imac with no thunderbolt

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

icp

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 7:49 pm

imac with no thunderbolt

PostThu Nov 22, 2012 9:37 pm

Hi,

I'm looking for a 10-bit monitoring solution for color correction. I have a late 2009 imac (no thunderbolt, no usb 3.0, just mini displayport). I was thinking about this workflow with blackmagic products:

1) MIni DP to DVI.
2) DVI Extender (to SDI)
3) HD Link Pro (to the monitor via HDMI or DP)

Will this work? I don't know if this is a 10-bit workflow. The first conversion via DVI it's probably 8-bit (since DVI is 8-bit by default).

Thanks.

Ivan
Offline

icp

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 7:49 pm

Re: imac with no thunderbolt

PostFri Nov 23, 2012 9:28 am

I didn't thought about this one:

1) Mini DP to HDMI (it should be 10-bit).
2) Blackmagic HDMI to SDI
3) HD Link Pro (to the monitor via HDMI or DP)

What do you think? I'll be using this with a Dell u2410.
Offline
User avatar

Russ Blaise

  • Posts: 48
  • Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 12:59 pm

Re: imac with no thunderbolt

PostFri Nov 23, 2012 10:17 pm

If you are looking to get a broadcast quality signal, I don't think you will get it using the the products you listed. Also I believe the Dell u2410 is a computer monitor. I think you need a broadcast monitor to get accurate color. I know people are doing that with the newer iMacs going through thunderbolt. But it looks like you don't have thunderbolt. Maybe there is another solution for you.
Mac Pro 3.33GHz 6-Core (2012), High Sierra‎, 48GB RAM, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB & 500GB, CalDigit VR, Radeon RX 580 8192 MB, Intensity Pro 4k, Resolve Studio.
Offline

icp

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 7:49 pm

Re: imac with no thunderbolt

PostSat Nov 24, 2012 6:20 pm

The HD Link Pro is supposed to convert a computer monitor into a broadcast monitor. I know it's better to have a real broadcast monitor in the end of the chain. The dell is listed as a 10-bit panel, so it's better than nothing :)

The problem here is that I don't have a thunderbolt port.

I can get the old Matrox MXO and connect it via a DVI cable, but I'm on a 8-bit solution and it's and old product. I just want a broadcast signal that I can trust with some accuracy, for a low-budget documentary i'll be grading and I'll like to work with Davinci resolve (that's why I'll like a Blackmagic product).
Offline
User avatar

Russ Blaise

  • Posts: 48
  • Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 12:59 pm

Re: imac with no thunderbolt

PostSat Nov 24, 2012 6:40 pm

Okay, so if the HD Link Pro does give you a broadcast signal, then you might be good. What are you using to calibrate your monitor? I've been using the i1Display Pro by z-rite. It work very well.

Have you been to the CreativeCow forum yet? They have a DaVinci Resolve forum there:

http://forums.creativecow.net/davinci
Mac Pro 3.33GHz 6-Core (2012), High Sierra‎, 48GB RAM, Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB & 500GB, CalDigit VR, Radeon RX 580 8192 MB, Intensity Pro 4k, Resolve Studio.
Offline

icp

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2012 7:49 pm

Re: imac with no thunderbolt

PostSun Nov 25, 2012 11:29 am

iruss wrote:Okay, so if the HD Link Pro does give you a broadcast signal, then you might be good. What are you using to calibrate your monitor? I've been using the i1Display Pro by z-rite. It work very well.


I use the same calibrator. It works well.

iruss wrote:Have you been to the CreativeCow forum yet? They have a DaVinci Resolve forum there:
http://forums.creativecow.net/davinci


I'm gonna try on this forum, thanks!

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests