Page 1 of 1

VHS capture with BlackMagic MediaExpress

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 1:23 pm
by ryfkah
Hi all -- we're trying to set up a VHS capture station and having no luck getting our BlackMagic to recognize the signal. I suspect the signal coming straight out of our VHS deck simply isn't stable enough and we will have to introduce a TBC and sync generator into the workflow, but I wanted to make sure we're not making any kind of elementary mistake in our settings. I've attached some images of the way that we have our UltraStudio Express configured. Any feedback would be appreciated!

Re: VHS capture with BlackMagic MediaExpress

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 6:31 pm
by Christian Paire
Hello, I'm old and can't read your images :) Anyway what ever analog you send to Black Magic must be stab first ; but the fantastic sd video recorder now eol that can read almost all : jelly, sand, light lybian, vhs :)

Re: VHS capture with BlackMagic MediaExpress

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2018 7:06 pm
by Xtreemtec
We just had last week the same discussion.. viewtopic.php?f=3&t=49142

Re: VHS capture with BlackMagic MediaExpress

PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2018 2:43 pm
by Colin Barrett
ryfkah wrote:Hi all -- we're trying to set up a VHS capture station and having no luck getting our BlackMagic to recognize the signal. I suspect the signal coming straight out of our VHS deck simply isn't stable enough and we will have to introduce a TBC and sync generator into the workflow, but I wanted to make sure we're not making any kind of elementary mistake in our settings.


One of my video capture workstations uses UltraStudio Express at its heart and I really like it. Such a pity that Blackmagic has discontinued it!

The key to this, and all other forms of capture from videotape where BM products is concerned, is that video signals MUST be timebase-corrected first as they'll most likely reject the input. This is characterised by the appearance of a black screen (I call it the "Doh...." screen!!).

NOTE TO BLACKMAGIC DESIGN PRODUCT PERSONNEL:

PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE make our lives easier by introducing a robust, low-cost Timebase Corrector into your product range - perhaps in the "Mini Converters" range! I'd buy more than one and I'm sure lots of others would too.

Without such a device, I maintain that you're guilty of mis-representation because the implication is that your digital capture products will do the job on their own. They won't - and don't. I know!!!!

Re: VHS capture with BlackMagic MediaExpress

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2018 3:04 pm
by Wim Van Schie
I agree.

Some of BMD's product input circuits (such as the H264 Pro Recorder, Teranex 2D, and DL 4K Extreme) , are based on the ADV7842 chip which has TBC functionality - however it requires additional memory chips to enable the TBC functionality.

Please BMD, there is a market need for a analogue video capable TBC with line and field/frame correction capabilities.