Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

How to install Fusion NOT on the first harddisk?

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Moethi

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 1:29 pm
  • Location: Kaarst (Germany)
  • Real Name: Jürgen Möthrath

How to install Fusion NOT on the first harddisk?

PostWed Aug 14, 2019 8:39 am

Hello all,

I have installed a separate SSD in my PC, only to increase the performance of DaVinci Resolve and Fusion (both as the Studio version). There is no problem to install DaVinci Resolve on this SSD, but I can't manage it for any reason to install Fusion on this drive? What is going wrong with this? Each simple program can be defined to install on a dedicated drive and into a dedicated folder. Did I do something wrong? Is there any hidden parameter to define the installation drive?

Thanks for helping!
Juergen
Mainboard ASUS Prime X370 Pro, AMD Ryzen 7 1700 X Eight-Core @ 3,77 GHz, 32 GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070, Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4k, Windows 10
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 1054
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: How to install Fusion NOT on the first harddisk?

PostWed Aug 14, 2019 2:50 pm

For some reason, the option to install to a custom location is not enabled in the installer. However, Fusion is portable, so you can simply move it from the location it's at to the drive you want it to live on. You'll have to update the program shortcuts yourself, but everything else should work.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com
Offline

Michael Stetson

  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 11:04 pm

Re: How to install Fusion NOT on the first harddisk?

PostSun Aug 18, 2019 1:16 am

I've asked about this too after Blackmagic acquired Fusion and never received a good answer.
There's no good reason I can think of to force Fusion to install to your system drive. Perhaps it is just an oversight when they create the installer of not setting a flag?
Offline
User avatar

Moethi

  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2018 1:29 pm
  • Location: Kaarst (Germany)
  • Real Name: Jürgen Möthrath

Re: How to install Fusion NOT on the first harddisk?

PostSun Aug 18, 2019 1:54 pm

Bryan Ray wrote:For some reason, the option to install to a custom location is not enabled in the installer. However, Fusion is portable, so you can simply move it from the location it's at to the drive you want it to live on. You'll have to update the program shortcuts yourself, but everything else should work.

That did help me a lot, thanks for this!
Mainboard ASUS Prime X370 Pro, AMD Ryzen 7 1700 X Eight-Core @ 3,77 GHz, 32 GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070, Blackmagic Intensity Pro 4k, Windows 10

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests