Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Is this a good process for animating a simple walk cycle?

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author

derkork

Is this a good process for animating a simple walk cycle?

PostFri Aug 10, 2018 6:28 am

Hi,

I'm very new to Fusion, so I'm trying out some simple project to get a feel for how things roll in Fusion. I'd like to do a very simple walk animation. In the attached screenshot you can see the "man" that is supposed to walk. So I created the parts of the man with backgrounds and masks and then stitched it all together using merges. This way i got some basic hierarchy, so if I want to move the whole man, I can animate a transform put after the last merge and to animate the other parts, I can just animate the transforms used to put them into place. So far this works great. I have added a little up/down animation to the last transform, that makes the "man" go a bit up/down while he walks so the walk looks more natural.

Now to the part that I cannot get done properly. The arms and legs are basically just strokes and I figured I could animate the points of the stroke path to have them moving. This works quite well, however I need to ensure that the anchor point of the arm/leg stays in place even if the body is moving up/down (for the legs i might get away without, but for the arms it will be really visible if the anchor point moves outside of the circle where the arms are attached to the body). Since the animation of the path points is done independently of the motion of the full body (which happens later when all the parts are merged), it is quite tricky to make this work. Everytime I change the animation of the full body, I need to go back to the animation of the arms/legs to move the anchor points back into the right position.