to contribute, clone, tear appart and abuse the repo.

stx
Offline

John Jajack

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:29 pm

Re: nuke2fusion - nuke hotkeys, node equivalents, layouts fo

PostTue Aug 08, 2017 12:28 am

Great work Alan. Having been a NukeX user for a few years, I spent some good time not too long ago remapping Fusion hot keys to work like NukeX. Your contribution takes it to a whole new level and I really appreciate your effort. Thanks!
Workstation:
Intel Xeon E5-2670 v1 (x2)
G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series 64GB DDR3 1866mhz
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
ROG STRIX-GTX1070-O8G-GAMING
AsRock EP2C602-4L/D16
Samsung 850 EVO SSDs
Offline

Francisco Belda

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2017 6:05 pm

Re: nuke2fusion - nuke hotkeys, node equivalents, layouts fo

PostTue Aug 08, 2017 8:14 am

Wow! It looks pretty amazing, will check it out later. Thanks!
Offline

Adam Archer

  • Posts: 135
  • Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 2:12 am

Re: nuke2fusion - nuke hotkeys, node equivalents, layouts fo

PostTue Aug 08, 2017 8:22 am

Excellent work. Was thinking about doing something similar myself though only with the hot keys.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Offline

alan bovine

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 6:20 pm

Re: nuke2fusion - nuke hotkeys, node equivalents, layouts fo

PostTue Aug 08, 2017 8:56 am

Its fairly basic, but it got me up and running pretty quickly. Hopefully it might be useful for others too.
Offline

Pete Kober

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 6:25 am
  • Location: Sydney

Re: nuke2fusion - nuke hotkeys, node equivalents, layouts fo

PostWed Aug 30, 2017 7:08 am

super useful!
i just started with fusion this week after having used nuke for so long and the timing couldn't have been more appropriate.

Does anyone have ideas how one could change the 3d navigation style to something more practical in todays graphics world. Knowing that fusion was once bundled with 3d maya software I can't believe that they didn't adapt at least their ALT navigation which makes more sense.

Anyways, anyone have a clue what to change (hack ?!) :)
Offline

alan bovine

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 6:20 pm

Re: nuke2fusion - nuke hotkeys, node equivalents, layouts fo

PostFri Sep 01, 2017 12:15 pm

Hey Peter, don't know how to change the navigation keys unfortunatley. However, I've found that I can do all my navigation with just the pen without needing a keyboard with the defaults in Fu. Really nice once you get used to it.

Also, uploaded a bunch of new "nuke nodes" in the macro repo for nuke2fusion. And changed some hotkeys to match nuke better.
Offline

Rick van den Berg

  • Posts: 124
  • Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 7:47 am

Re: nuke2fusion - nuke hotkeys, node equivalents, layouts fo

PostFri Sep 01, 2017 2:31 pm

Pete Kober wrote:Does anyone have ideas how one could change the 3d navigation style to something more practical in todays graphics world. Knowing that fusion was once bundled with 3d maya software I can't believe that they didn't adapt at least their ALT navigation which makes more sense.


This. Im a little used to the current controls now, but i think this is still one of the most requested features.
Offline

Kevin Traywick

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 4:40 am

Re: nuke2fusion - nuke hotkeys, node equivalents, layouts fo

PostFri Sep 01, 2017 7:20 pm

Hi guys,

I'm thinking about switching but curious what the Fusion learning curve is coming from Nuke?

And seriously Blackmagic, about that dongle, if someone is going to pirate $299 software, you're probably not losing a sale anyway.
Offline
User avatar

Tanawat Wattanachinda

  • Posts: 88
  • Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 3:47 pm
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand

Re: nuke2fusion - nuke hotkeys, node equivalents, layouts fo

PostFri Sep 08, 2017 10:20 am

Thanks for making this.
I however want to customize Fusion to mimic Nuke Node color
I know we can manualy change tool color via GUI one by one.
but do you think it possible to make Fusion create default tool with color coded? just like Nuke where "Roto/Paint" is Green, "Transform" is purple, "Merge" is blue, "3D tool" is Red, etc...

flow in fusion with a bit dull and hard to find your tool unlike Nuke where they color code a bunch of node to certain color. which make it easy to read and find what you're looking for.
Offline
User avatar

Tanawat Wattanachinda

  • Posts: 88
  • Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 3:47 pm
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand

Re: nuke2fusion - nuke hotkeys, node equivalents, layouts fo

PostFri Sep 08, 2017 10:22 am

Kevin Traywick wrote:Hi guys,

I'm thinking about switching but curious what the Fusion learning curve is coming from Nuke?

