Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Issue with Paint Groups

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author

markcohn

Issue with Paint Groups

PostWed Oct 31, 2018 3:00 am

Hi all,

I'm new to Fusion, but found some wonkiness that I don't think is my noobdom, so I thought I'd ask. :)

I have a project where the back wall behind some singers has some blotches, so I brought them into Fusion to paint them out. Took around 15 Clone strokes or so, and there is only some subtle camera movement. I tracked a larger blotch, then selected all strokes and grouped them into a paint group, connected it to the tracker, set my offsets, and everything looked good. Then I tried to render, and the strokes randomly jump around, blink on and off, etc. Plays totally perfect in the RAM preview. I tried different output formats, deleted and reloaded a new saver...nothing helped.

Weird, right? So I started over, and tracked each stroke one at time, and it worked fine. Then did a quick test, where I did a squiggle, tracked it and rendered...all good. Went back, put that ONE stroke in a paint group, same issue...stuttering, blinking, jumping all over.

Is it buggy, legacy, or is there something I don't know about yet? Not a huge deal for now, but when I run into 50-60 strokes I need to group, I'd love to know how to not to have to deal with those one at a time...

Thanks in advance!
Mark

Sander de Regt

Re: Issue with Paint Groups

PostWed Oct 31, 2018 4:04 pm

What is the format of your source footage? What you're describing is definitely buggy, it's also legacy, but there are factors that make it happen more often. For example when working with movie formats instead of image sequences the behavior you're describing happens more often.