Page 1 of 1

HDlink Utility with Mac OSX 10.11.3 Problem

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2016 4:00 am
by Marc Higa
Hi,

I am having a problem with HDlink Utility with Mac OSX 10.11.3... I can't change any of the setting and the preferences menu is greyed out. Is the software compatible with El Capitan?

I use the HDlink to send a RGB signal to my Dreamcolor monitor.

Here are my specs:

Mac Pro 3.2 GHZ Mid 2012
OSX 10.11.3

Avid DNXio
HDlink Pro Display Port

Thanks!

Re: HDlink Utility with Mac OSX 10.11.3 Problem

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2016 6:41 pm
by Tony Rivera
The last firmware update to the HDLink was for 10.10. There hasn't been any testing done with the newest OS release that I'm aware of.

Re: HDlink Utility with Mac OSX 10.11.3 Problem

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2016 11:32 am
by Jon M. Puntervold
When will an update arrive?

Re: HDlink Utility with Mac OSX 10.11.3 Problem

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2016 10:59 pm
by Tony Rivera
I'm not aware of any being worked on however if there are, that information would be with the dev/engineering teams.

Re: HDlink Utility with Mac OSX 10.11.3 Problem

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 8:16 pm
by Jon M. Puntervold
HDlink drivers update is needed for a lot of us. HDlink is/was a good product for 1080p/2k 10bit monitoring on 'older' monitors, before the latest HDMI standards came to life (if they are good enough, i don't know).

Re: HDlink Utility with Mac OSX 10.11.3 Problem

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 9:27 pm
by Erik Wittbusch
+1

Re: HDlink Utility with Mac OSX 10.11.3 Problem

PostPosted: Sun Oct 23, 2016 10:04 pm
by Jon M. Puntervold
Tony Rivera wrote:I'm not aware of any being worked on however if there are, that information would be with the dev/engineering teams.


Please, this product is still for sale and still useful for many of us.

Re: HDlink Utility with Mac OSX 10.11.3 Problem

PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2016 9:24 pm
by Sergei Franklin
A lot of DIT's were using them with LiveGrade. With a new or upgraded Mac they are forced to buy a new LUT box from someone else like Teradek, Flanders. Why make a product obsolete by not updating firmware. Everything else has been getting updates from Blackmagic

Re: HDlink Utility with Mac OSX 10.11.3 Problem

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:29 pm
by Louis Block
+1

Re: HDlink Utility with Mac OSX 10.11.3 Problem

PostPosted: Wed Jan 25, 2017 5:35 pm
by Louis Block
FYI, I was able to "reset" 2 HDLink Pro boxes by plugging them in to either an older Mac running an older OS, or a Windows PC and running the HDLink Utility. Thereafter, my MacBook Pro running 10.11.6 would recognize the boxes. Until the next day, of course.

Re: HDlink Utility with Mac OSX 10.11.3 Problem

PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 3:39 am
by Willian Aleman
Louis Block wrote:FYI, I was able to "reset" 2 HDLink Pro boxes by plugging them in to either an older Mac running an older OS, or a Windows PC and running the HDLink Utility. Thereafter, my MacBook Pro running 10.11.6 would recognize the boxes. Until the next day, of course.

I bought the HDlink Pro for my DIT cart. I returned it to B&H, NYC, a week later because of the lack of support by BMD in MacOS 11 and higher versions. I replaced it with the Flanders BoxI/0. It works in single and dual mode channel. It's recognized by Pomfort LiveGrade 3 and Filmlight, Prelight current beta version.

The lack of BMD support for third party LUT boxes is forcing DITs and DoPs at all levels to use other softwares for on-set color grading. Sadly, Davinci Resolve >Resolve Live> on-set feature can not be used as efficiently as other on-set production applications, as the ones mentioned above do, just to mention two.

As an on-set live color grading application, DR really slows down the DIT and DoP work on-set. I only used it occasionally in production for transcoding. It’s sad, because with this attitude BMD really reduces the value of Davinci Resolve in the film production field. It’s worse, because they do nothing about it and don't allow third party companies to use DR as a platform for other LUT box brands either. The same fact is happening with the Tangent Element lack of extended functions imposed by BMD. Really, does a US$3000 color grading surface represent a competition to their $29,000 controller, which belongs to a totally different market area?

Re: HDlink Utility with Mac OSX 10.11.3 Problem

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 11:25 am
by Jon M. Puntervold
+1 New driver for HDLink

Re: HDlink Utility with Mac OSX 10.11.3 Problem

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2017 4:30 pm
by Hector Berrebi
+1

Is this going to be one of these hardware pieces where utility never gets updated again, no one from company officially says so, and users slowly just get it and eventually let go? :)

There are no other SDI 2 DisplayPort solutions out there, not simple ones at least.
Which makes at least one HDLink still much needed sometimes.

Will there ever be a utility for OSX 10.11+?


Also.. if any other HDLink user sees this,
are there any settings in the utility that can influence, manipulate or change the way a 4:4:4 signal (dual or single link) is interpreted to DP?

I never used this utility before, therefore not even sure what it includes.

Thanks.


hector

Re: HDlink Utility with Mac OSX 10.11.3 Problem

PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 6:36 pm
by Mike Visconti
I can't even find the link to it anymore-is it just silently EOL now (despite still being for sale)?

Anyone got the link so I could at least use it for a few things with an older station?

Re: HDlink Utility with Mac OSX 10.11.3 Problem

PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 3:00 am
by Maarten Eshuis
+1

All settings are greyed out..

Re: HDlink Utility with Mac OSX 10.11.3 Problem

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2017 8:06 am
by alvarorobles
+1

Any news about this?

Re: HDlink Utility with Mac OSX 10.11.3 Problem

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2017 5:11 pm
by Willian Aleman
alvarorobles wrote:+1

Any news about this?

No. In addition and unfortunately, it appears as discontinued at B&H store in New York City.

I got the Flanders FSI BoxI/O instead for Pomfort LiveGrade and other on-set color management applications I use. However, as any third party LUT boxes, the FSI BoxI/O is not supported by Davinci Resolve. I hope this would change in the near future.

I'm very happy with FSI BoxI/O, except that it doesn't have an LED display either scroll buttons to independently control the different operations in the box as the Teradek does. But it's the only LUT box with true independent (17x17x17 size) two channel. When used in single channel it's a 33x.33.33 size.
The Teradek Colr Duo is a one Channel In and two Out.

Re: HDlink Utility with Mac OSX 10.11.3 Problem

PostPosted: Fri Nov 17, 2017 4:43 pm
by Benjamin McGuire
Yea, Sucks that Blackmagic has abandoned it!
A simple solution is to run a virtual machine of either a older version of macOS, or windows, and pass the USB port to it. Works with VMware Fusion. Should also work on VirtualBox (Free), but I haven't tested it.

Re: HDlink Utility with Mac OSX 10.11.3 Problem

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 6:40 pm
by Gerhard Riesenhuber
As an on-set live color grading application, DR really slows down the DIT and DoP work on-set. I only used it occasionally in production for transcoding. It’s sad, because with this attitude BMD really reduces the value of Davinci Resolve in the film production field.


That's exactly my thougts! Please BM, bring as a real live grading option like in Filmlight's Prelight!
With: direct connection to various LUT boxes and the ability to do all corrections that are possible
in Resolve. The uploaded 3D LUTs for the LUT boxes are built of primaries and secondaries, but no
shapes and keyers and else. Have a look at Prelight! If you can deliver that, than I'm in! Maybe you
can implement something simelar than Filmlights BLG files, which contain all grading information for
one clip including metadata.

Re: HDlink Utility with Mac OSX 10.11.3 Problem

PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2018 10:41 am
by Stéphane Azouze
+1