Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Viewers blank

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

joel383

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2019 1:58 am
  • Real Name: joel warner

Viewers blank

PostSun Mar 03, 2019 6:36 am

Hello, absolute Fusion noob here.

When I select a clip from the timeline in Resolve, then click the fusion button, Fusion loads but the viewers are blank. I have tried toggling the rightview leftview dots, and split wipe... nothing.

Literally every tutorial just says put the playhead over the clip, then click Fusion button... but nothing displays in the viewers when I do this, and no amount of messing around changes this for me...

What am I doing wrong?

This is Resolve 15.2.4.006
on CentOS 7
Offline

Alaz Soytemiz

  • Posts: 126
  • Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 8:26 am

Re: Viewers blank

PostSun Mar 03, 2019 9:25 am

Try selecting the MediaIn node then clicking 1
Windows 10 Pro 64Bit
Processor: Intel i7-6800K 3.40GHz
Ram: 128GB
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070
Disks: Samsung SSD 970 PRO, Intel® SSD 750 Series (400GB, 1/2 Height PCIe 3.0, 20nm, MLC)
Offline

joel383

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2019 1:58 am
  • Real Name: joel warner

Re: Viewers blank

PostSun Mar 03, 2019 10:39 pm

Alaz Soytemiz wrote:Try selecting the MediaIn node then clicking 1


Thanks, tried that, didn't work.

I also have tried opening new projects, and adding different clips.
I have also tried to drag the Mediain over to the viewer...ect.


These are all .mov files, does that make a difference?
Offline

xunile

  • Posts: 910
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: Viewers blank

PostMon Mar 04, 2019 1:42 am

joel383 wrote:
Alaz Soytemiz wrote:Try selecting the MediaIn node then clicking 1


Thanks, tried that, didn't work.

I also have tried opening new projects, and adding different clips.
I have also tried to drag the Mediain over to the viewer...ect.


These are all .mov files, does that make a difference?


Try starting out with a generator instead of a video clip, like a Solid Color Generator or a Fusion Comp Generator and see if they appear in the viewers.
Win 10 Home
Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB
Resolve 16.1.2
Offline

joel383

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2019 1:58 am
  • Real Name: joel warner

Re: Viewers blank

PostMon Mar 04, 2019 5:49 am

xunile wrote:
joel383 wrote:
Alaz Soytemiz wrote:Try selecting the MediaIn node then clicking 1


Thanks, tried that, didn't work.

I also have tried opening new projects, and adding different clips.
I have also tried to drag the Mediain over to the viewer...ect.
These are all .mov files, does that make a difference?


Try starting out with a generator instead of a video clip, like a Solid Color Generator or a Fusion Comp Generator and see if they appear in the viewers.


This is actually what I tried first... as I was trying to make some animated text to overlay a clip. The text shows on the media timeline viewer, but not in Fusion viewers! frustrating.

I'm not finding much information on this problem... weird.
I wonder if it is because I have an older monitor? 1440x900
Resolve is oversized and is not scaling correctly to the screen. I have to hold alt+click to drag window to use some functions.
Offline

joel383

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2019 1:58 am
  • Real Name: joel warner

Re: Viewers blank

PostMon Mar 04, 2019 6:53 am

getting this odd message in the console"

MediaOut1 cannot get Parameter for Input at time 556
MediaOut1 cannot get Parameter for Input at time 556
Merge1 cannot get DoD for Foreground at time 0
MediaOut1 cannot get Parameter for Input at time 0
MediaOut1 failed at time 0
Offline

Frank Feijen

  • Posts: 112
  • Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2016 10:04 am
  • Location: Vilvoorde, Belgium

Re: Viewers blank

PostMon Mar 04, 2019 9:36 am

Also: check that your looking at the right 'time'. This happens to me when my red position-indicator is not 'inside' the timing of my fusion-clip.
Offline

joel383

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2019 1:58 am
  • Real Name: joel warner

Re: Viewers blank

PostWed Mar 06, 2019 12:13 am

Frank Feijen wrote:Also: check that your looking at the right 'time'. This happens to me when my red position-indicator is not 'inside' the timing of my fusion-clip.


Tried this too, thanks.
Offline

joel383

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2019 1:58 am
  • Real Name: joel warner

Re: Viewers blank

PostWed Mar 06, 2019 12:47 am

Update: I installed the standalone version of Fusion 9, and the viewers work.

Frustrating that I can't get it to work inside Resolve 15
Offline

lost_soul

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 12:30 am
  • Real Name: Shawn Metheny

Re: Viewers blank

PostMon Jun 03, 2019 1:11 am

Hello Joel:

Did you ever figure out what the issue was? I have a similar problem where the clips show in every tab except fusion. If I add a background I can see it in other tabs but not the fusion tab. I have in on 1 and out on two but they are just blank.

Like you I am on Centos 7 but I am using 16b3 studio.

Thanks
Offline

joshua.d.taft

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2018 1:05 am
  • Real Name: Joshua Taft

Re: Viewers blank

PostWed Jul 03, 2019 10:17 pm

I also would like a solution to this. Both viewers don't show anything unless it's a background element. There's no checker pattern or anything. I've tried to get anything to show in fusion, and nothing works. I'm running the latest version of 15, whichever that is.
Offline

lost_soul

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 12:30 am
  • Real Name: Shawn Metheny

Re: Viewers blank

PostSun Jul 07, 2019 6:52 pm

Are you running an AMD card? If so BMD support has told me they don't support AMD buy an NVidia card. As I had just bought a brand new card to get DR running I am not going out and buying another. I have been buying a new video card every 6 months or so for more than two years now and I am done. If it means I have to use some thing other that DR so be it.

Today I saw in one of Jayar's videos that there was a hardware guide for DR 15. I don't know if there is an updated one for 16.
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 7116
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Viewers blank

PostMon Jul 08, 2019 1:41 am

We do support AMD cards so im not sure the context of your discussion with BMD about not supporting them. You need to install the correct drivers.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

lost_soul

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 12:30 am
  • Real Name: Shawn Metheny

Re: Viewers blank

PostMon Jul 08, 2019 11:01 pm

For those that have been having this issue. I was finally able to get this going today. What is working for me is Centos 7 KDE version patched up to latest.

After that I installed the ROCM drivers following this guide.
https://rocm-documentation.readthedocs. ... Guide.html

Then install the Studio 16.5 beta.

I have tried the amdgpu, amdgpupro & and ROCM drivers on the Gnome version and couldn't even get DR to launch. I had reinstalled many many times in the past with the ROCM drivers and various versions of DR both 15 & 16 on the KDE desktop and the viewers on the Fusion tab never worked before today. So I am not sure if it is some thing that has been updated in Centos, the ROCM driver or the new beta of DR. I am just so glad this is finally working.
Offline

GalinMcMahon

  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2019 10:14 pm
  • Real Name: Galin McMahon

Re: Viewers blank

PostSun Dec 15, 2019 10:45 pm

Any update? I was having this issue with 16.1. Upgraded to 16.1.1 and it persists. I'm noticing that the node name isn't appearing at the top of the viewer even though the viewer's dot is selected in the node. I've tried loading footage and I've tried fusion comps. Nothing will show on either viewer. Loaded an old database from when fusion was working and it doesn't change anything.
Attachments
fusion titles.png
fusion titles.png (58.25 KiB) Viewed 1659 times
Windows 10
i7+-8750 @2.20GHz
32GB optane RAM
8GB Geforce 1070
500GB NvME main - 1TB Evo 860 SSD scratch
Resolve 16 - latest release
Offline

lost_soul

  • Posts: 21
  • Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 12:30 am
  • Real Name: Shawn Metheny

Re: Viewers blank

PostSun Dec 15, 2019 10:53 pm

If you are using an AMD card on Linux you need to either use the AMDGPUPro drivers or ROCM <12.1 I think it is. The Linux install thread will tell you which version. I would start there.
Offline

GalinMcMahon

  • Posts: 34
  • Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2019 10:14 pm
  • Real Name: Galin McMahon

Re: Viewers blank

PostSun Dec 15, 2019 10:55 pm

On NVidia and Win 10.
Windows 10
i7+-8750 @2.20GHz
32GB optane RAM
8GB Geforce 1070
500GB NvME main - 1TB Evo 860 SSD scratch
Resolve 16 - latest release

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests