Desktop Video 10.9.9 bug...

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Jörgen Gustafson

  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 10:49 am
  • Location: Stockholm / Sweden

Desktop Video 10.9.9 bug...

PostSat Dec 30, 2017 6:37 pm

When recording with H.264 Pro Recorder the mp4 files are refused by Apple Compressor ""Error trying to open source media file".").
The files seems OK and is playable by QTplayer and VLC - but Compressor don't recognise them and can't import them to work with. My guess is that it's something wrong with the header/fork/meta in the files produced by H.264 Pro Recorder and Desktop Video 10.9.9. I have tested this on 4 Macs - same bug.
Going back to Desktop Video 10.9.7 and everything is good again.

Mac Pro chimeny, iMac, Mac Mini, Mac Pro tower - High Sierra 10.13.2 & Compressor 4.4.

Regards; Jörgen Gustafson
Attachments
bug.jpg
bug.jpg (455.95 KiB) Viewed 1118 times
Jörgen Gustafson • Video producer • Royal Swedish Opera
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 3653
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Desktop Video 10.9.9 bug...

PostSun Dec 31, 2017 12:09 am

What audio is inside those MP4?
If PCM then this may be the issue.
Offline
User avatar

Jörgen Gustafson

  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 10:49 am
  • Location: Stockholm / Sweden

Re: Desktop Video 10.9.9 bug...

PostSun Dec 31, 2017 10:32 am

No, it's AAC. When recording with BM's H.264 Pro it's AAC.

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:What audio is inside those MP4?
If PCM then this may be the issue.
Jörgen Gustafson • Video producer • Royal Swedish Opera
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 3653
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Desktop Video 10.9.9 bug...

PostSun Dec 31, 2017 6:40 pm

Does the 2.7GB file open or all of them are no go?
Strange that QT plays them and Compressor can't import. They both should rely on the same libraries.
Most likely issue with BM- not the first time :)
Offline
User avatar

Jörgen Gustafson

  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2012 10:49 am
  • Location: Stockholm / Sweden

Re: Desktop Video 10.9.9 bug...

PostMon Jan 01, 2018 11:38 am

Nothing I record with BM H.264 Pro Recorder and Desktop Video 10.9.9 is accepted by Compressor - all other files "on the planet" are accepted by Compressor - and files I recorded with earlier Desktop Video and H.264 Pro Recorder are also accepted by Compressor (I've used it for many years).
Yes, it's a bug in Desktop Video 10.9.9. 100% sure. It's an empirical fact.

The strange thing is that the files are playable with QTplayer and VLC, so I guess there is nothing wrong with the codec...it's something about the files relation to the file system...meta...fork...header...the "video" is OK, but the files "ID" is wrong...or something like that.

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:Does the 2.7GB file open or all of them are no go?
Strange that QT plays them and Compressor can't import. They both should rely on the same libraries.
Most likely issue with BM- not the first time :)
Jörgen Gustafson • Video producer • Royal Swedish Opera
Offline
User avatar

Patric Favreau

  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 11:57 pm
  • Location: Laval (Quebec) Canada

Re: Desktop Video 10.9.9 bug...

PostThu Jan 18, 2018 5:16 pm

I have the same problem with Desktop Video 10.9.10, capturing with H.264 Pro Recorder, can't open the file in Compressor, Handbrake or Mpeg StreamClip. Back to 10.9.7, and I able to import in those software...
Offline

Ritchm

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 9:30 pm
  • Real Name: Ritch Marvin

Re: Desktop Video 10.9.9 bug...

PostWed Jan 24, 2018 12:20 am

I'm having the same problem after updating to 10.9.10. I'm having the issue of the files not being accepted in Nero or Handbrake, but plays in VLC. After closer examination of the files, the frame rates are off by .04 to .80 (its never the same twice). The files are always slightly under the set frame rate, like for instance it might be 29.70fps. I've tried uninstalling the update and going back to an older driver/software, but it still is producing the wrong frame rates. Finally, I hooked it up to an old PC that had an old driver already installed and was never updated, which it then produced proper files. I put in an email to support, so hopefully they get back to me.

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests