Alpha channel not working with clips from Fusion Connect

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Jules Bushell

  • Posts: 1026
  • Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 3:06 am
  • Location: London, England

Alpha channel not working with clips from Fusion Connect

PostThu Jan 11, 2018 7:03 pm

Hi,

In Resolve 14.2, I've created a Fusion Connect on a clip so that in Fusion I can use the Delta Keyer to remove green screen. From Fusion, I render to EXR format but Resolve does not recognise the alpha channel in the rendered clip. Hence in Resolve editor, my keyed out background is not transparent but black.

If I right click the rendered clip in Resolve, the clip attributes option is greyed out, hence stops me from changing the alpha mode to premultiplied. The workaround is to reimport this same rendered clip from media and then I am able to select clip attributes and change the alpha mode.

I found an old thread here with a promise from Blackmagic that this problem will be fixed:
viewtopic.php?f=21&t=57516

Is this problem not fixed yet or have I done something obviously wrong?


Cheers,
Jules
Jules Bushell
url: www.nonmultiplexcinema.com
url: www.filmmeansbusiness.com
url: www.blurtheline.co.uk
Offline

Glenn Sakatch

  • Posts: 253
  • Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:36 pm

Re: Alpha channel not working with clips from Fusion Connect

PostSun Jan 14, 2018 4:55 pm

That does sound like a bug...I usually just send the bg over with the connect clip and do the comp inside of Fusion. If more color work might be needed, you might want to render out a separate matte pass that can be used in Resolve, importing it separately. But you have so much more control over your matte edges in Fusion than Resolve, I would recommend just doing the whole thing there.
Offline

Jules Bushell

  • Posts: 1026
  • Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2012 3:06 am
  • Location: London, England

Re: Alpha channel not working with clips from Fusion Connect

PostWed Feb 14, 2018 4:20 am

Glenn Sakatch wrote:But you have so much more control over your matte edges in Fusion than Resolve, I would recommend just doing the whole thing there.

Thanks for the advice. That's what I ended up doing.
Jules Bushell
url: www.nonmultiplexcinema.com
url: www.filmmeansbusiness.com
url: www.blurtheline.co.uk

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests