Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Resolve and Fusion Connect issues

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

jonathanmurphy

  • Posts: 54
  • Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 4:17 pm
  • Location: Midwest USA

Resolve and Fusion Connect issues

PostMon Aug 21, 2017 2:54 am

I am a long time resolve user but new to fusion and am trying to wrap my head around how it works. If i have multiple fusion connect clips in one resolve timeline and try to open different clips at the same time in fusion it wont let me. When I try and open a second connect fusion clip with one already open, it gives me this: "Warning Unknown Tool Found". Can I only have one fusion connect comp open at a time in fusion? Sucks if thats the case.
Jonathan Murphy

Colorist and DP located in Midwest USA
Jonathanmurphy.co
twitter.com/jonathanmurphy
Offline

Trevor Asquerthian

  • Posts: 109
  • Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 10:03 am

Re: Resolve and Fusion Connect issues

PostMon Aug 21, 2017 7:55 am

jonathanmurphy wrote:I am a long time resolve user but new to fusion and am trying to wrap my head around how it works. If i have multiple fusion connect clips in one resolve timeline and try to open different clips at the same time in fusion it wont let me. When I try and open a second connect fusion clip with one already open, it gives me this: "Warning Unknown Tool Found". Can I only have one fusion connect comp open at a time in fusion? Sucks if thats the case.


Not seeing that here on R14b7 and Fu9 - just using simple Resize in Fusion on two seperate connected clips/comps simultaneously. Haven't tested this combo beyond that.
Home:
R14.0.0b.023
OSX 10.11.6
MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013)
2.6 GHz Intel Core i7 16GB Ram
NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB
Offline
User avatar

Adelson Munhoz

  • Posts: 224
  • Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 5:44 pm

Re: Resolve and Fusion Connect issues

PostMon Aug 21, 2017 12:03 pm

Same problem here with Resolve 12.5.6 and Fusion 9.

If Fusion is already open, Fusion Connect does not work.

With Fusion 8 it works as expected.
Offline

Ryan Bloomer

  • Posts: 256
  • Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 6:58 pm

Re: Resolve and Fusion Connect issues

PostMon Aug 21, 2017 12:57 pm

I had this happening with Resovle 12.5.6 and Fusion 9 as well. I uninstalled Fusion 9 and went back to Fusion 7.7.1. Now everytime I make a connect clip or edit an existing one from Resolve, a new instance of Fusion is opened, instead of opening the .comp file in the existing Fusion application that's already running.
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 275
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Resolve and Fusion Connect issues

PostMon Aug 21, 2017 1:25 pm

I see this same problem with Resolve 14b7 and Fusion 9. Simple comp with one OFX effect, rendering to TIFF sequence.
Resolve 14.0.0.078 (gold) | Win 10 Pro Creator | i7, K4200 (385.08), 24GB RAM
Offline
User avatar

jonathanmurphy

  • Posts: 54
  • Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 4:17 pm
  • Location: Midwest USA

Re: Resolve and Fusion Connect issues

PostMon Aug 21, 2017 2:14 pm

This is needs to be addressed by either the fusion or resolve team. I hop around a lot and copy and paste from one comp to another just like you can with AE and premiere with direct link.
Jonathan Murphy

Colorist and DP located in Midwest USA
Jonathanmurphy.co
twitter.com/jonathanmurphy
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 275
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Resolve and Fusion Connect issues

PostMon Aug 21, 2017 2:20 pm

Totally agree - I very much hope BMD will chime-in here and let us know whether or not this is on their radar (and if they acknowledge that this is a bug).

Cheers
Resolve 14.0.0.078 (gold) | Win 10 Pro Creator | i7, K4200 (385.08), 24GB RAM
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 556
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Resolve and Fusion Connect issues

PostMon Aug 21, 2017 3:21 pm

If you want BMD to fix this then e-mail support. This is a user forum and even though BMD people drop in from time to time, the only way to make sure they see stuff like this is by reporting it.
Offline
User avatar

jonathanmurphy

  • Posts: 54
  • Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 4:17 pm
  • Location: Midwest USA

Re: Resolve and Fusion Connect issues

PostMon Aug 21, 2017 6:17 pm

Good idea :D I sent it to support so hopefully we will get an answer. If anyone else wants to also send it to support maybe they will make it a priority.
Jonathan Murphy

Colorist and DP located in Midwest USA
Jonathanmurphy.co
twitter.com/jonathanmurphy
Offline
User avatar

Mattias Lindberg

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2015 7:23 pm
  • Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Resolve and Fusion Connect issues

PostTue Sep 12, 2017 12:31 pm

I got the same problem. Did you get a solution to this?
Also having a problem where rendering is not possible, if you have done it once before. You cannot replace the old file...?
DaVinci Resolve 14 Studio - Fusion 9 Studio
Windows 10 - Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti

Motion Graphic Designer
http://fakepilot.com
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 603
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: Resolve and Fusion Connect issues

PostWed Sep 13, 2017 3:51 pm

Hi there,

I don't have any answer for you unfortunately, but as a piece of information, I don't see this problem with Resolve 14 Studio and Resolve 8 Studio.
I have multiple FC from the same TL in Resolve and I can open them side by side in Fusion.
/my 2 cts
Offline
User avatar

Eugene Afanasiev

  • Posts: 524
  • Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 2:57 pm
  • Location: Russia

Re: Resolve and Fusion Connect issues

PostThu Sep 14, 2017 5:17 am

Yeah, I have the same issue, and it's not DaVinci Resolve problem totally If you try to double click a project after the Fusion is opened it will say the same thing and won't open. However, you could drag and drop multiple projects, and they all will open with no problem.
__
--Blackmagic URSA Mini Pro, DaVinci Resolve 14 Studio, Fusion 9 Studio Owner
--Run on ALIENWARE 17 R3 (Win 10, i7 6820HQ, 16 GB RAM, GeForce 980M 4GB.
--BMD's cameras user since 2014
--All my movies: http://www.youtube.com/rebelorelse
Offline

David Spittle

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 1:12 pm

Re: Resolve and Fusion Connect issues

PostTue Sep 19, 2017 5:42 am

Same issue - if I try to open a second comp it errors on all of the nodes 'Unknown Tool'

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Theodor Groeneboom and 6 guests