Resolve OSX to Windows

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

dennysb

  • Posts: 81
  • Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 5:28 am
  • Location: Hudson, WI - USA

Resolve OSX to Windows

PostFri Dec 21, 2012 7:34 pm

Hi,

I purchased Resolve for Mac OS X, and in the near future I "could/might" decide to move my Grading suite from a Mac Pro to a Windows platform.

"IF" I did :) is there a upgrade path of sorts - I do have the dongle of course so is the license interchangeable?

THX!!! :D
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5511
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve OSX to Windows

PostFri Dec 21, 2012 9:53 pm

The Resolve dongle works on both Mac and Windows systems.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline
User avatar

dennysb

  • Posts: 81
  • Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 5:28 am
  • Location: Hudson, WI - USA

Re: Resolve OSX to Windows

PostSun Dec 23, 2012 10:56 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:The Resolve dongle works on both Mac and Windows systems.


THX Dwaine - good to know if I was to change platform
Offline
User avatar

Michael Beck

  • Posts: 119
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 4:07 am
  • Location: Jackson, TN

Re: Resolve OSX to Windows

PostSun Dec 23, 2012 11:51 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:The Resolve dongle works on both Mac and Windows systems.

Are you sure about this? My Dongle says "Mac" on it.
------------
-Michael Beck
Offline

Rohit Gupta

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1173
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:00 am

Re: Resolve OSX to Windows

PostMon Dec 24, 2012 3:31 pm

mbeck wrote:
Dwaine Maggart wrote:The Resolve dongle works on both Mac and Windows systems.

Are you sure about this? My Dongle says "Mac" on it.


Same dongle for Mac and Windows. Linux is a different dongle.
Rohit Gupta

DaVinci Resolve Software Development
Blackmagic Design

Michael Millichamp

Re: Resolve OSX to Windows

PostThu Jan 17, 2013 3:34 pm

I just received the Blackmagic Cinema Camera and I am installing DaVinci onto my desktop which is a PC, however the Dongle I have says "ResolveMac" on it.

And I seem to be having some trouble using resolve. It says it can't find my dongle. (I hate saying dongle)

Any ideas?
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5511
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve OSX to Windows

PostThu Jan 17, 2013 5:09 pm

All the Mac/Windows dongles are currently labeled as Mac. But they really do work for Windows as well.

Have you tried the dongle in different USB ports?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

lancescott

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 2:47 am

Re: Resolve OSX to Windows

PostFri Oct 11, 2013 2:50 am

how about the database? from mac to windows.

we are having difficulty to import/restore database from resolve 8 (mac) to resolve 9 (windows)
how can we import the settings from mac to windows. resolve 8 to resolve 9.
we plan to change to windows platform, but we would want the existing projects to be open in new resolve 9 (windows)

thanks.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5511
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve OSX to Windows

PostFri Oct 11, 2013 8:03 pm

We don't support moving PostgreSQL databases between Windows and Mac, using the Database Manager Backup and Restore functions.

You will either need to Export your desired projects and Import them into the other system. Or, you could set the Mac up to share it's database, then connect to the Mac database from the Windows machine, and leave the database on the Mac. And/or, use the Project Manager "Show Group Projects" mode to copy the projects from the Mac database to the Windows database. Details on sharing the database are in the Mac Resolve Config guide for V10 on page 47, or the V9 Mac Resolve Config guide on page 27.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 7077
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Resolve OSX to Windows

PostFri Nov 06, 2015 4:53 pm

Yep, i'm going to try this one!
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - BMR St. 16.1.0B.025
nvidia: 430.86 studio

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andrew Kolakowski, Doug Jones, Google [Bot], Jim Simon, Michael_Andreas, Xenophon and 69 guests