Can Resolve really be an Editor?

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author

Christian Horne

PostFri Apr 18, 2014 4:28 pm

Davinci Resolve a top editor?

I have used many editors over the years some good, some not so good, some that were good and now they're not. I'm primarily a Premiere Pro user, and I have Avid when I need to fit into a Post's house workflow, so am I excited about the new editing features in Resolve? Well frankly yes I am. All I ever need from a good editor is excellent media management, quick and simple cutting tools and the ability to play footage in real time without the hassle of using proxies. I couldn't care less which Editor has been used to cut the new 'Oscar' winning movie, software only plays a small part in the creative process. A simple editor is always going to be a welcome for me, an Editor where it's software doesn't get in the way of getting the job done (i.e. Adobe bloatware), can only unleash more time to be more creative. I think that Resolve has something very special in version 11, its simplicity and beautiful user interface along with realtime play back and media management has already got me excited, in fact it could well be the Editor that makes the other Editors out there realise that the 1000 new features they have added are not getting used!

waltervolpatto

• Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Can Resolve really be an Editor?

PostFri Apr 18, 2014 5:05 pm

....it depends ....

The editors in the past where "editing" material, mostly cut/slice/slip/fade... Now every offline I get from a vendor is a mishmash of half done VFX, speedcrumps, multiple stacks of clips, and so on...

I will not define resolve as "editor" quite yet. I think that Avid (or FCP) has a much better database handling and toolset.

However, if you have a "simple" project and you need to do a somewhat "simple" edit, you can get away with it...

(My 2 cents...)