Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Fusion hotkeys doesn't exist

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Dany Evans

  • Posts: 77
  • Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:32 am
  • Location: Germany

Fusion hotkeys doesn't exist

PostFri Aug 28, 2015 11:09 am

Hi there.

I try to finde simple hotkeys like 1 step for/backward, jump to keyframe ect. But i can't finde any hotkey reference in the manual or WWW.

The only thing i finde out is how customize the "Fusion.hotkeys" file. But this file doesn't exist.

Is there a shortcut reference guide?

Thanks in advanced!
Offline
User avatar

Johnny Farmfield

  • Posts: 185
  • Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 8:26 am
  • Location: Goteborg - Sweden

Re: Fusion hotkeys doesn't exist

PostFri Aug 28, 2015 12:21 pm

Oh, I'm pretty sure it exists, but it's in the didden ProgramData folder. Copy paste this into an explorer adress field:

C:\ProgramData\Blackmagic Design\Fusion\Profiles\Default

...and you'll find the hotkey file. :)
*** Pushing pixels, vectors and voxels since 25 years - www.farmfield-vfx.com ***
Offline

Dany Evans

  • Posts: 77
  • Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:32 am
  • Location: Germany

Re: Fusion hotkeys doesn't exist

PostFri Aug 28, 2015 3:16 pm

Thanks Johnny.

I looking on that folder, but the file "Fusion.hotkeys" don't exist. No idea why, maybe it's a F8 Beta error?!
Offline
User avatar

Rony Soussan

  • Posts: 566
  • Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 5:33 pm

Re: Fusion hotkeys doesn't exist

PostFri Aug 28, 2015 5:28 pm

I would be it's due to the fact that we've left out all scripts for the first wave, but I can't be 100% sure myself.
Try to post any fusion 8 related issues on fusion 8 feedback sub-forum, it helps if you can keep fusion 8 issues/feedback in the sub-forum

viewtopic.php?f=24&t=38827
Offline
User avatar

Johnny Farmfield

  • Posts: 185
  • Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 8:26 am
  • Location: Goteborg - Sweden

Re: Fusion hotkeys doesn't exist

PostFri Aug 28, 2015 6:04 pm

You are right, the reason I have it is because v7 and it doesn't get read by v8. I also tried to do it using the hotkey manager - that's available if you remap your script paths to the developer folder - but that's also broken in the beta.

On the other hand, if you are in Windows, there's no reason to run the beta as the main feature in it is Linux and OS X support, there will be no major changes in the Windows version anyways, so better run v7.7.1...

@Rony

Can't you move this thread into the subforum or haven't you been granted such godlike powers in this forum? ;)
*** Pushing pixels, vectors and voxels since 25 years - www.farmfield-vfx.com ***
Offline
User avatar

Rony Soussan

  • Posts: 566
  • Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 5:33 pm

Re: Fusion hotkeys doesn't exist

PostFri Aug 28, 2015 6:13 pm

Have not been granted these powers.

But your point about 8 is correct, if you are in production, use 8 to give feedback, but there are no new features that should make you jump to 8 from 7.7 for any real production work (at this point )
Offline
User avatar

Johnny Farmfield

  • Posts: 185
  • Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 8:26 am
  • Location: Goteborg - Sweden

Re: Fusion hotkeys doesn't exist

PostFri Aug 28, 2015 9:35 pm

To point to a point made at We Suck Less - perhaps the first page download thing for v8 beta is premature, the beta is great for Mac users to test but if you come here as a new user and download the Fusion v8 beta for Windows, your first contact with Fusion is an application with A LOT lacking and A LOT of issues while really not offering anything new for the user, at least at this point, while Fusion 7.7.1 is a very polished version. My personal view is you guys should rethink that approach. :P
*** Pushing pixels, vectors and voxels since 25 years - www.farmfield-vfx.com ***
Offline

Dany Evans

  • Posts: 77
  • Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:32 am
  • Location: Germany

Re: Fusion hotkeys doesn't exist

PostWed Sep 02, 2015 10:43 am

Ok, it's broken in F8. w

But where can i finde references for sortcuts (f.e. 1 frame forward/back)? In the manual are just a couple.

