Teranex Express no video input

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Perry

  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 1:54 pm
  • Location: Boston, MA

Teranex Express no video input

PostThu Feb 08, 2018 5:17 pm

Yesterday our Teranex Express (which is on 24/7 in a rack) stopped taking inputs. Nothing has changed in terms of wiring. We route signals into it through a BlackMagic Videohub and have both A and B SDI ins and outs set up. We've had it wired this way for nearly 2 years.

So what happens is that I go to the panel and click on Input, and the entire screen goes black. None of the format buttons respond, other than SDI and OPT. When I click on Output, I'm able to use all the format buttons, the screen shows the normal display (with grey bars top and bottom and the video signal in the middle. It correctly displays the selected output format). But there's no actual video out, it's just black, because there doesn't seem to be video in.

The VideoHub is showing video on the input, playing off a deck, and I've tried routing to both A and B inputs on the Teranex. Nothing.

I have swapped cables for the inputs to the teranex, reset the system to the factory settings, rebooted a few times. Nothing.

Is there anything else I can try here or is this box toast?
Perry Paolantonio
Gamma Ray Digital - 119 Braintree St #505 - Allston, MA 02134
6k Film Scanning -- Film Restoration -- Blu-ray/DVD Authoring -- Encoding
www.gammaraydigital.com
Offline

Markus Krapf

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 11:19 pm
  • Location: Germany

Re: Teranex Express no video input

PostSat Feb 10, 2018 9:31 pm

Have you checked if there is a valid signal output from the Videohub?

Did you also unplug the power from the Teranex or did you just soft-reboot the machine?

You may try reflashing the Firmware. Wait until the Teranex automatically boots fully up after the update is finished as I had also problems with a Teranex 3D and input detection if I used the buttons on the front to power it up manually just after the software said the update is finished instead of waiting for the automatic power up.

If there is no hardware problem with the Teranex this could fix it.
Offline

Glenn Sakatch

  • Posts: 200
  • Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:36 pm

Re: Teranex Express no video input

PostMon Feb 19, 2018 4:11 pm

Yes...route out of the videohub to a monitor, or out of the deck to the teranex to make sure you are looking at the right issue first of all.
Offline
User avatar

Perry

  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 1:54 pm
  • Location: Boston, MA

Re: Teranex Express no video input

PostTue Feb 20, 2018 7:04 pm

Need to look into this a bit further, but right now it's looking like something is up with the switch, not the teranex.
Perry Paolantonio
Gamma Ray Digital - 119 Braintree St #505 - Allston, MA 02134
6k Film Scanning -- Film Restoration -- Blu-ray/DVD Authoring -- Encoding
www.gammaraydigital.com

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests