Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

How to achieve a good mask with an alpha exe chanel

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author

nicolectro

How to achieve a good mask with an alpha exe chanel

PostFri Mar 22, 2019 11:42 am

Hello everyone, i'm totally new to fusion which i've tried for some days and for the first time. I'm really enjoying the nodal structure and even if there is a lot to learn, i find it really exciting.That's said, i'd like to ask my first noob question here today. I have rendered an exr (linear) 3d scene from C4D/Redshift, i've made my composition and everything is fine. It will be a still image for a client of mine. With a saver at the end, jpeg files, done. Right. Now i would like to save a png file with no background. I'm trying to use the alpha channel (luminance black and white) to achieve this but the result is really crappy. What is the good way to use alpha channels in fusion to obtain smooth results?

Thanks a lot for all your interest in this very long post.

PS : i'm looking desperately a good course to learn fusion and there is not a lot of sources in the Internet, is there something you would recommend to me please?

Chad Capeland

Re: How to achieve a good mask with an alpha exe chanel

PostFri Mar 22, 2019 5:33 pm

PNG assumes the RGB is "straight", so for grey alpha pixels, the RGB isn't darkened. You might need to divide your RGB by the alpha to get rid of the premultiplication that most 3D renderers bake in.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com

nicolectro

PostFri Mar 22, 2019 5:37 pm

Thanks Chad, i think i understand your answer well (even if my alpha channel comes from an exr and not from a png) but honestly i don't know how to do that at that time. Is it the alphaDiv or a boolean node that i have to use (or something else)? I will try in a few minutes.
Cheers

xunile

PostFri Mar 22, 2019 6:17 pm