Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Won't render out my effect as a Quicktime Movie? Help?

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Noah Stansfield

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 7:56 am

Won't render out my effect as a Quicktime Movie? Help?

PostSat Dec 02, 2017 8:53 pm

Hello,

I am very new to this software and I just made my first effect. It's a short effect of a muzzle flair from a gun for a movie I'm doing. I finished making it and went to render it as Quicktime movie so I could bring the finished clip back into Davinci Resolve, but the rendering always immediately fails and I get an error (I copied it below). I tried multiple times and messed with the settings, it's always the same problem. However, when I tried rendering it as an AVI file it worked perfectly fine. So clearly it has something to do with rendering it as a Quicktime file. Any ideas what the issue might be? I really need to get this project done ASAP, so thanks for any help!


Render started at Sat 3:39PM (Range: 0.0 to 44.0)
HHGunshot1_v01 failed to write to "H:\HHGunshot1_v01.mov" ("H:\HHGunshot1_v01.mov") frame 0
HHGunshot1_v01 failed at time 0
ERROR: Render failed at Sat 3:39PM! Last frame rendered: 0.0!



EDIT: And I've tried the obvious things like restarting Fusion and restarting my PC, and changing the file destination and name.
Offline

Frank Feijen

  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 10:04 am

Re: Won't render out my effect as a Quicktime Movie? Help?

PostSun Dec 03, 2017 9:59 am

Which compression did you choose under the Format-tab?
Offline

Noah Stansfield

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 7:56 am

Re: Won't render out my effect as a Quicktime Movie? Help?

PostSun Dec 03, 2017 8:44 pm

Frank Feijen wrote:Which compression did you choose under the Format-tab?



...Apparently I didn't have any compression selected. I chose the first option (DNxHD 444 1080p 10bit) and it worked! So thanks a lot. By the way, in general which would be the best to use?
Offline

Yuki.Ariandi

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 3:31 pm
  • Location: Singapore

Won't render out my effect as a Quicktime Movie? Help?

PostFri Dec 08, 2017 8:00 am

Noah Stansfield wrote:
Frank Feijen wrote:Which compression did you choose under the Format-tab?



...Apparently I didn't have any compression selected. I chose the first option (DNxHD 444 1080p 10bit) and it worked! So thanks a lot. By the way, in general which would be the best to use?


Are you working in Windows or MacOS?
If you’re working in Resolve for Windows you won’t be able to export to QT AppleProRes.
DNxHD or DNxHR is the other option for Windows system.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 7 guests