Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Fusion 10 is coming or not ?

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Alaz Soytemiz

  • Posts: 124
  • Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 8:26 am

Re: Fusion 10 is coming or not ?

PostMon Apr 08, 2019 5:50 pm

Is it still possible to use old fusion dongle for resolve or it is over?


Tapatalk kullanarak iPhone aracılığıyla gönderildi
Windows 10 Pro 64Bit
Processor: Intel i7-6800K 3.40GHz
Ram: 128GB
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070
Disks: Samsung SSD 970 PRO, Intel® SSD 750 Series (400GB, 1/2 Height PCIe 3.0, 20nm, MLC)
Offline

Marin Goleminov

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 11:25 am
  • Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Fusion 10 is coming or not ?

PostMon Apr 08, 2019 5:51 pm

I bought a Fu9 dongle last year, and for good reasons. It's still not clear if I can use Fusion 16 with it. But this Resolve-has-it-all vs. You-pay-for-Fusion-alone stunt is so weird.
Last edited by Marin Goleminov on Mon Apr 08, 2019 6:11 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Offline

Alaz Soytemiz

  • Posts: 124
  • Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 8:26 am

Re: Fusion 10 is coming or not ?

PostMon Apr 08, 2019 5:56 pm

Marin Goleminov wrote:I bought a Fu9 dongle last year, and for good reasons. It's still not clear if I can use Fusion 16 with it. But
this Resolve-has-it-all vs. You-pay-for-Fusion-alone stunt is so weird. TBH I am just disappointed that they have done zero about Fusion over the last years. And all of a sudden calling it Fusion 16 Studio is brazen.

Same here. 16 because of user interface it seems.
But I will go deep to software and change log before the last opinion.


Tapatalk kullanarak iPhone aracılığıyla gönderildi
Windows 10 Pro 64Bit
Processor: Intel i7-6800K 3.40GHz
Ram: 128GB
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070
Disks: Samsung SSD 970 PRO, Intel® SSD 750 Series (400GB, 1/2 Height PCIe 3.0, 20nm, MLC)
Offline

Klaus May

  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2015 1:32 pm

Re: Fusion 10 is coming or not ?

PostMon Apr 08, 2019 6:02 pm

From the Resolve changelog: "Support for using DaVinci Resolve Studio dongles to enable Fusion Studio"

Sounds like any dongle can be used for both software packages :)
Offline

Alaz Soytemiz

  • Posts: 124
  • Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 8:26 am

Re: Fusion 10 is coming or not ?

PostMon Apr 08, 2019 6:07 pm

Klaus May wrote:From the Resolve changelog: "Support for using DaVinci Resolve Studio dongles to enable Fusion Studio"

Sounds like any dongle can be used for both software packages :)

Nice


Tapatalk kullanarak iPhone aracılığıyla gönderildi
Windows 10 Pro 64Bit
Processor: Intel i7-6800K 3.40GHz
Ram: 128GB
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070
Disks: Samsung SSD 970 PRO, Intel® SSD 750 Series (400GB, 1/2 Height PCIe 3.0, 20nm, MLC)
Offline

Adriano Oliveira

  • Posts: 72
  • Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 12:03 am

Re: Fusion 10 is coming or not ?

PostMon Apr 08, 2019 6:43 pm

Fusion 16 free is inside Resolve 16

Fusion Studio 16 is a new standalone software.

Fusion is alive and well. Thank you BM!

https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/fusion/
-----
Adriano Oliveira
Windows 10
GTX 1060 6GB
Offline

RCModelReviews

  • Posts: 379
  • Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 1:39 am
  • Real Name: Bruce Simpson

Re: Fusion 10 is coming or not ?

PostMon Apr 08, 2019 7:58 pm

I'm sticking with Fusion 11 :lol:

But seriously, this is kind of confusing, or have I missed something?

You can buy Fusion Studio 16 and that dongle will also work with Resolve Studio 16

You can buy Resolve 16 and that dongle will also work with Fusion Studio 16

So why don't they just say "buy one, get one free" -- or say that it's a combo deal?

