HDMI to Display Port convertor

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Paul Draper

  • Posts: 92
  • Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2017 8:33 pm

HDMI to Display Port convertor

PostMon Aug 14, 2017 12:20 am

Hi all,

Any advice for a HDMI to Display Port converter?

Blackmagic boxes use SDI or HDMI (no DP) for Resolve preview monitors; some VDUs only provide 10bit via the Display Port. In this case am wanting to drive a Benq SW2700PT DP input from a BlackMagic Shuttle USB HDMI output. (Or could be a DeckLink monitor too I guess, but am wanting to conserve PCIe slots).

I see there's a few 'active' options about, like from StarTech for example.

Thanks
PC1: Dell T7910, Win10x64Pro, 64GB, Dual Xeon E5-2687Wv4, Samsung SSDs. Nvidia 1080Ti, LG 34UM95 & BenQ SW2700PT, DeckLink MiniMon4k. RME UFX+, UAD-2 PCIe. PC2: 2018 Macbook Pro, 6 core i9, 32MB, 2TB, 4GB Radeon Pro 560X. Resolve Studio 15.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 3762
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: HDMI to Display Port convertor

PostMon Aug 21, 2017 11:23 am

When you buy get active one as they more likely to work with different devices. Don't buy crazy cheap ones.

If you after HDMI 2.0 to DP 1.2 (for UHD 60Hz) then this STILL doesn't exist as far as I know.

http://insights.club-3d.com/thread/hdmi ... t-1-2-2/3/
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 3762
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: HDMI to Display Port convertor

PostThu Jan 11, 2018 11:25 pm

There is some hope:

http://www.opto-media.com/goods.php?act=category&no=55

apparently it's about 200$.
Offline
User avatar

Frank Glencairn

  • Posts: 1609
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:07 am
  • Location: Germany

Re: HDMI to Display Port convertor

PostFri Jan 12, 2018 9:35 am

A Blackmagic HDLink Pro 3D should do the trick.
http://frankglencairn.wordpress.com/

I told you so :-)
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 3762
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: HDMI to Display Port convertor

PostFri Jan 12, 2018 8:10 pm

What trick?
Convert HDMI 2.0 to DP 1.2a with full support for 4K 60p?

HDLink Pro 3D is rather old (you can't even easily buy it anymore)- it's only up to 2K. To old device.
Besides- it can't convert HDMI to DP as it has no HDMI input.

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests