"out of range" error message appearing on my monitor

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Luca Di Gioacchino

  • Posts: 79
  • Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 4:23 pm
  • Location: Montreal, Canada

"out of range" error message appearing on my monitor

PostWed Aug 02, 2017 12:31 am

Hi,

I just purchased the following monitor: BenQ BL2420PT Designer 23.8" 2560x1440, which I have hooked up to my 2014 Macbook Pro w/Retina display via a HDMI cable and UltraStudio Mini Monitor. I get an "out of range" error message on my monitor when I run Resolve. If someone can shed some insight. I'd greatly appreciate it. Thanks.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 2622
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: "out of range" error message appearing on my monitor

PostWed Aug 02, 2017 12:01 pm

What resolution are you trying to send to your monitor ?
What are you monitoring setting in Resolve?
Signal is not supported by monitor most likely- e.g. it's UHD or 24Hz (or 50Hz) which monitor may not support.
You have to be careful when you buying PC monitor for use with video monitoring.
Offline

Luca Di Gioacchino

  • Posts: 79
  • Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 4:23 pm
  • Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: "out of range" error message appearing on my monitor

PostWed Aug 02, 2017 12:32 pm

I'm outputting 1080p.
Incidentally, the monitor works fine when I hook it up directly to my laptop's HDMI port without the Mini Monitor.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 2622
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: "out of range" error message appearing on my monitor

PostWed Aug 02, 2017 3:16 pm

What framerate?
Try 60p- this should work.
That monitor supports 50 ~ 76Hz refresh range, so 24p/25p/30p most likely won't work.

For 30p timeline you can try setting monitoring to 60Hz (for 25 to 50Hz).
Offline

Luca Di Gioacchino

  • Posts: 79
  • Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 4:23 pm
  • Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: "out of range" error message appearing on my monitor

PostWed Aug 02, 2017 3:44 pm

I am outputting 23.976.
I'll give 60p a try.
Thanks.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 2622
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: "out of range" error message appearing on my monitor

PostWed Aug 02, 2017 4:13 pm

23.976p won't work with this monitor. You need more high-end one- they do support video refresh rates.
23.976p is going to be tricky as you can't use any multiply as BM doesn't have such a modes.

It's bad monitor for video monitoring.
Offline

Luca Di Gioacchino

  • Posts: 79
  • Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 4:23 pm
  • Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: "out of range" error message appearing on my monitor

PostMon Aug 07, 2017 5:20 pm

Andrew,
Which affordable monitors would you suggest?
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 2622
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: "out of range" error message appearing on my monitor

PostTue Aug 08, 2017 11:04 am

How affordable? HD, 2.5K, UHD?
From cheaper ones look at Dell. Just make sure you check spec precisely as it has to support correct vertical refresh rate range, so you can feed 23.976p etc. (e.g. http://eizocolour.com/site/assets/files ... 230_03.pdf)
HP DreamColor Z24x G2 is not that expensive and has all need presets and support for video work.
Other than this Eizo/NEC are quite solid.
Very popular 4K model: LG 31MU97- 4096x2160, 10bit, wide gamut and can be calibrated. Good price for the spec compared to Eizo or NEC. I've seen it in life and it's decent (bit of IPS glow but this is issues with most monitors, except high-end which have special coating).
If you need just HD then stay with HD resolution in 24inch. Always READ REVIEWS before you buy!
Good websites: http://www.tftcentral.co.uk, http://www.prad.de (use google for translation).
Offline

Luca Di Gioacchino

  • Posts: 79
  • Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 4:23 pm
  • Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: "out of range" error message appearing on my monitor

PostWed Aug 09, 2017 1:33 pm

Thanks, Andrew. But in the end I've decided to keep the monitor -- which is great, by the way, just not for colour critical monitoring. Instead I'll hook up my UltraStudio Mini Monitor to my BM Video Assist, once I calibrate it, and use that as a reference monitor. I know, it's not ideal, but it'll be more than enough for colouring content for the web.

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests