Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Performance in Fusion

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

flavincitx

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2018 6:12 pm
  • Real Name: Benjamin Spiegel

Performance in Fusion

PostTue Nov 20, 2018 3:07 pm

Hello all,

I have a beast of a machine at work and should be able to "scream". But somehow when I am for example doing simple particles, I am getting 3FPS with barely any CPU or GPU usage. 14% has been the max. What am I missing?

Thank you
Offline

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 1758
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Performance in Fusion

PostTue Nov 20, 2018 4:42 pm

Let me guess, you have either a 6 core or 12 core CPU?
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline

Borrodin

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 9:05 am
  • Real Name: Andrew Cant

Re: Performance in Fusion

PostSat Dec 01, 2018 9:03 am

@Chad,
Is this a known issue? Is there a workaround? I'm seeing this too.
Intel i7-8700, 32GB RAM, nVidia Geforce GTX1080
O/S & App: M2 NVMe, Cache: SSD, Storage: 7200spin
Windows 10 Pro, Davinci Resolve 15.2 Studio
Offline

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 1758
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Performance in Fusion

PostSat Dec 01, 2018 10:01 pm

Borrodin wrote:@Chad,
Is this a known issue? Is there a workaround? I'm seeing this too.


Get a CPU with fewer cores and higher performance per core.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline

Kel Philm

  • Posts: 241
  • Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2016 6:21 am

Re: Performance in Fusion

PostSat Dec 01, 2018 11:17 pm

The 8700k is plenty for Fusion.

Bottle necks can occur in many places. CPU, GPU, Ram, Disk speed. If all these are up to scratch, start looking at your Comp, it can be very easy to create a poor performing comp by processing way more data than necessary. I would suggest turning on DoD view (domain of definition) and reading up about it, I've had massive speed increases by optimizing some flows. Also look into the memory preferences where you can increase multi thread support (sorry not in front of fusion at the moment so I can't tell you exactly what they are). Outside of that there are some nodes that just are unable to utilise multi threaded processing as much as others.
Offline

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 1758
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Performance in Fusion

PostSun Dec 02, 2018 4:08 pm

Nothing will help other than a faster CPU. DoD doesn't affect particles.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline

Kel Philm

  • Posts: 241
  • Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2016 6:21 am

Re: Performance in Fusion

PostSun Dec 02, 2018 10:57 pm

He was using particles as an example I was looking at a broader picture.
Offline

GeorgeDrake

  • Posts: 104
  • Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 2:39 pm

Re: Performance in Fusion

PostMon Dec 03, 2018 2:07 pm

What is the best CPU for fusion? As I start to use it more it is bringing my 8 Core PC to its knees while doing similar things I did in AE with no issues. So maybe it is time for a new build...
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 984
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Performance in Fusion

PostMon Dec 03, 2018 7:16 pm

Can you describe what kind of things are bringing the software to its knees?
I have a 5 year old 4-core i5 with 16Gb of RAM and I can still do production work on this system.
(slowly of course, but Fusion doesn't bring it to its knees)
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 1758
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Performance in Fusion

PostMon Dec 03, 2018 11:40 pm

The best CPU is one that has a lot of memory channels and PCIe lanes (for NVMe). The memory lanes is most important, though.

Most 2D tools will benefit from multiple cores. Most 3D tools will benefit from high clock speeds.

But really, you have the ability to network render on tons of machines, so it's really interactive performance that matters, and for that you want RAM.

For instance, if you work in float16 with 4 channel images of UHD size at 60 fps and you want to merge BG over FG, that's 8 GB per second. To cache a CC after that, and maybe a blur, you'd need 16 GB per second. If your shot is 3 seconds long, that's 48 GB in addition to whatever other tools you have plus the overhead from Fusion, plus the overhead from the OS and drivers and such plus other programs. Basically you'd need 64 GB to do a 3 second shot interactively. That's just rule of thumb, I've had comps that needed way more and I've had comps that I aggressively managed proxy, resolution, ROIDS, bit depth, channel counts, etc...
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: banana and 6 guests