Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

3d spotlight, how to?

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

thelemaprod

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 5:23 pm
  • Real Name: Samuele Mariello

3d spotlight, how to?

PostTue Jan 08, 2019 5:33 pm

Straight to the point, I'm using Davinci Resolve v. 15 and I can't get to create a spotlight.

I'll try to explain: I got a movie clip in Davinci timeline, then I go to the Fusion tab, there I see mediain and mediaout and everything's fine. Now, if I want to create a spotlight from the 3d menu, how can I link it to the movie clip?
Thanks!
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 1028
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: 3d spotlight, how to?

PostTue Jan 08, 2019 6:11 pm

What do you want the spotlight to do.
Like you say: it's in the 3D menu. Without 3D stuff to light, there is no need for a spotlight.
So instead of asking for a solution, please describe what you're actually trying to do, so we can help you better.
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 747
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: 3d spotlight, how to?

PostTue Jan 08, 2019 7:42 pm

A spot light by itself won't do anything. It needs something to light up, a camera to photograph the lit object, and a renderer to convert the 3d scene into a 2d raster. I can't do better than to recommend reading the article I wrote about Fusion's 3d compositing system:

http://www.bryanray.name/wordpress/blac ... workspace/
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests