Monitor Mini not being recognized on new MBP

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Colin M

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:28 am
  • Real Name: Colin McQuillan

Monitor Mini not being recognized on new MBP

PostMon Jan 29, 2018 12:41 am

Cannot get my Ultrastudio Mini Monitor to work on my new 15" MacBook Pro.

The MBP only has Thunderbolt 3 ports so I am using an Apple T3 to T2 adaptor.

When plugged in the Mini Monitor is powering up and the TV I have hooked up to it is getting a 1920x1080 60i black signal from the Mini Monitor.

When I launch Desktop Video Setup from Control Panel it says "No Desktop Video Device Detected." and non of my apps recognize it as being connected.

I've read the using a BM Thunderbolt 3 device on a T-Bolt 2 computer is not supported - but haven't read anywhere that there's any issues using a T-bolt 2 device on a T-Bolt 3 computer via adapter.

Should this be working?
Offline

Colin M

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:28 am
  • Real Name: Colin McQuillan

Re: Monitor Mini not being recognized on new MBP

PostMon Jan 29, 2018 7:18 pm

I'm starting to suspect my Mini Monitor may be dead.. just tried it on my iMac and older MBP, both with Thunderbolt2, and I am getting the same response as my new MacBook Pro... When plugged in the Mini Monitor is feeding the TV a black 1080i60 signal, but none of the three computers (two via thunderbolt2, one via T2 to T3 adapter) will recognize the device. So the Thunderbolt port is powering the device, but Desktop Video does not register the device as attached...
Offline

Michael Grippentrog

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 9:15 am

Re: Monitor Mini not being recognized on new MBP

PostTue Jan 30, 2018 5:56 am

The Mini Monitor should be working. I'm using it successfully on a MBP 2012 with TB 1 (!) and on my Hackintosh (both Win & OSX) with Apple's TB 3 to TB 2 Adapter, flawlessly.

I remember, I had some problems at first, too. Unfortunately I don't remember what solved this issue. Trying different versions of the Desktop Video app might help. Launching the Desktop Video app from the Control Panel never worked for me, by the way. It always crashed immediately. Launching it from the regular app folder did the trick.

Maybe this helps!?
Hackintosh i7 8700k, ASUS GFX 1060 OC
15" MacBookPro (Mid 2012)
LG 34UM88-P, UltraStudio Mini Monitor, FinalCutPro X & Davinci Resolve
Offline

Colin M

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:28 am
  • Real Name: Colin McQuillan

Re: Monitor Mini not being recognized on new MBP

PostTue Jan 30, 2018 8:40 pm

Unbelievable... So bought a new Mini-Monitor thinking mine was busted... Same issue... Plug it in and all I get is black to TV and Desktop Video doesn't recognize anything being attached...

Looks like the problem is actually a new security protocol in High-Sierra in the System Preferences / Security & Privacy / General.. There was nothing wrong with my old Mini-Monitor.

Even though my setting was set to allow apps from "app store and identified developers' there was a notice under that saying that Blackmagic Design is being blocked... I clicked 'Allow' and bam.. the Mini Monitor is now loading and working without issue.

Would be helpful to have this info in the install notes for HighSierra users... very frustrating... and now I also have to go through the process of returning the new one I just bought as well....
Offline

Colin M

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 12:28 am
  • Real Name: Colin McQuillan

Re: Monitor Mini not being recognized on new MBP

PostTue Jan 30, 2018 9:15 pm

This is the fix - needs to be done right after fresh install - otherwise need to uninstall then reinstall to get the little permission checkbox in the security setting to allow the device to work...

Ben Disinger wrote:This is what worked for me -

Uninstall Desktop Video.

Re-install Desktop Video. Restart your computer. Immediately upon restarting, go to System Preferences > Security & Privacy. Once there, you should see a special option to allow what you've just installed to run. I can't remember exactly what it says, but it will be an option beneath "Allow apps downloaded from."

I hope that works!

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Octarius and 4 guests