Proper use of "data levels"

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Elliott Balsley

  • Posts: 615
  • Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 5:45 pm
  • Location: Southern California

Proper use of "data levels"

PostSat Dec 01, 2012 9:11 pm

All my work so far has been destined for Rec709 distribution (DVD, theater, etc.) But now I have a little project going to the web only, and I want to make sure I understand the levels thing. The footage came from a Nikon D800, which I think records in limited range, with black and white points set at 16 and 235. The destination (web) is RGB, therefore should use 0-255?
I use a Rec709 SDI monitor in Resolve. So I should leave video monitoring at video levels, set clip attributes to video levels, and render to data levels. Is that right?
Elliott C. Balsley
DIT, Colorist, Cinematographer
www.llamafilm.com
Offline
User avatar

Elliott Balsley

  • Posts: 615
  • Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2012 5:45 pm
  • Location: Southern California

Re: Proper use of "data levels"

PostSun Dec 02, 2012 12:11 am

I rendered both as a test to Prores 422, and the one with video levels looks closer to my SDI monitor when uploaded to Vimeo. It also looks closer in QT7 when FCS color compatibility mode is on. But when that checkbox is off, the data levels version looks closer. If I'm sending this video to some web designer who doesn't know anything about levels, how do I choose?
Elliott C. Balsley
DIT, Colorist, Cinematographer
www.llamafilm.com

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests