Mark clips in timeline...?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Edith Weil

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2017 5:21 pm

Mark clips in timeline...?

PostSun Oct 08, 2017 5:56 pm

Hello. I'm a picture editor, in the process of adopting Resolve as my primary NLE. So far I'm liking it very much, except for what appears to be a small, but important oversight.

It seems I cannot throw a mark on a piece of footage once it's been cut into the timeline. Am I missing a setting? I am NOT talking about marking the timeline along the top. I mean the extremely common practice of marking clips once they are cut into a timeline. For example, if I need to replace a word in the preferred take with a cleaner version from another take, and I want to mark a sync point on both clips to line them up, or I want to mark where a sound effect goes, or use a mark to note something about a shot on the shot itself, or countless other reasons.

Does Resolve do this? And if it doesn't, I'd like to request it.

Thanks for your help.
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 637
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am

Re: Mark clips in timeline...?

PostTue Oct 10, 2017 3:00 am

No timeline clip selected, means a marker will be placed on the timeline ruler display.
A timeline clip selected, will add a marker to the selected clip.
I thought you may have tried this already as that's how most edit software works with markers.
If you are doing this and it's not working, make sure you have not changed the marker keyboard mapping from the default setting.
Resolve 14
Mac OSX 10.11.6
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2014)
4 GHz Intel Core i7
AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4096 MB
Offline

Glenn Sakatch

  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:36 pm

Re: Mark clips in timeline...?

PostSat Oct 14, 2017 7:20 pm

also make sure you are doing markers and not flags. It seems to me one of those only did timeline items, while the other did both clip and timeline...if memory serves me correctly.
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 637
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am

Re: Mark clips in timeline...?

PostMon Oct 16, 2017 1:52 am

Flags are to mark an entire media clip. Markers work the same as Premiere, Avid FCP etc.
Resolve 14
Mac OSX 10.11.6
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2014)
4 GHz Intel Core i7
AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4096 MB

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Shrinivas Ramani and 19 guests