And seriously Blackmagic, about that dongle, if someone is going to pirate $299 software, you're probably not losing a sale anyway.

Nuke is more sophisticate. IMHO
once you know how to operate Nuke, Fusion learning curve should not be much of a trouble.
Offline

Andy Witkowski

  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 2:53 pm
  • Location: United States

Re: nuke2fusion - nuke hotkeys, node equivalents, layouts fo

PostFri Sep 08, 2017 5:48 pm

Tanawat Wattanachinda wrote:Thanks for making this.
I however want to customize Fusion to mimic Nuke Node color
I know we can manualy change tool color via GUI one by one.
but do you think it possible to make Fusion create default tool with color coded? just like Nuke where "Roto/Paint" is Green, "Transform" is purple, "Merge" is blue, "3D tool" is Red, etc...

flow in fusion with a bit dull and hard to find your tool unlike Nuke where they color code a bunch of node to certain color. which make it easy to read and find what you're looking for.


I made something like that and I can share it with you. I have attached my master "nuke node colors" comp that shows all the colors I changed. Also, and most importantly, here's the .zip file that contains the settings for the custom tool colors. Put them into your /Fusion/Defaults folder. For some reason, the nuke2fusion macros do not inherit these color settings :cry: . This might be a limitation of Fusion and/or part of a more complex issue. However, if you select the tools normally, the colors work 100%. Please try it out and let me know what you think.
Attachments
Nuke_Colored_Tools_Master_v001_comp.zip
(9.03 KiB) Downloaded 32 times
Nuke_Colors_Demonstration.png
Nuke_Colors_Demonstration.png (39.3 KiB) Viewed 997 times
Fusion_Defaults_Folder_Nuke_Colored_Tools.zip
(19.42 KiB) Downloaded 29 times
Offline
User avatar

Tanawat Wattanachinda

  • Posts: 88
  • Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 3:47 pm
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand

Re: nuke2fusion - nuke hotkeys, node equivalents, layouts fo

PostMon Sep 11, 2017 5:41 am

Andy Witkowski wrote:
Tanawat Wattanachinda wrote:Thanks for making this.
I however want to customize Fusion to mimic Nuke Node color
I know we can manualy change tool color via GUI one by one.
but do you think it possible to make Fusion create default tool with color coded? just like Nuke where "Roto/Paint" is Green, "Transform" is purple, "Merge" is blue, "3D tool" is Red, etc...

flow in fusion with a bit dull and hard to find your tool unlike Nuke where they color code a bunch of node to certain color. which make it easy to read and find what you're looking for.


I made something like that and I can share it with you. I have attached my master "nuke node colors" comp that shows all the colors I changed. Also, and most importantly, here's the .zip file that contains the settings for the custom tool colors. Put them into your /Fusion/Defaults folder. For some reason, the nuke2fusion macros do not inherit these color settings :cry: . This might be a limitation of Fusion and/or part of a more complex issue. However, if you select the tools normally, the colors work 100%. Please try it out and let me know what you think.


This is awesome. :D :D :D MANY THANKS to Andy Witkowski
I d/l and install inside "/home/xxx/Documents/BlackmagicDesign/Fusion/nuke2fusion-master/nuke2fusion/Default/" and it work with nuke2fusion

:!: Keep in my that I set "Path Map" in preferences to "/home/tor/Documents/BlackmagicDesign/Fusion/nuke2fusion-master/nuke2fusion/;AllData:;Fusion:" :!:

I'm no coder and I didn't know how to operate Github so
alan bovine could you please put this into nuke2fusion?
Offline

Andy Witkowski

  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 2:53 pm
  • Location: United States

