Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Fusion sent my 1hr render into space, can't be found

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

steve oakley

  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 6:07 pm

Fusion sent my 1hr render into space, can't be found

PostWed Nov 29, 2017 2:57 am

serisouly, F9 sent my rendered frames into space.

had project, made tweaks, render. Path was existing path I'd render to before. Volume/Project/render3

jpg sequence, expecting to just render over old frames.

render... chugs along for an hr, no errors, render complete dialog looks good.

I go to check output and only old frames from a couple days ago are there. click on saver, its pointing to the right place. did search on all local volumes, no frames to be found anywhere. its simple GONE !

on a related note, I render cached part of this project and saw similar problem. frames generated, then magically blown away when back in F9 to work on later part of project using cached frames. never touched first section, yet here it is rendering again in the fly, no cache frames.

from the console -
Render started at Tue 6:44PM (Range: 0:00 to 14:23)
Render completed successfully at Tue 8:00PM - Total Time: 1h 16m 0.49s, Average: 12.70 seconds/frame

so no question things went ok... where are the files ???????

S
Offline

steve oakley

  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: Fri Aug 16, 2013 6:07 pm

Re: Fusion sent my 1hr render into space, can't be found

PostThu Nov 30, 2017 9:19 pm

the answer : seems I had disabled the saver. it was the ONLY saver in the comp. So why on earth, how could fusion possibly render a comp w/o a saver active ? BAD BAD BAD bug ! should not be able to render w/o at least one active saver. so quite literally F9 sent my frames into the bit bucket. very bad. :x

S
Offline

Ryan Bloomer

  • Posts: 269
  • Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 6:58 pm

Re: Fusion sent my 1hr render into space, can't be found

PostThu Nov 30, 2017 9:39 pm

Unfortunate to hear the saver was disconnected. However if the viewer of any tool before the saver was active, Fusion would still render the frames to the viewer, which is why it would have rendered for an hour and not saved. If you still have the RAM cache from the node that was in the viewer, re-rendering with the saver would honor the RAM cache as long as HiQuality and motion blur(if needed) were enabled.

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests