Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

shadow under imported graphics

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

D'amir Wanguard

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 4:14 pm

shadow under imported graphics

PostFri Nov 17, 2017 4:28 pm

!!! In the process of replacing my username wanguard to a full name D'amir Wanguard !!!

Hi everybody, I am starting with Fusion and i have a bit of a problem adding a shadow to an imported graphics.
I have some elements from adobe illustrator, I tried different file formats, manually create alpha channel, but I can't figure it up.

Any suggestions?

Thank you.
Offline

Rodney Baker

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 5:03 pm

Re: shadow under imported graphics

PostFri Nov 17, 2017 5:17 pm

Shadow.jpg
Shadow.jpg (65.5 KiB) Viewed 220 times


We may need to know more about your specific image file (or perhaps you can link to an example).

It is my understanding that we can do two basic types of shadows: 2D and 3D.
I will talk about the 2D shadow because it's the easiest and may suffice in many situations.
For more realism and when compositing with other imagery a 'real' 3D shadow (or multiple shadows generated from multiple lights) might be more appropriate.

You will need:

the input image
a background for the shadow to appear upon
a shadow node
a merge node to composite the two together

The initial shadow may appear hidden directly behind the object so... move it down and in the desired direction. Because the default is a hard shadow you'll likely want to soften it via the Softness slider.
Offline

D'amir Wanguard

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Fri Nov 17, 2017 4:14 pm

Re: shadow under imported graphics

PostFri Nov 17, 2017 5:35 pm

Hi Rodney,

Thank you for reply.

I did everything the same as you explained, and as soon as I touch "light distance" my alpha disappears, what was white, turns black and there is no shadow.

I tried to import SVG as well, ad I was getting the same result. However, the magic of posting the question somehow made it work now #:O]

Still, 2D PNG is not responding as expected.
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 249
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am

Re: shadow under imported graphics

PostSat Nov 18, 2017 12:30 am

Most of the time the problem with PNG is that it is unpremultiplied (straight alpha), but the typical Fusion workflow assumes that images are premultiplied. Add an AlphaMultiply node right after the Loader and see if your problem disappears.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 642
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: shadow under imported graphics

PostSat Nov 18, 2017 10:46 am

Or just check 'post-multiply by alpha' in the ímport' tab of the loader directly.
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alvaro Castaneda, Bing [Bot] and 7 guests