question of legal and data level

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

whatever

  • Posts: 51
  • Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 2:49 am

question of legal and data level

PostThu Nov 22, 2012 1:47 pm

Hi,

As I know the resovle have a legal and data level settings, does anyone know that is there this kind of settings in the FCP?

Thanks.
Henry Chang
Offline

amiroxx

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 1:54 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Radeck

Re: question of legal and data level

PostThu Nov 22, 2012 1:59 pm

no final cut always assume the quicktimes comes with fullrange (data levels) and shrinks them to legal levels after/via import
HP Z820 win10pro 64bit v1809 - Quadro RTX4000 GUI, Geforce RTX 2080 - Decklink 4k extreme 12g drv v11.1
Offline

whatever

  • Posts: 51
  • Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 2:49 am

Re: question of legal and data level

PostFri Nov 23, 2012 2:51 am

Can you tell me where I can find the assume which you noted.

I use the full range quicktime to load into FCP and play out to tape, the image looks like it's not converted to legal level.

Thanks.
Henry Chang
Offline
User avatar

Steve MacMillan

  • Posts: 72
  • Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 1:47 pm

Re: question of legal and data level

PostFri Nov 23, 2012 11:56 pm

I've been playing around with full and legal levels as they relate to ProRes 4444.

In Resolve I have a 4kHD RED shot that has deep blacks on the floor and a blown out window that is pure white.

If I render out of Resolve a full range ProRes 4444 and a legal range ProRes 422, they look exactly the same in QT7 or Final Cut. Scopebox meters them both 0-100 IRE.

If I render out a legal range ProRes 4444, it looks like the blacks are raised and the highlights grey compared to either the full range ProRes 4444 or the legal range 422.

If I drop the full range ProRes 4444 onto a FCP7 timeline (letting it setup the sequence), and render it out of FCP7 it looks the same as the original in QT7.
Resolve Lite 10.1.4
MacPro 5,1 2.66Ghz, 48GB, OSX 10.8.5
GUI Nvidia Q4000, GPU Nvidia GTX680, Decklink 3D+
Offline

whatever

  • Posts: 51
  • Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 2:49 am

Re: question of legal and data level

PostSat Nov 24, 2012 12:18 pm

I just know that the FCP has a filter as boardcast safe, maybe that can do the scale to legal.
Henry Chang

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Glenn Sakatch and 6 guests