Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Fusion dongle

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Jack Swart

  • Posts: 308
  • Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:09 pm
  • Location: Sydney, Australia

Fusion dongle

PostSat Jun 09, 2018 7:06 am

I understood that if I have a Davinci USB dongle, Fusion Studio 9.2 would also work.

This does not seem to be the case.

Do I need a second dongle??
2010 Mac Pro 5.1, OSX 10.13.6, DR 15.01 Studio
2 x 3.3GHz 6 core Intel, 96 GB ram
GTX Titan X 12GB graphics card, USB3 card, BM SDI 4K card
PCIe SSD boot disk, 3x4TB SSDs in raid 0, 12TB HDD backup.
Tangent Elements TK panel, FSI DM240 reference monitor
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 923
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Fusion dongle

PostSat Jun 09, 2018 7:18 am

As far as I know it's the other way around: a Fusion dongle will allow use of Resolve, but a Resolve dongle doesn't allow the use of Fusion.
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline
User avatar

Jack Swart

  • Posts: 308
  • Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 8:09 pm
  • Location: Sydney, Australia

Re: Fusion dongle

PostSat Jun 09, 2018 7:54 am

Ok.
Thanks...
Off to the shop....
2010 Mac Pro 5.1, OSX 10.13.6, DR 15.01 Studio
2 x 3.3GHz 6 core Intel, 96 GB ram
GTX Titan X 12GB graphics card, USB3 card, BM SDI 4K card
PCIe SSD boot disk, 3x4TB SSDs in raid 0, 12TB HDD backup.
Tangent Elements TK panel, FSI DM240 reference monitor
Offline

Jan Liberg

  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 12:10 pm

Re: Fusion dongle

PostMon Jun 11, 2018 12:47 pm

For what I understand Sander is correct, but that is still somewhat odd to me:
Fusion is now included in Resolve 15, so Resolve 15 users have access to Fusion functionality. Would'nt that suggest that a Resolve dongle should cover Fusion 9?
Fusion 9 does not include Resolve functionality, so why should a Fusion dongle lock up Resolve?

(I might be biased though, I have a Resolve Studio dongle and want to use Fusion 9 Studio too for stability reasons :| )
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 1068
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: Fusion dongle

PostMon Jun 11, 2018 2:52 pm

Some think that it's the first step to "sorry but now Fusion standalone is discontinued; as we can understand your disappointment, we've been opening Fu studio to Resolve Studio owners for xxx months now and we will for a few months. Please go on transitioning to Resolve" (despite what's been announced)...
Or not...
Legacy MacPro 8core Xeons, 32 Go ram, 2 x gtx 980 ti, 1SSD for system, 2 SSDs raid0 for footage and caches, OSX ElCap and Sierra, Resolve 15 Studio
Offline
User avatar

MikeRochefort

  • Posts: 90
  • Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 2:48 am
  • Location: New England

Re: Fusion dongle

PostMon Jun 11, 2018 7:00 pm

Another take on the matter is that they give us access to allow Fusion Studio users to help the DaVinci Studio implementation by providing experienced feedback.

Cheers,
Mike
https://michaelrochefort.com/
3D Lookdev, Compositing, and Sysadmin
Fusion Studio 9.0.2
DaVinci Resolve Studio 15.1.0.25
CentOS 7.5.1804 | Intel i7-6850K | 32GB memory | 3x GTX 1070 | 390.87
Offline
User avatar

michael vorberg

  • Posts: 865
  • Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 8:47 pm
  • Location: stuttgart, germany

Re: Fusion dongle

PostMon Jun 11, 2018 9:55 pm

if you own resolve studio you get fusion inside resolve, but if you own fusion studio you would miss the resolve part. thats why you get both with the fusion dongle
Offline
User avatar

MikeRochefort

  • Posts: 90
  • Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 2:48 am
  • Location: New England

Re: Fusion dongle

PostMon Jun 11, 2018 11:33 pm

michael vorberg wrote:if you own resolve studio you get fusion inside resolve, but if you own fusion studio you would miss the resolve part. thats why you get both with the fusion dongle


I Like this train of thought, I’ll attach myself to it :) But now I have two Fusion’s, whatever shall I do?!

Cheers,
Mike
https://michaelrochefort.com/
3D Lookdev, Compositing, and Sysadmin
Fusion Studio 9.0.2
DaVinci Resolve Studio 15.1.0.25
CentOS 7.5.1804 | Intel i7-6850K | 32GB memory | 3x GTX 1070 | 390.87

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests