Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Do EDLs Work

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Corey Ryan Hanson

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 5:49 pm
  • Location: New York

Do EDLs Work

PostFri Jun 08, 2018 6:13 am

I'm using Fusion Studio for Linux and it seems whenever I try to import an EDL generated from Resolve, the loaders that are created do not function properly. Each one says a long number followed by "no clip".

The only way I can get picture to show up on any of the nodes is to reselect the path via the "filename" field, but then all of the in and out points disappear, defeating the purpose of the EDL entirely. Am I missing something or is there a bug?
Offline
User avatar

michael vorberg

  • Posts: 831
  • Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 8:47 pm
  • Location: stuttgart, germany

Re: Do EDLs Work

PostFri Jun 08, 2018 6:20 am

EDLs can have alot of different formats and i believe that fusion supports only the very basic of them. Maybe there are options in resolve for the export to make the situation better

Then there are some scripts available to improve the EDL import, they were developed along time ago when there was not "connect" plugin or fusion in resolve
http://www.edlimporter.com
Don't know if they still work in fusion 9

But to investigate the problem further :
Can you post an example what is in the loader?
Offline
User avatar

Corey Ryan Hanson

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 5:49 pm
  • Location: New York

Re: Do EDLs Work

PostFri Jun 08, 2018 2:55 pm

Thanks for the link to that script! It worked like a charm.

As I was investigating it seems the problem with EDLs is not so much broken links, but broken timecode. The default start TC at 1 hour throws off any import into Fusion where loaders appear to be broken. Zeroing out the start time, makes everything appear visible in Resolve's EDL importer, but the edits are still lost as start TC for each individual clip ends up at zero. However the EDL importer script fixes that problem even in Fusion 9 (as long as the sequence timecode isn't offset)

And while I love Fusion connect, I wish really they would facilitate the ability to automatically link to the source media in Fusion rather only allow an exported intermediate clip. It would be ideal for mixed media, and not introducing loss/necessary bloat in the workflow.

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 2 guests