Thanks.
Offline
User avatar

Rony Soussan

  • Posts: 566
  • Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 5:33 pm

Re: Fusion hotkeys doesn't exist

PostWed Sep 02, 2015 5:26 pm

Johnny Farmfield wrote:To point to a point made at We Suck Less - perhaps the first page download thing for v8 beta is premature, the beta is great for Mac users to test but if you come here as a new user and download the Fusion v8 beta for Windows, your first contact with Fusion is an application with A LOT lacking and A LOT of issues while really not offering anything new for the user, at least at this point, while Fusion 7.7.1 is a very polished version. My personal view is you guys should rethink that approach. :P


I disagree. Fusion users, meaning existing windows fusion users should have an interest in helping guide 8, otherwise, where will the pro fusion input come from?
Offline
User avatar

Johnny Farmfield

  • Posts: 185
  • Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 8:26 am
  • Location: Goteborg - Sweden

Re: Fusion hotkeys doesn't exist

PostWed Sep 02, 2015 7:00 pm

Rony Soussan wrote:
Johnny Farmfield wrote:To point to a point made at We Suck Less - perhaps the first page download thing for v8 beta is premature, the beta is great for Mac users to test but if you come here as a new user and download the Fusion v8 beta for Windows, your first contact with Fusion is an application with A LOT lacking and A LOT of issues while really not offering anything new for the user, at least at this point, while Fusion 7.7.1 is a very polished version. My personal view is you guys should rethink that approach. :P


I disagree. Fusion users, meaning existing windows fusion users should have an interest in helping guide 8, otherwise, where will the pro fusion input come from?

That's why I wrote about new users first contact with Fusion, not the current userbase. :D

But what I'm talking about is how a layout dictate our minds choice in a case like this, somthing that's well researched over the years... As it is right now, if you go to the BDM webpage you have the beta promotion in the top, cool, I have nothing against that. Then you click that you get to the Fusion page, and I still have no issues. Imagine that. Now you click on downloads and in the popup will have the Mac and Windows beta downloads to the left and the Windows 7.71 download to the right - this is where I'm thinking someone didn't think it through. because as we read/scan a page, we do it top to bottom, left to right. Taking into account how our minds process information, a new user will automatically choose the Windows beta before the current Windows 7.7.1 version, purely based on the layout. But if you were to switch them, this alone would make a new Windows users first register there's a final version in 7.7.1 and then there's a Mac beta and a Windows beta - and given the time to register the choice, Windows users who want to try Fusion are likely to test the current version before the beta thus are more likely to have a pleasant experience compared to your first contact with Fusion being the v8 beta... [/end messerschmidt rant] :?

And damn, I'm not doing myself any favors, socially, ranting like that in here. :D
*** Pushing pixels, vectors and voxels since 25 years - www.farmfield-vfx.com ***
Offline
User avatar

Rony Soussan

  • Posts: 566
  • Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 5:33 pm

Re: Fusion hotkeys doesn't exist

PostWed Sep 02, 2015 8:07 pm

Unless your from Israel, then you'll read it right to left.

:)
Offline
User avatar

Johnny Farmfield

  • Posts: 185
  • Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 8:26 am
  • Location: Goteborg - Sweden

Re: Fusion hotkeys doesn't exist

PostWed Sep 02, 2015 11:30 pm

Hehe, no, even in the Middle East and the parts of Asia where they read/write right-to-left, they look at web pages top left, right and down.

But it's interesting how much difference this makes, we really do chose things long before we register it and unless we know for sure the second offer is better than the first, we will choose the first - so the Windows 8 beta in this case.

But if you already use Fusion and want to test the beta, the choice is made when you learn of it's existence, so in most cases before you even go to the BMD page looking for it. ;)

And this is how our idea of free will evaporates. :D
*** Pushing pixels, vectors and voxels since 25 years - www.farmfield-vfx.com ***
Offline

Dany Evans

  • Posts: 77
  • Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:32 am
  • Location: Germany

Re: Fusion hotkeys doesn't exist

PostSun Sep 06, 2015 11:04 am

All right, no hotkey reference. Annoying!
Offline
User avatar

michael vorberg

  • Posts: 738
  • Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 8:47 pm
  • Location: stuttgart, germany

Re: Fusion hotkeys doesn't exist

PostSun Sep 06, 2015 12:05 pm

from an old Fusion6 version i've found this:

General

Space Starts or stops interactive playback.

Ctrl+N Creates a new flow.

Ctrl+O Opens an existing flow.

Ctrl+S Saves the current flow.

Ctrl+Z Undoes the last change.

Ctrl+Y Redoes the last undo.

Ctrl+X Cuts the selected item to the clipboard.

Shift+Del Cuts the selected item to the clipboard.

Ctrl+C Copies the selected item to the clipboard.

Ctrl+Ins Copies the selected item to the clipboard.

