Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Is Fusion Stand Alone, still alive?

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Abdelrahman Magdy

  • Posts: 196
  • Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 10:08 pm

Re: Is Fusion Stand Alone, still alive?

PostThu Apr 12, 2018 7:48 pm

michael vorberg wrote:
Abdelrahman Magdy wrote:This is what he said:
It kind of still is. I mean, there might be something in there, I think the network rendering is something that people might want.



rings more alarm bells then before for me! sounds like he didnt understand Fusion as a product at all, how its used, how versatile it is,how different workflow can be

when he talks about how nice the new UI design is... wth? who cares about the node design if i cant do work like i need to

I understand what you are saying. This is why I said it is a bit reassuring for the time being. Because, to me, he seemed a bit unsure about it :?.

Let's hope for a better clarification soon. It would be a huge loss if they kill it completely. There are a lot of things that we will lose with it, from the most simple to the most advanced. Even the whole UI thing that Grant talks about, for me, the UI of Resolve's Fusion looks a bit cluttered to me. The flow feels too small compared to what we are used to in Fusion. When it comes to the more advanced staff, I, honestly, can't talk a lot, as I am far from claiming to be the experienced Fusion as other people in these forums can do.
System specs:
Resolve version: 14.3.0.014
Fusion version: 9.0.2
OS: dual-boot (Windows 7 & CentOS 7)
CPU: Intel i7-4790k 4GHz Quad-Core
RAM: 32GB
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 1080 Ti 11GB
Offline

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 1600
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Is Fusion Stand Alone, still alive?

PostThu Apr 12, 2018 9:36 pm

Abdelrahman Magdy wrote: Even the whole UI thing that Grant talks about, for me, the UI of Resolve's Fusion looks a bit cluttered to me.


This is the sort of thing that can be addressed with user studies and determine it objectively. You assign a task to the user and record how long it takes. If your UI improves speed (or accuracy or whatever you are optimizing for) then it's an improvement.

My gut feeling is that the UI isn't cluttered enough. But rather than argue with you about it, I'd prefer we had some performance data.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline

Abdelrahman Magdy

  • Posts: 196
  • Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 10:08 pm

Re: Is Fusion Stand Alone, still alive?

PostThu Apr 12, 2018 10:52 pm

Chad Capeland wrote:
Abdelrahman Magdy wrote:My gut feeling is that the UI isn't cluttered enough. But rather than argue with you about it, I'd prefer we had some performance data.

Maybe cluttered isn't the best word to describe what I mean. But I agree with you that there is no point of arguing about it, because each user would be different. As you said, some performance data could have been used to determine what is working for the majority of the users and what isn't.

Hopefully, Blackmagic can use the feedback on the beta releases and try to improve what is not working for the users.
System specs:
Resolve version: 14.3.0.014
Fusion version: 9.0.2
OS: dual-boot (Windows 7 & CentOS 7)
CPU: Intel i7-4790k 4GHz Quad-Core
RAM: 32GB
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 1080 Ti 11GB
Offline

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 1600
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Is Fusion Stand Alone, still alive?

PostThu Apr 12, 2018 11:07 pm

Abdelrahman Magdy wrote:Hopefully, Blackmagic can use the feedback on the beta releases and try to improve what is not working for the users.


One solution would be to allow users to configure the GUI themselves. You can reskin Fusion and reconfigure a lot of the windows. Between those two options you get a lot of flexibility.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline

Abdelrahman Magdy

  • Posts: 196
  • Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2015 10:08 pm

Re: Is Fusion Stand Alone, still alive?

PostFri Apr 13, 2018 8:40 am

Chad Capeland wrote:
Abdelrahman Magdy wrote:Hopefully, Blackmagic can use the feedback on the beta releases and try to improve what is not working for the users.


One solution would be to allow users to configure the GUI themselves. You can reskin Fusion and reconfigure a lot of the windows. Between those two options you get a lot of flexibility.
I agree.. for me, this is one of Resolve's weaknesses. The fact that, as a user, I am only limited to simple GUI customizations is a bit annoying. Of course, since I am not a developer, I am not sure how difficult it is to make Resolve's UI configurable by the user.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
System specs:
Resolve version: 14.3.0.014
Fusion version: 9.0.2
OS: dual-boot (Windows 7 & CentOS 7)
CPU: Intel i7-4790k 4GHz Quad-Core
RAM: 32GB
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 1080 Ti 11GB
Previous

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests