Teranex AV "capture" functionality

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Steve Pittoors

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 2:41 pm
  • Location: Belgium

Teranex AV "capture" functionality

PostWed Feb 21, 2018 5:16 pm

Hello,

I bought a Teranex AV for a client but it seems that the "capture" functionality like the Teranex 2D and 3D is no longer there as the Media Express does not recognize the Teranex AV?

Is this correct?
Anyway not very clearly described..

Thanks,
Steve
#AUDIOSLAVE #VIDEONERD www.facebook.com/stevepittoors www.duffelcoat.be
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 4237
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Teranex AV "capture" functionality

PostWed Feb 21, 2018 5:21 pm

I'm 99% sure this is correct. It says nowhere about capture ability and no mention about MediaExpress either.
Ask BM support directly.
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 2619
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: Teranex AV "capture" functionality

PostWed Feb 21, 2018 6:22 pm

Yes the AV and Express don't have the capture function anymore.

The Teranex 2d 3d only did up to 1080P30 if i remember correctly.

Best practise is to use a external or decklink capture device dedicated for this function.
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV, ATEM TVS HD, 1M/E 4K, 2M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio Mini, SONY FS7 4K, Ursa Broadcast 4K
Offline
User avatar

Colin Barrett

  • Posts: 603
  • Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:23 pm
  • Location: Milton Keynes, UK

Re: Teranex AV "capture" functionality

PostThu Feb 22, 2018 8:46 pm

Steve Pittoors wrote:Hello,

I bought a Teranex AV for a client but it seems that the "capture" functionality like the Teranex 2D and 3D is no longer there as the Media Express does not recognize the Teranex AV?

Is this correct?
Anyway not very clearly described..


That's correct. The AV is designed as a standalone in-line processor and not as a capture device. So you actually need to give the output to another suitable device to undertake the video capture. Barmy? Yes - but that's the way things are going now.
Blackmagic Teranex 2D, Ultrastudio Express, Intensity Shuttle (Thunderbolt), Two H.264 Pro Recorders (Mac OSX) & lots of old VTRs used for digital archiving of legacy video formats for major libraries, broadcasters, universities and public archives.

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests