Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Fusion Studio could not find a valid license

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

john.hodgkins@visualhouse.co

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 7:04 pm
  • Real Name: John Hodgkins

Fusion Studio could not find a valid license

PostThu Jun 06, 2019 7:06 pm

Hi there,

I hope all is well.

Please can you help me fix this license issues.

many thanks,
J.
Attachments
1.jpg
1.jpg (228.43 KiB) Viewed 1781 times
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6760
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Fusion Studio could not find a valid license

PostFri Jun 07, 2019 6:10 am

Do you have a dongle?
If so, is it in a USB 2 port?
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

jorgedagaxum

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2019 2:06 pm
  • Location: Turin (Italy)
  • Real Name: Giorgio Sobrito

Re: Fusion Studio could not find a valid license

PostMon Jul 08, 2019 6:23 pm

Hi,
ehm, same problem here...
I don't see any USB2 requirement on the product box and my pc exposes at present only USB3 ports.
Any workaround?
thanks

Giorgio
Giorgio Sobrito

Davinci Resolve 16b4
Fusion 9.02
Gigabye X399 Designare EX
CPU AMD RYZEN Threadripper 2990WX
128GB RAM
Nvidia TITAN RTX- 24Gb - NVidia Studio Driver 430.86
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 6760
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Fusion Studio could not find a valid license

PostTue Jul 09, 2019 12:55 am

Does the same dongle work for Resolve?
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

jorgedagaxum

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2019 2:06 pm
  • Location: Turin (Italy)
  • Real Name: Giorgio Sobrito

Re: Fusion Studio could not find a valid license

PostTue Jul 09, 2019 3:40 am

Hi
yes, after some attempts, I've changed the usb port and now the dongle is working fine for both, Resolve and Fusion.
It seems the USB ports on the pc front panel are not working correctly...strange. I'm currently using them with external drives.
Anyway, solved.
thanks
Giorgio
Giorgio Sobrito

Davinci Resolve 16b4
Fusion 9.02
Gigabye X399 Designare EX
CPU AMD RYZEN Threadripper 2990WX
128GB RAM
Nvidia TITAN RTX- 24Gb - NVidia Studio Driver 430.86
Offline

Michael O'Dea

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 3:36 pm
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK

Re: Fusion Studio could not find a valid license

PostFri Sep 27, 2019 2:33 pm

Just tried Fusion on my MacBook Pro 2013 model after some while using Resolve (which is working fine) and it comes up with the same message as in the first post here. I probably haven't used it since I upgraded to Mojave and am upset because it was Fusion 9 originally that I paid for and now Fusion will not work anymore.
What do I need to do to get it to recognise the dongle? The dongle is plugged in to the same port as when I'm running Resolve Studio so it should be working, shouldn't it?
OSX Version 10.9.5
Apple MacBook Pro 2013
Processor: 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16GB 1600 MHz DDR3 memory
NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB
APPLE SSD SM0512F Media
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 1130
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: Fusion Studio could not find a valid license

PostFri Sep 27, 2019 3:32 pm

I heard a report yesterday that this problem can crop up if the dongle is plugged into a Thunderbolt USB hub, such as is found on many TBolt monitors. If you're not plugged directly into a port on the computer, give that a try. For that user, it wasn't an issue in Fusion 8, but it was for Fusion 9, so it's not impossible that the same would be true with Resolve.

One other thing that's worked under Windows is to launch Resolve first, then Fusion. Once Fusion is running, you may be able to close Resolve to free up those resources. A pain, obviously, but it might at least let you get working until such time as a better solution can be found.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com
Offline

Michael O'Dea

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 3:36 pm
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK

Re: Fusion Studio could not find a valid license

PostFri Sep 27, 2019 9:19 pm

Hi, thanks for the reply. I am not using a hub but directly plugging the dongle into the MacBook pro. I just tried your suggestion and I'm afraid it did not work.
Attachments
Screenshot 2019-09-27 at 22.08.15.jpg
Screenshot 2019-09-27 at 22.08.15.jpg (222.66 KiB) Viewed 994 times
OSX Version 10.9.5
Apple MacBook Pro 2013
Processor: 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16GB 1600 MHz DDR3 memory
NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB
APPLE SSD SM0512F Media
Offline

Jacob Danell

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2012 2:25 pm
  • Location: Sweden

Re: Fusion Studio could not find a valid license

PostSat Sep 28, 2019 12:16 pm

Do you have Synology Disk Station installed? If so, uninstall it and your dongle will work.
Offline

Michael O'Dea

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 3:36 pm
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK

Re: Fusion Studio could not find a valid license

PostSat Sep 28, 2019 2:33 pm

No, I don't know what that is though. Thing is it was working OK after upgrading to Mojave because I did that so I could run Fusion 16 release version. Was also working OK with all the Fusion 16 betas, and just to repeat it works fine with Resolve and Resolve Fusion.
OSX Version 10.9.5
Apple MacBook Pro 2013
Processor: 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16GB 1600 MHz DDR3 memory
NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB
APPLE SSD SM0512F Media
Offline

Michael O'Dea

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 3:36 pm
  • Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK

Re: Fusion Studio could not find a valid license

PostWed Oct 09, 2019 10:26 am

SOLVED MY PROBLEM!
Used AppDeleteLite, moved the Fusion program icon onto the AppDelete window and it then listed all associated folders on my system. I then deleted all these which got rid of all traces of Fusion.
Downloaded Version 16.0 again and installed it.
It now works perfectly!
Note that every time I upgrade I always use the Blackmagic Uninstall icon first but this doesn't seem to delete all sub folders. The AppDelete program listed a number of old version folders (plists etc.) and it must have been some of these which caused my problem I think
Any on here still having this dongle problem might like to try my solution and see if it helps.
Thanks for the replies, Mike.
P.S. All my settings etc. and "Open Recent" projects are still intact.
OSX Version 10.9.5
Apple MacBook Pro 2013
Processor: 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16GB 1600 MHz DDR3 memory
NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB
APPLE SSD SM0512F Media
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 1130
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: Fusion Studio could not find a valid license

PostWed Oct 09, 2019 2:19 pm

Thank you for that update! I'll add your solution to my troubleshooting article for future reference.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Fernan and 3 guests