Ctrl+V Pastes the item from the clipboard.

Shift+Ins Pastes the item from the clipboard.

Ctrl+B Toggles display of the Bins.

Shift+Ctrl Simulates holding down the middle mouse button. For use when panning without a three-button mouse.

Alt+Drag Holding down the Alt key while dragging a center crosshair limits movement to horizontal or vertical motion.

] Moves current time forward one frame.

[ Moves current time backward one frame.

Ctrl+[ Changes current time to the first frame in the render range.

Ctrl+] Changes current time to the last frame in the render range.

Alt+] Advances to the next keyframe.

Alt+[ Returns to the previous keyframe.

Ctrl+A Selects all tools in the flow, or all keys in a selected spline.

Ctrl+1 Scales the active region to 100% size.

Ctrl+F Scales the active region to fit in the view size.

Ctrl+R Scales the active region to a rectangle (region zoom).

Numpad + Zooms in on the active region. Works in all scalable areas of the interface.

Numpad - Zooms out on the active region . Works in all scalable areas of the interface.

Function Keys

F1 Displays the online help for the selected tool or object.

F2 Renames the selected tools.

F4Toggles to remove or show display views.

F5 Displays the flow view.

F6 Displays the console.

F7 Displays the timeline editor.

F8 Displays the spline editor.

F9 Displays the comments tab.

F10 Displays the tool controls.

F11 Displays the modifiers tab.

F12 Starts render.

Displaying An Image In The Views

Flow Only
1 Views the selected tool on the left view.

2 Views the selected tool on the right view.

3 Views the selected tool on an I/O board or floating view.

4+ Any additional views available.

`(tilde) Clears all views.

Display View
R Displays the red channel in the selected view.

G Displays the green channel in the selected view.

B Displays the blue channel in the selected view.

A Displays the alpha channel in the selected view.

M Displays the mask channel in the selected view.

C Displays a full color image in the selected view.

Z Displays the Z-buffer channel in the display view.

V Displays the subview.

Shift+V Swaps the contents of the view and the subview.

Ctrl+L Locks the display.

Ctrl+Q Toggles quad view on and off.

Ctrl+K Toggles display of tool controls.

Ctrl+G Toggles display of the guides.

Shift+H Toggles display of handles on spline keypoints.

Shift+K Toggles display of keypoints on splines.

, (comma) Switches the view to use the A image buffer.

. (period) Switches the view to use the B image buffer.

/ Switches the view so that it shows both the A and B buffers and enables splitwipe.



Setting Numeric And Positional Values

Shift+R-Arrow Increases a value in steps.

Shift+L-Arrow Decreases a value in steps.

Shift+U-Arrow Increases a value in steps.

Shift+D-Arrow Decreases a value in steps.

Ctrl+R-Arrow Slightly increases a value.

Ctrl+L-Arrow Slightly decreases a value.

Ctrl+U-Arrow Slightly increases a value.

Ctrl+D-Arrow Slightly decreases a value.

Splines And Polylines

Shift+C Sets the active polyline to click append mode.

Shift+D Sets the active polyline to draw append mode.

Shift+I Sets the active polyline to insert and modify mode.

Shift+M Sets the active polyline to modify only mode.

Shift+N Sets the active polyline to done mode.

Shift+O Opens or closes the active polyline (connects last point to first point).

Shift+P Publishes the selected keys in the polyline shape.

Shift+F Sets the selected keys to follow existing published points.

Shift+R Disables or enables rendering of polylines until during manipulation of polyline.

Shift+B Enables the spline shaping mode.

E Displays the point editor dialog in the current display view, or sets keyboard focus to point value controls in the spline and timeline editors.

T Displays the ease in/out controls in the spline editor's toolbar.

K Creates a keyframe on the selected spline at the current mouse position.

S, Shift-S Smoothes all selected points on a spline or polyline. The display view recognizes Shift-S only, while the spline and timeline editors recognize both S and Shift-S.

L, Shift-L Linearizes all selected points on a spline or polyline. The display view recognizes Shift-L only, while the spline and timeline editors recognize both L and Shift-L.

I Sets all selected points of a spline to step in mode.

O Sets all the selected points of a spline to step out mode.

V Reverses the selected keyframes on a spline.

Ctrl+Drag Copies selected points of a spline or polyline to a new segment.

Advanced Polyline Transformation

S Scales the selected points of a polyline around position of the mouse pointer.

T Twists the selected points of a polyline around position of the mouse pointer.

X Scales the selected points of a polyline around position of the mouse pointer.

