FCPX to Resolve DSLR workflow

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Matthew Reynolds

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 7:01 pm

FCPX to Resolve DSLR workflow

PostMon Aug 27, 2012 3:41 pm

Does anyone have any good workflows for DSLR footage, FCPX and Resolve 8/9? I have tried to import XML, but I get missing clips errors, even when they are there. When it asks me to point to the media, should I point to the Original H.264 clips or the optimized ProRes clips?

It never seems to want to connect. Thoughts? What is everyone else out there doing?

- Matthew Reynolds
Offline

movie-apps

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:27 am
  • Location: Munich Germany

Re: FCPX to Resolve DSLR workflow

PostMon Aug 27, 2012 4:23 pm

Hi Matthew

which app is generating the XML (fcpxml) ?
and what do you want to do with the fcpxml ?

To view and log you might use movieola pro from http://www.movie-apps.de
Our app is generating XML for FCP-7 and PremierePro CS6 and FCPXML for FCP-X

regards
Heinz
Offline

Matthew Reynolds

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 7:01 pm

Re: FCPX to Resolve DSLR workflow

PostMon Aug 27, 2012 4:56 pm

I'm just using the built-in XML Export from Final Cut Pro X.
Offline

movie-apps

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:27 am
  • Location: Munich Germany

Re: FCPX to Resolve DSLR workflow

PostMon Aug 27, 2012 5:51 pm

Hi Matthew

ok, I am sorry, I missunderstood your request …

regards
Heinz
Offline

joshmsmith

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 3:30 pm

Re: FCPX to Resolve DSLR workflow

PostTue Aug 28, 2012 4:15 am

I am also curious about this. I have played around with Resolve with some test clips, and love the workflow and end look, but I can't seem to get my projects in and out of it in one piece from FCPX
Offline

Winfried Dobbe

  • Posts: 65
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 10:39 pm

Re: FCPX to Resolve DSLR workflow

PostTue Aug 28, 2012 9:31 am

One annoying thing of FCP X XML export is that it seems to always refer to the original media, even if you let FCP X generate optimized media. For most codecs this is not a problem, but if I have AVCHD material, I have to manually edit the XML that FCP X exported. I have sent them feedback for an option in the export dialog.

So I guess that when Resolve asks for the media, you should point to the original files, because that is what is referred to in the XML file.
Offline

Matthew Reynolds

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 7:01 pm

Re: FCPX to Resolve DSLR workflow

PostTue Aug 28, 2012 1:04 pm

I may send them feedback on the menu option as well. Give it some extra push. I will try to edit the XML. It was on my list to try out.

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Fphvac01 and 12 guests