Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Changing multiple tool settings at once

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

daniel.partzsch

  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 8:13 am
  • Location: Berlin

Changing multiple tool settings at once

PostFri Jan 12, 2018 8:45 am

Hey, I really like using the settings tab of the tools to for example setup a common compositing for a 3d render and than switch between these states to change the settings accordingly to the needs of different shots. Is there a way to do this for multiple tools at once, because right now I have to go into each tool separately to switch from S1 to S2. I think the best option would be to tie these settings to a saver so that for example when I want to save shot 3 with a dedicated saver for this shot all the necessary tools jump automatically to the according S3 settings tab. Thanks!
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 489
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am

Re: Changing multiple tool settings at once

PostFri Jan 12, 2018 4:23 pm

If they're all identical, you could make them instances. That way, when you switch the setting tab for one, all the others would update along with it. Ctrl+Shift+V to paste an instance of a copied tool.

To do it based on a Saver configuration, you'd probably need a Render Begin script. I don't know if settings can be recalled with a script or not. If not, it would take quite a bit of work to write the script in such a way as to change all of the settings you want changed.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com
Offline

daniel.partzsch

  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 8:13 am
  • Location: Berlin

Re: Changing multiple tool settings at once

PostSat Jan 13, 2018 11:34 am

Bryan Ray wrote:If they're all identical, you could make them instances. That way, when you switch the setting tab for one, all the others would update along with it. Ctrl+Shift+V to paste an instance of a copied tool.

To do it based on a Saver configuration, you'd probably need a Render Begin script. I don't know if settings can be recalled with a script or not. If not, it would take quite a bit of work to write the script in such a way as to change all of the settings you want changed.
No, they are not identical. For example I need to change glow, color correction and background settings from shot to shot. Would be really cool to have such an option to make it more convenient reusing an existing node setup for various shots easily.

Gesendet von meinem SM-G930F mit Tapatalk
Offline
User avatar

michael vorberg

  • Posts: 816
  • Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 8:47 pm
  • Location: stuttgart, germany

Re: Changing multiple tool settings at once

PostSat Jan 13, 2018 9:17 pm

maybe a switch or the switch fuse can help you
you would need duplicated branches of the flow, but you can link all the switches and with one click you change all the settings in the flow
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 489
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am

Re: Changing multiple tool settings at once

PostSun Jan 14, 2018 1:00 am

Turns out there's a fairly straightforward scripting method: tool:SetCurrentSettings(setting) will do it. You could set up a little control node with some buttons to activate the correct setting and enable/disable the desired Savers.

Page 168 of the Fusion 8 Scripting Guide.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com
Offline

daniel.partzsch

  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 8:13 am
  • Location: Berlin

Re: Changing multiple tool settings at once

PostMon Jan 15, 2018 6:22 pm

Hi Bryan, thanks for this tip. Unfortunately I don't have any experience yet with scripting and would be really interested how you would setup such a control node? Coming from after effects I am also wondering whether this is kind of similar to using a null layer with some slider controls etc to control the properties of multiple other layers? Thank you!

Gesendet von meinem SM-G930F mit Tapatalk
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 823
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Changing multiple tool settings at once

PostMon Jan 15, 2018 6:56 pm

For a 'null' control you can use almost every tool in Fusion. One of the most common tools for that is the custom tool, since it comes with a bunch of controls and sliders 'out of the box' but you can also transform brightness/contrast tools for this purposes as a 'control' macro etc.
In the case of the custom tool, you can name every numeric control and hide the controls you don't want until you basically get a 'remote' to control whatever it is you want to control.
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Thierry Bergeron and 7 guests