Recommended Color Chart for Resolve 11

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author

William Carswell

Recommended Color Chart for Resolve 11

PostSun Apr 13, 2014 7:14 am

Is there a preferred color chart that anyone suggests for use with DaVinci's Color Match in Resolve 11?

Thanks.

LC

Chris Kenny

Re: Recommended Color Chart for Resolve 11

PostSun Apr 13, 2014 2:08 pm

The BMD demo videos appear to be using this, for what it's worth.
DI Workflow, Nice Dissolve
http://nicedissolve.com

William Carswell

PostSun Apr 13, 2014 3:17 pm

-- Chris

Thanks for the link.

LC

joechiazza

PostSun Apr 13, 2014 4:23 pm

How does one of these work? Is there a video that says how to use one somewhere.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Michael Phillips

PostSun Apr 13, 2014 5:33 pm

I think this is a great addition and a long time need. I have been doing a more manual process for over 15 years in Media Composer using a chart that I have outlined here in a blog:
http://24p.com/wordpress/?p=124

My method only uses the grayscale, but if the Resolve method also looks at the color patches, that's even better! Looking forward to trying this one out. There seem to be better charts for digital cinematography than the Macbeth chart as discussed by Art Adams: http://provideocoalition.com/aadams/sto ... cker-chart

The DSC Labs OneShot chart is designed for video and would be interesting to see if that will be supported in a future release of "chart analysis". Art discusses its use in this blog entry:
http://provideocoalition.com/aadams/sto ... s_oneshot/

Michael
Michael Phillips
Consultant
www.linkedin.com/in/phillipsm

Ludovico Bettarello

PostSun Apr 13, 2014 5:46 pm

this one ?

____ vimeo.com/internonotte _____
nMP 8-core d700 64gb AMD FE 16gb R832TB Ultrastudio 4k PVMa250 Tangent Element BMD Editor Keyboard
nMP 6-core d700 64gb xMAC PRO SERVER 50TB raid SAS Ultrastudio 4k Mini double reader Red Alexa SBK 8U flightcase

JPOwens