But, so long as my Fusion 9 dongle continues to work with both Fusion Studio and Resolve Studio, I'm a happy camper! I'll stick with Fusion Studio 9 and Resolve 15 until I upgrade my hardware later this year (probably to AMD Risen 3 and (if the specs are okay) a NAVI GPU. Even if the NAVI stuff isn't up to scratch it should apply downward pressure to NVIDIA cards so maybe I'll fork out for a RTX2080ti in that case.

Happy days!
Resolve 15 Studio, Fusion 9 Studio
CPU: i7 8700, OS: Windows 10 (1709) 32GB RAM, GPU: GTX1060/6
I'm refugee from Sony Vegas slicing video for my YouTube channels.
Offline

Kel Philm

  • Posts: 307
  • Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2016 6:21 am

Re: Fusion 10 is coming or not ?

PostMon Apr 08, 2019 8:31 pm

I shouldn't be this excited about a peice of software and I am sure as heck BMD got sick of me droning on about the need for standalone but thanks BMD you have made my day! Looking fwd to checking out the new Resolve as well, if the editing has improved there are alot of people I know who are siting on the fence about Resolve that will take the leap. Just finished up on a big car commercial, we used UMP and Pocket 4K's, graded in Resolve and VFX in Fusion, now if we can kick Premiere out of the loop I think we'd all be happier.
Offline

Trensharo

  • Posts: 264
  • Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 1:20 pm
  • Real Name: Nate Doucette

Re: Fusion 10 is coming or not ?

PostThu Apr 11, 2019 11:34 am

Adriano Oliveira wrote:Fusion 16 free is inside Resolve 16

Fusion Studio 16 is a new standalone software.

Fusion is alive and well. Thank you BM!

https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/fusion/

Wasn't Primatte Keyer in Fusion 9 [Free]? Why isn't it in Resolve 16 Studio?
Offline
User avatar

michael vorberg

  • Posts: 928
  • Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 8:47 pm
  • Location: stuttgart, germany

Re: Fusion 10 is coming or not ?

PostThu Apr 11, 2019 3:39 pm

Because of licensing? If the license eyeon acquired was only for the software fusion it is only for fusion
Offline

Trensharo

  • Posts: 264
  • Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 1:20 pm
  • Real Name: Nate Doucette

Re: Fusion 10 is coming or not ?

PostFri Apr 12, 2019 3:50 am

michael vorberg wrote:Because of licensing? If the license eyeon acquired was only for the software fusion it is only for fusion
Resolve Studio isn't free. Cost of software can cover licensing. In any case, I just find it to be an odd disparity.

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 1056
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: Fusion 10 is coming or not ?

PostFri Apr 12, 2019 4:15 pm

The Primatte license for Fusion 9 was inherited from Eyeon's contract with whoever owned Primatte at that time. In the years since, both Fusion and Primatte have been acquired by different companies. Since Primatte is now owned by Red Giant, they aren't likely to be interested in bundling their tech into someone else's software, especially when that software is cheaper than what they're trying to sell the plug-in for ($499)!
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 1329
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: Fusion 10 is coming or not ?

PostMon Apr 15, 2019 3:38 pm

Hi there,

A bit late but not off-topic : if I remember well, Primatte was still discontinued in Fu9. Can please anybody confirm that please ?
Because that's the only reason I still keep Fusion 8 Studio instead... So ?
Legacy MacPro 8core Xeons, 32 Go ram, 2 x gtx 980 ti, 1SSD for system, 2 SSDs raid0 for footage and caches, OSX ElCap and Sierra, Resolve 15 Studio
Offline
User avatar

michael vorberg

  • Posts: 928
  • Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 8:47 pm
  • Location: stuttgart, germany

Re: Fusion 10 is coming or not ?

PostMon Apr 15, 2019 4:23 pm

You have primatte in fu9, but in the free version you have some locked options which are only available for studio version
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 1329
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: Fusion 10 is coming or not ?

PostMon Apr 15, 2019 5:57 pm

Ok thx Michael, I was quite sure Fu8 was the last including Primatte.
Now I know
Legacy MacPro 8core Xeons, 32 Go ram, 2 x gtx 980 ti, 1SSD for system, 2 SSDs raid0 for footage and caches, OSX ElCap and Sierra, Resolve 15 Studio
Previous

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests