Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Fusion 9 Studio dongle still not working

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Todd Groves

  • Posts: 262
  • Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 1:24 am

Fusion 9 Studio dongle still not working

PostMon Jul 30, 2018 3:46 am

While downloading the latest update of Resolve 15 (beta 7), I read the notes. According to the update notes, the dongle for Fusion 9 Studio is supposed to be operational. I purchased Fusion 9 Studio before I purchased Resolve Studio.

After installing Resolve v15 (beta 7), I rebooted my Mac computer. I then tried to launch Fusion 9 Studio, assuming it would work since the notes told me it would. But....it doesn't.

I assumed, mistakenly, that my Fusion 9 Studio was affected by the beta of Resolve 15. I figured it was a bug that would eventually be fixed. Yet, now, it still doesn't work.

Can anyone help me with this?

Thanks in advance.
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4804
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Fusion 9 Studio dongle still not working

PostMon Jul 30, 2018 5:57 am

A Fusion Studio single license dongle will work with Fusion Studio and Resolve Studio 15.

From your post it’s not clear what is and is not working. Is Fusion 9 Studio installed? Does it run?

Is Resolve 15 Studio installed? After exiting Fusion does Resolve run?

Which OS are you on?
What is your hardware config?
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Todd Groves

  • Posts: 262
  • Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 1:24 am

Re: Fusion 9 Studio dongle still not working

PostMon Jul 30, 2018 6:38 am

Resolve Studio 15 (beta 7) runs fine. It launches and operates without any issues.

Image

Fusion 9 Studio is installed, and I have the dongle that came with it plugged into my computer at all times.

I've attached the error that pops up when I try to launch Fusion 9 Studio.
I just re-installed Fusion 9 Studio again, along with the latest update, and I still get the error.

Image
Offline

Todd Groves

  • Posts: 262
  • Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 1:24 am

Re: Fusion 9 Studio dongle still not working

PostMon Jul 30, 2018 6:41 am

Image
Offline

Todd Groves

  • Posts: 262
  • Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 1:24 am

Re: Fusion 9 Studio dongle still not working

PostMon Jul 30, 2018 5:07 pm

After a few retries with the "could not find a valid license", I start getting this prompt:

Image

This is mentioned in the notes of the 'beta 7' upgrade:

"Support for single seat Fusion Studio dongles"

This is what lead me to believe that there was an issue with Fusion Studio working alongside the Resolve beta. Could it be that there still is a bug?
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4804
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Fusion 9 Studio dongle still not working

PostWed Aug 08, 2018 12:59 am

Fusion Studio v9 and DaVinci Resolve v15b are two separate apps.

Do you have both downloaded and installed? If so, please start the Fusion app with the dongle inserted directly into a USB port and report what you see.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Todd Groves

  • Posts: 262
  • Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 1:24 am

Re: Fusion 9 Studio dongle still not working

PostWed Aug 08, 2018 1:17 am

Peter Chamberlain wrote:Fusion Studio v9 and DaVinci Resolve v15b are two separate apps.

Do you have both downloaded and installed? If so, please start the Fusion app with the dongle inserted directly into a USB port and report what you see.


Yes, I have both Resolve v15b and Fusion 9 Studio installed.

This is what I get when I try to launch Fusion 9 Studio:

Image

Or I get this:

Image

Each time the dongle is in the computer. This only started happening after I installed the beta of v15.
Offline

Juha Takabe

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2017 8:13 pm
  • Location: Finland

Re: Fusion 9 Studio dongle still not working

PostWed Aug 08, 2018 7:13 am

I had similar issue with Fusion Studio 9 on MacOS 10.13.6.

First, try starting your Mac in Safe mode and test if Fusion runs OK. At least in my case it worked just fine in safe mode, but when I started my Mac normally, Fusion didn't find a dongle.

Then I started to force quit or uninstall those apps which were running at the time as I was trying to start up Fusion. In my case it was old Creative cloud which was causing my Fusion to find my working dongle, at least it started to work after Adobe CC uninstall.
Offline

Todd Groves

  • Posts: 262
  • Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 1:24 am

Re: Fusion 9 Studio dongle still not working

PostWed Aug 08, 2018 3:08 pm

Nope. I uninstalled Creative Cloud and nothing changed.

I think it's related to the Resolve 15 beta. It only started happening after I installed the beta for Resolve. When I was using v14 of Resolve, I had no issues with launching Fusion 9 Studio.

I really need my Fusion 9 Studio to start working soon. I have work coming up and I can't be without it.
Offline

Juha Takabe

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2017 8:13 pm
  • Location: Finland

Re: Fusion 9 Studio dongle still not working

PostWed Aug 08, 2018 8:20 pm

Have you tried if it runs in safe mode?

1. Restart the Mac. Press and hold the Shift key immediately after you hear the startup tone.
2. Release the Shift key when the Apple logo appears. Safe Boot appears on the macOS startup screen.
Offline

Todd Groves

  • Posts: 262
  • Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 1:24 am

Re: Fusion 9 Studio dongle still not working

PostWed Aug 08, 2018 9:44 pm

I got it working, now. I installed Fusion 9 Studio v9.0.2, and it now sees my dongle. Honestly, I could've sworn I installed the latest version of Fusion. I don't know what in v9.0.2 makes a difference. Either way, it's working.
Offline

Todd Groves

  • Posts: 262
  • Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 1:24 am

Re: Fusion 9 Studio dongle still not working

PostThu Aug 09, 2018 3:21 am

Thanks for everyone's help and patience.
Offline

Juha Takabe

  • Posts: 26
  • Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2017 8:13 pm
  • Location: Finland

Re: Fusion 9 Studio dongle still not working

PostThu Aug 09, 2018 5:50 am

Todd Groves wrote:I got it working, now. I installed Fusion 9 Studio v9.0.2, and it now sees my dongle. Honestly, I could've sworn I installed the latest version of Fusion. I don't know what in v9.0.2 makes a difference. Either way, it's working.

Glad to hear it. Good luck with your coming work!
Offline

Todd Groves

  • Posts: 262
  • Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 1:24 am

Re: Fusion 9 Studio dongle still not working

PostThu Aug 09, 2018 6:24 am

Juha Takabe wrote:
Todd Groves wrote:I got it working, now. I installed Fusion 9 Studio v9.0.2, and it now sees my dongle. Honestly, I could've sworn I installed the latest version of Fusion. I don't know what in v9.0.2 makes a difference. Either way, it's working.

Glad to hear it. Good luck with your coming work!


Thanks. I appreciate it.

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cryptoiskey and 4 guests