Re: nuke2fusion - nuke hotkeys, node equivalents, layouts fo

PostWed Sep 13, 2017 1:53 pm

Tanawat Wattanachinda wrote:I d/l and install inside "/home/xxx/Documents/BlackmagicDesign/Fusion/nuke2fusion-master/nuke2fusion/Default/" and it work with nuke2fusion

:!: Keep in my that I set "Path Map" in preferences to "/home/tor/Documents/BlackmagicDesign/Fusion/nuke2fusion-master/nuke2fusion/;AllData:;Fusion:" :!:


Are you saying that the colored tools work with the nuke2fusion macros? For example, if you call up the tool menu and type "reformat" and select "reformat(Macro)" you get the purple "Resize" tool in your comp?

If so, could you explain your process in a little more detail as to how you achieved it? You said you changed your Path Map in the preferences but there's many different paths for things so I was wondering which specific one you changed. User Paths?

Thanks!
Offline
User avatar

Tanawat Wattanachinda

  • Posts: 88
  • Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 3:47 pm
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand

Re: nuke2fusion - nuke hotkeys, node equivalents, layouts fo

PostThu Sep 14, 2017 6:47 am

Andy Witkowski wrote:
Tanawat Wattanachinda wrote:I d/l and install inside "/home/xxx/Documents/BlackmagicDesign/Fusion/nuke2fusion-master/nuke2fusion/Default/" and it work with nuke2fusion

:!: Keep in my that I set "Path Map" in preferences to "/home/tor/Documents/BlackmagicDesign/Fusion/nuke2fusion-master/nuke2fusion/;AllData:;Fusion:" :!:


Are you saying that the colored tools work with the nuke2fusion macros? For example, if you call up the tool menu and type "reformat" and select "reformat(Macro)" you get the purple "Resize" tool in your comp?

If so, could you explain your process in a little more detail as to how you achieved it? You said you changed your Path Map in the preferences but there's many different paths for things so I was wondering which specific one you changed. User Paths?

Thanks!

Oh, Ok I know what you mean. No it's not work calling from nuke2fusion macro
Offline

alan bovine

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 6:20 pm

Re: nuke2fusion - nuke hotkeys, node equivalents, layouts fo

PostThu Sep 14, 2017 9:27 am

As far as i've found out; you can change the colors of the nodes globally regardless by hacking at the fusion.fuskin file (which is just a zip file btw) . There's two config files in there that lets you change the appearence for any node. Granted this isn't as portable as doing it with user colors on macros.

There are ways to script it, but to me that defeats the purpose. The idea behind nuke2fusion is to get users acustom to the fusion equevalent by showing the relevant nodes.

But I'll keep hacking at it to see what can be done :)
Offline
User avatar

Tanawat Wattanachinda

  • Posts: 88
  • Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 3:47 pm
  • Location: Bangkok, Thailand

Re: nuke2fusion - nuke hotkeys, node equivalents, layouts fo

PostThu Sep 14, 2017 6:29 pm

alan bovine wrote:As far as i've found out; you can change the colors of the nodes globally regardless by hacking at the fusion.fuskin file (which is just a zip file btw) . There's two config files in there that lets you change the appearence for any node. Granted this isn't as portable as doing it with user colors on macros.

There are ways to script it, but to me that defeats the purpose. The idea behind nuke2fusion is to get users acustom to the fusion equevalent by showing the relevant nodes.

But I'll keep hacking at it to see what can be done :)

Awesome alan. Thank for your work
Offline

alan bovine

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 6:20 pm

Re: nuke2fusion - nuke hotkeys, node equivalents, layouts fo

PostMon Sep 18, 2017 7:40 am

stx_merge3DConnect.gif
stx_merge3DConnect.gif (656.07 KiB) Viewed 775 times


Updated the hotkeys config file with support for two scripts that tries to automatically connect nodes via merges. A 2d merge will connect the two first selected nodes while a 3d merge will connect all selected 3d nodes to a single merge. This puts the merge in the center of all the selections.

Have a look at the Scripts/Utility/* folder and the updated fusion.fu config file.

These are bound to the hotkeys m and M. Lowercase m for 2d and uppercase M for 3d.

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests