Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Fusion Connect 9.0.2 with Media Composer 2018.7?

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 418
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Fusion Connect 9.0.2 with Media Composer 2018.7?

PostMon Jun 04, 2018 7:11 pm

Anyone here have any problems running Fusion Connect 9.0.2 with Media Composer 2018.5?

I can't seem to get it to work - generates the media on the MC side but when I click 'Edit' to have MC open Fusion, nothing happens - it doesn't even try to do anything from all appearances.

I've got Fusion Studio 9.0.2 installed w/ dongle. I also have Resolve 15b4 installed on this machine. VFX Connect from Resolve seems to work fine with Resolve 9.0.2 but not the automation from Media Composer.

Looking for confirmation from someone using both MC 2018.5 and Fusion Studio.

Thanks folks

edit - As you can see in this thread I discovered that the issue is actually post 2018.5 (so 2018.7) - I have updated the subject line accordingly.
Last edited by Steve Alexander on Mon Aug 20, 2018 11:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
Resolve Studio 15 | Fusion Studio 9 | Win 10 Pro Creator2 | i7, K4200 (390.77), 24GB RAMv
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 418
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Fusion Connect 9.0.2 with Media Composer 2018.5?

PostTue Jun 05, 2018 11:49 am

I just reproduced this issue on my other Windows 10 machine so it's not machine specific (they do both have Resolve 15 b4 installed so there's that - no idea if this could be related). Hard to know if it's broken on the Avid side or the BMD side).
Resolve Studio 15 | Fusion Studio 9 | Win 10 Pro Creator2 | i7, K4200 (390.77), 24GB RAMv
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 418
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Fusion Connect 9.0.2 with Media Composer 2018.5?

PostWed Jun 06, 2018 3:41 am

I have this issue confirmed by someone over in the Avid community. Speculation is that it is somehow related to recent changes in BM desktop software compatible with MC 2018.5 and the DNxIO hardware. Not sure if BMD monitors these threads but if so it would be nice to hear some feedback.

I don't use any external hardware so what I'm seeing may be just the software side effect of an only incidentally related change by either BMD or more than likely Avid. What a crock.
Resolve Studio 15 | Fusion Studio 9 | Win 10 Pro Creator2 | i7, K4200 (390.77), 24GB RAMv
Offline

Mark Palius

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 2:24 am
  • Location: Sol 3

Re: Fusion Connect 9.0.2 with Media Composer 2018.5?

PostSun Jun 17, 2018 3:23 pm

Steve,
Just curious. Is this problem new as of MC '18.5? What was the last version of MC w/which FuCon worked properly?

TIA,
/mp
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 418
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Fusion Connect 9.0.2 with Media Composer 2018.5?

PostTue Jul 10, 2018 3:00 am

Looks like it's working with 2018.5 (my mistake). I believe it's broken with a beta release after 2018.5. Let's see what happens when a real release hits the streets.
Resolve Studio 15 | Fusion Studio 9 | Win 10 Pro Creator2 | i7, K4200 (390.77), 24GB RAMv
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 418
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Fusion Connect 9.0.2 with Media Composer 2018.7?

PostMon Jul 16, 2018 9:32 am

OK - now that Media Composer 2018.7 is released publicly I see that it has the described problem with Fusion Connect. Evidently this is a bug in Fusion Connect (go figure).
Resolve Studio 15 | Fusion Studio 9 | Win 10 Pro Creator2 | i7, K4200 (390.77), 24GB RAMv
Offline

TiM777

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2018 5:25 pm
  • Real Name: Tim Cunningham

Re: Fusion Connect 9.0.2 with Media Composer 2018.5?

PostThu Aug 02, 2018 5:32 pm

Yes, Fusion Connect 9.0.2 works perfectly for us in Media Composer 2018.5. It does not work in 2018.7, though.

I hope Blackmagic is working on a fix for this. We use Fusion Connect extensively in our daily workflow.
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 418
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Fusion Connect 9.0.2 with Media Composer 2018.5?

PostThu Aug 16, 2018 1:24 pm

Make sure to notify BMD through their support group as I did. We need to let them know that this is a problem for many users. Now that MC 2018.8 is out that will be two releases where Fusion connect is broken.
Resolve Studio 15 | Fusion Studio 9 | Win 10 Pro Creator2 | i7, K4200 (390.77), 24GB RAMv
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 418
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Fusion Connect 9.0.2 with Media Composer 2018.7?

PostMon Aug 20, 2018 11:49 am

I am surprised BMD has not addressed this issue yet. Particularly because I did submit a service request to them and they have acknowledged the bug (although I have no idea if they have owned-up to being responsible for fixing the bug).

Anyone from BMD able to comment?
Resolve Studio 15 | Fusion Studio 9 | Win 10 Pro Creator2 | i7, K4200 (390.77), 24GB RAMv
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 418
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Fusion Connect 9.0.2 with Media Composer 2018.7?

PostThu Aug 30, 2018 11:01 am

Bump
Resolve Studio 15 | Fusion Studio 9 | Win 10 Pro Creator2 | i7, K4200 (390.77), 24GB RAMv
Offline

Ralph.Blackmagic

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 2:40 pm
  • Real Name: Ralph Foster

Re: Fusion Connect 9.0.2 with Media Composer 2018.7?

PostFri Aug 31, 2018 2:06 pm

Hear, hear.

Seeing as we are still waiting for BlackMagic to fix does anyone have a temporary work around tips for this?

I am able to export the .RAW frames from the Fusion Connect MC plug in but am unable to launch Fusion or choose the location or folder names of the path it exports to. I have been manually moving the frames to a chosen location, starting a new fusion composition and dragging the image sequences in, then exporting with a saver node to a DNxHD115 QT and alt-dragging that back into Avid to Link.

Anyone got anything simpler to add or that would make it easier wen the plugin works again? Particularly with naming conventions of rendered version (as I have never had it working I'm not sure what Fusion Connect would expect for the various "version" names.

Shame, I am new to Fusion but on the last job I had MC 8.x.x but didn't have a Fusion Studio dongle, now I have a dongle but a version of MC that doesn't work with Fusion Connect!

[Fusion Studio 9.0.2, Fusion Connect 9.0.2, Avid MC 2018.7.1, macOSx 10.13.5]
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 418
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Fusion Connect 9.0.2 with Media Composer 2018.7?

PostMon Sep 10, 2018 2:30 pm

I am disappointed that BMD has not acknowledged this defect (at least not on this forum). I understand that they know about it but for some reason they have not provided us with a rough timeline as to when we can expect a patch.
Resolve Studio 15 | Fusion Studio 9 | Win 10 Pro Creator2 | i7, K4200 (390.77), 24GB RAMv
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 418
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Fusion Connect 9.0.2 with Media Composer 2018.7?

PostSat Sep 29, 2018 2:53 am

Still broken - Avid has released 2018.9.
Resolve Studio 15 | Fusion Studio 9 | Win 10 Pro Creator2 | i7, K4200 (390.77), 24GB RAMv
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 418
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Fusion Connect 9.0.2 with Media Composer 2018.7?

PostWed Oct 17, 2018 11:21 am

Does BMD support read these posts?
Resolve Studio 15 | Fusion Studio 9 | Win 10 Pro Creator2 | i7, K4200 (390.77), 24GB RAMv
Offline

Steve Alexander

  • Posts: 418
  • Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 2:15 am

Re: Fusion Connect 9.0.2 with Media Composer 2018.7?

PostTue Oct 30, 2018 3:10 am

Avid has released Media Composer 2018.10. Fusion Connect is still broken.
Resolve Studio 15 | Fusion Studio 9 | Win 10 Pro Creator2 | i7, K4200 (390.77), 24GB RAMv
Offline

Glenn Sakatch

  • Posts: 262
  • Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:36 pm

Re: Fusion Connect 9.0.2 with Media Composer 2018.7?

PostMon Nov 05, 2018 12:46 am

There were early versions of connect where I had to launch fusion separately, then click on the "edit" button in MC. It could load the comp...it just couldn't launch the program.

Might want to give that a try as a temp workaround.
Offline

Ralph.Blackmagic

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 2:40 pm
  • Real Name: Ralph Foster

Re: Fusion Connect 9.0.2 with Media Composer 2018.7?

PostSat Nov 10, 2018 10:01 pm

Glenn Sakatch wrote:There were early versions of connect where I had to launch fusion separately, then click on the "edit" button in MC. It could load the comp...it just couldn't launch the program.

Might want to give that a try as a temp workaround.


It's worse than that Glenn. All the buttons other than "export clips" do not operate.

It may then export all the frames to a folder structure (sometimes), but you are unable to choose where that is (the path is locked) and it does not create a Fusion Project. If you start a project with a loader connected to those frames, I have not worked out a way to connect an output render to load back in to the avid without importing/linking.

Still waiting for that fix from BlackMagic. I periodically check in with my support ticket on the subject but so far no news.

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kel Philm and 2 guests