Y Scales the selected points of a polyline around position of the mouse pointer.

Flow Editor

F2 Renames selected tool or tools.

Ctrl+G Creates a group from selected tools.

Ctrl+W Swaps the inputs on the selected tool in the flow.

Ctrl+L Toggles lock mode for the selected tool.

Ctrl+P Toggles pass-through mode for the selected tool.

Ctrl+U Toggles update mode for the selected tool.

Ctrl+F Displays the find tool dialog.

Ctrl+ShiftT+V Pastes an instance of a tool in the clipboard.

V Toggles display of the navigator.

Spline Editor

K Creates a keyframe on the selected spline at the current mouse position.

S Smoothes all selected points on a spline or polyline.

L Linearizes all selected points on a spline or polyline.

I Sets all selected points of a spline to step in mode.

O Sets all the selected points of a spline to step out mode.

V Reverses the selected spline.

Ctrl+Drag Copies selected points of a spline or polyline (display view also).

Timeline

Shift+G Displays guides list.

Time Ruler And Render Range

Ctrl+Shift+Dbl Sets the render range to the slider range.

Ctrl+Dbl-Click Sets the render range to the selected frame.

Ctrl+Drag Sets the render range to frames enclosed by mouse drag.
Offline

Dany Evans

  • Posts: 77
  • Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 9:32 am
  • Location: Germany

Re: Fusion hotkeys doesn't exist

PostMon Sep 07, 2015 12:29 pm

Hi Michael.

Great - THANKS A LOT for that!
MACPRO 5.1, 12core (2x3,46), 96GB RAM, OSX 10.11.x | 4 x GTX TITAN | DECKLINK 4K EXTREME | DR PANEL | SSD RAID
Offline

Andrew Devis

  • Posts: 46
  • Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2015 10:18 am
  • Location: Leeds, UK

Re: Fusion hotkeys doesn't exist

PostMon Sep 07, 2015 1:46 pm

Did you notice that swapping the inputs on a merge is now CNTL + T ... don't know why it changed, but I thought I'd mention it in passing :)
Offline
User avatar

Stefan Ihringer

  • Posts: 257
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 10:40 pm
  • Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Fusion hotkeys doesn't exist

PostMon Sep 07, 2015 8:21 pm

Probably because ctrl-W was taken. It closes windows on MacOS :-)
blog and Fusion stuff: http://comp-fu.com/2012/06/fusion-script-macro-collection/
Offline
User avatar

michael vorberg

  • Posts: 738
  • Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 8:47 pm
  • Location: stuttgart, germany

Re: Fusion hotkeys doesn't exist

PostMon Sep 07, 2015 9:55 pm

i think "ctrl+w" is a standard command in QT (the GUI framework) and it closes the comp now (tested on windows also)
Offline
User avatar

Johnny Farmfield

  • Posts: 185
  • Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 8:26 am
  • Location: Goteborg - Sweden

Re: Fusion hotkeys doesn't exist

PostMon Sep 07, 2015 10:59 pm

Stefan Ihringer wrote:Probably because ctrl-W was taken. It closes windows on MacOS :-)

So it does in Windows, at least in many graphics applications - and it actually closes tabs in Google Chrome too - just checked it, as I'm in Chrome, and pop goes the wea-eh-tab... :D
*** Pushing pixels, vectors and voxels since 25 years - www.farmfield-vfx.com ***
Offline
User avatar

Stefan Ihringer

  • Posts: 257
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 10:40 pm
  • Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Fusion hotkeys doesn't exist

PostTue Sep 08, 2015 7:06 am

So the only question is, what does T stand for? :-)
blog and Fusion stuff: http://comp-fu.com/2012/06/fusion-script-macro-collection/
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 613
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Fusion hotkeys doesn't exist

PostTue Sep 08, 2015 7:18 am

Let's pretend it's 'Toggle' or while we're at it, let's try to find out where the (Ctrl+) Z is in Undo :lol:
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline
User avatar

Stefan Ihringer

  • Posts: 257
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 10:40 pm
  • Location: Munich, Germany

Re: Fusion hotkeys doesn't exist

PostTue Sep 08, 2015 7:28 pm

or "Transpose" ?

The ctrl Z thing is actually funny for everbody whose Y and Z keys are swapped on their localized keyboard. It took me years to realize that originally, ctrl Z was meant to be located close to cut/copy/paste on US keyboards...
blog and Fusion stuff: http://comp-fu.com/2012/06/fusion-script-macro-collection/

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests