Working with DNG over a network, how to increase speeds.

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Karel Voners

  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 6:16 pm

Working with DNG over a network, how to increase speeds.

PostMon Jun 12, 2017 8:38 am

Hi,

I'm working over a 10 GB/s network. Editing red raw works like a breeze as is prores. However it comes to a crawl when using DNG because of the network overhead when dealing with small files.

Is there any way around this? Can i convert the DNG to another format or wrapper and still retain all information?

Is cineform raw an option? I'm on mac and checked go pro studio but I can't seem to see how to convert DNG (or red raw files). I't legacy software so perhaps it's discontinued?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 2313
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Working with DNG over a network, how to increase speeds.

PostMon Jun 12, 2017 4:22 pm

Image sequences are not the best friend of ip networks. Try optimising your 10g network by using jumbo frames and some other optimise techniques (quite often provided by card manufacturer).
3K DNG should work fine over properly setup 10gbit. Are you using proper cards/switch or some cheap ones?

Yes, it's possible to convert DNG into Cineform RAW, but this is not problems free and yes it uses some legacy solution. There is also this:
http://raw4pro.com

Much easier would be to do some (debayer+) base grade and convert assets to DNxHR 444 or ProRes XQ (or 10bit uncompressed RGB).
Offline

Karel Voners

  • Posts: 38
  • Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 6:16 pm

Re: Working with DNG over a network, how to increase speeds.

PostMon Jun 12, 2017 5:37 pm

I'm using chelsio T3 cards, older cards but one of the best brands out there. Can R/W at 700 MB/s to the array. (The array maxes out at 700 for the moment). But these are sequential speeds and from large files. I'll try to see if I can do more configuration.

Also I'm connected over AFP because I'm on the mac, I've read that SMB is much more modern. Perhaps I'll do some testing using SMB.

Thanks!
K.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 2313
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Working with DNG over a network, how to increase speeds.

PostMon Jun 12, 2017 9:00 pm

Hm...SMB maybe better, but if it's SMB2 which is supported on OSX 10.9+

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 12 guests