Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Fusion dongle issue with resolve 15

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Alessandro Fontana

  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 5:14 pm

Fusion dongle issue with resolve 15

PostTue Jun 12, 2018 3:46 pm

Hi, I have the dongles for Fusion and Resolve:

Resolve 15 works with Fusion dongle - good
Fusion 9 dosen't works with Fusion dongle - bad

Fusion 9 dongle works only if I start before Resolve, so I need launch Resolve, after launch Fusion and
close resolve, Fusion 9 in this case still working.

Fusion inside Resolve is good but is far to be a production solution.

I hope this will fix.

alessandro
Offline

Thierry Bergeron

  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2016 4:58 am

Re: Fusion dongle issue with resolve 15

PostTue Jun 12, 2018 4:19 pm

What computer and System are you on? Does your Fusion dongle work with Fusion 8?

It's the kind of details that can help.
Offline

Alessandro Fontana

  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 5:14 pm

Re: Fusion dongle issue with resolve 15

PostTue Jun 12, 2018 4:46 pm

Operation System Microsoft Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Memory 128 GB
Processor 2x Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2640 v4 @ 2.40GHz
Motherboard ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. - Z10PE-D8 WS
Video Cards Quadro 5000 + 2x NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN Black

...but the machine is not so important, I have the same issue on my laptop.
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 615
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: Fusion dongle issue with resolve 15

PostTue Jun 12, 2018 5:37 pm

How odd.

Hypothesis: You mis-typed the serial number when installing Fusion, but you got it correct when installing Resolve. When Resolve starts, it queries the dongle for a license, verifies it against its serial number, and starts up. You then start Fusion, which sees the license that Resolve already has (and is authorizing Fusion in that context), and it starts. If you start Fusion on its own, it asks for a license, sees the serial doesn't match the dongle, and does not authorize.

I don't know how one might actually test that hypothesis outside of BMD's own facilities, but if it's true, then your problem might be solved by uninstalling and reinstalling Fusion 9.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com
Offline

Alessandro Fontana

  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 5:14 pm

Re: Fusion dongle issue with resolve 15

PostTue Jun 12, 2018 7:48 pm

Thanks but not, I have tried to reinstall fusion 9.02, the issue remain

a.
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 615
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: Fusion dongle issue with resolve 15

PostTue Jun 12, 2018 8:10 pm

Have you contacted support directly? They don't seem to read this forum, mostly relying on users to help one another, but license and dongle problems are uncommon enough that I don't think we've really formed much idea of what causes them. And the behavior you describe is certainly unique in my experience.

Although, just because I kicked myself the last time I didn't say anything about it, you don't happen to have a Synology NAS do you? The service that governs the connection between Windows and the NAS has been known to interfere with Fusion starting up. I've seen reports of at least two apparently unrelated symptoms—maybe this is a third.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com
Offline

Alessandro Fontana

  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 5:14 pm

Re: Fusion dongle issue with resolve 15

PostTue Jun 12, 2018 9:00 pm

Yes Bryan! It's Synology Drive application, I have a NAS and from some days I have install Drive App, the standard connection with the Nas haven't issue.
I tried to unistall Drive on my laptop and the issue with dongle is gone.

Thanks

a.
Offline

Alessandro Fontana

  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 5:14 pm

Re: Fusion dongle issue with resolve 15

PostTue Jun 12, 2018 9:22 pm

Confirm, I have uninstall Drive also on my workstation and the issue is gone also here.
In my case the issue is connect only to the Drive App, I can works with NAS via standard disk connection.

Thank you a lot for your tip Bryan!

a.
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 615
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: Fusion dongle issue with resolve 15

PostTue Jun 12, 2018 10:05 pm

Wow, the wild stab in the dark worked! Do a search for Synology on this forum. I recall that somebody posted a batch file that disables the service, starts Fusion, then restarts the service.

Of course, if you don't actually use the app, then you should probably leave the service disabled. May as well not let it eat resources.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com
Offline

Alessandro Fontana

  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 5:14 pm

Re: Fusion dongle issue with resolve 15

PostWed Jun 13, 2018 3:10 pm

Thank you! The Drive App was not so important for me, I leave it, the other function of NAS working right.

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: michael vorberg and 4 guests