MIni Monitor 4K

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Kevin Christopher

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 2:02 pm
  • Location: Atlanta

MIni Monitor 4K

PostMon Apr 10, 2017 4:07 pm

So in one of my suites I decided to try out a Mini Monitor 4K. If all you work with is 16:9 1080, or UHD everything is fine, but if you have a different aspect ratio the output is squashed in Premiere. For example we often shoot in 2:1 or 2:39:1 aspect ratio. so our Frame sizes can be 3840 x 1920, or 3840 x 1605. When creating a timeline with these resolutions it squashes the picture horizontally and sets the output of the card to 1080P output. Any Ideas the interface inside of premiere is pretty sparse.

Edit 1
Should have specified:

Mac OS 10.12.3
Blackmagic Desktop Video 10.8.5
Premiere Pro CC 2017 11.0.2

Kevin
Kevin Christopher
Editor/Post Production Supervisor
http://www.kevinedits.com
Offline

Kevin Christopher

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 2:02 pm
  • Location: Atlanta

Re: MIni Monitor 4K

PostWed Apr 12, 2017 8:40 pm

So I just spoke to support about this, and they have no answers why it works in resolve, but not premiere. This is the same kind of answers I have gotten for years with BM. Implementation of product features should work the same across all of the software you support. Give me an option to not to scale. That would work.

Kevin
Kevin Christopher
Editor/Post Production Supervisor
http://www.kevinedits.com
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 1886
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: MIni Monitor 4K

PostWed Apr 12, 2017 10:53 pm

Nope- you are wrong here. This is a matter for Adobe support.
BM card passes what Adobe engine sends to it. There is setting which allows you to choose to fit, centre crop etc. Have you tried it?

If this doesn't work- always work in UHD frame for 2.39:1 material and then if you want non standard frame export, change project setting before export. This should work. BM card always have to work in UHD frame size, it's just a matter how non standard frame size is inserted into this frame (and this is rather controlled by Adobe engine in Premiere, not BM drivers).

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 7 guests