HyperDeck Studio 2 and 1080/60p?

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Bryan Nelson

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:07 pm
  • Real Name: Bryan Nelson

HyperDeck Studio 2 and 1080/60p?

PostWed Mar 28, 2018 1:15 pm

The HyperDeck Studio 2 specs suggests it accepts 3G-SDI inputs, but is limited to video resolution of 1080/30p. That makes no sense, as I believe 3G-SDI is 60p and HD-SDI is 30p. Will this be resolved in a future firmware update. If not, what does 3G-SDI mean if not 60p?
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 2625
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: HyperDeck Studio 2 and 1080/60p?

PostWed Mar 28, 2018 8:42 pm

You are completely right.. Seems they have made a fault on the website.. The Hyperdeck Studio recorder is not 3G compatible!!
The Pro and 12G version does.
SD Video Standards
525i59.94 NTSC, 625i50 PAL

HD Video Standards
720p50, 720p59.94, 720p60
1080p23.98, 1080p24, 1080p25, 1080p29.97, 1080p30
1080PsF23.98, 1080PsF24, 1080PsF25, 1080PsF29.97, 1080PsF30
1080i50, 1080i59.94, 1080i60

Ultra HD Video Standards
None.
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV, ATEM TVS HD, 1M/E 4K, 2M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio Mini, SONY FS7 4K, Ursa Broadcast 4K
Offline

Tony Rivera

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3215
  • Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 4:52 pm
  • Real Name: Tony Rivera

Re: HyperDeck Studio 2 and 1080/60p?

PostWed Apr 04, 2018 10:08 pm

The HyperDeck Studio has 3G connections and had planned to have this unit updated however, by the time the development of the other units in the HyperDeck line came to be, this was part of those newer product lines and the original HyperDeck Studio did not receive the update. As for a feature request, this is not something there are plans for to my knowledge because as I mentioned, there are other products that have support for 3G now.


Hope this clears up this confusion.
Support: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support
Info: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/company

Follow us on Instagram:
@blackmagicnewsofficial
Offline
User avatar

Xtreemtec

  • Posts: 2625
  • Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2013 11:48 am
  • Location: The Netherlands

Re: HyperDeck Studio 2 and 1080/60p?

PostThu Apr 05, 2018 9:51 am

Tony Thanks for the clearup. But can you also send a ticket to the Webteam to fix this on the website then..
I can relate why people get confused reading the website.
Because this text is on the website>>
HyperDeck Studio

HyperDeck Studio is a broadcast HD based solid state deck that includes 3G-SDI and HDMI connections so you can work in all SD and HD formats up to 1080p30. You get familiar VTR style controls so it’s just like using a traditional broadcast deck, along with compressed or uncompressed 10-bit 4:2:2 broadcast quality recording. The low cost makes it easy to install multiple units when you need ISO recorders, or are doing long form logging or mastering for SD and HD.
Daniel Wittenaar .:: Xtreemtec Media Productions ::. -= www.xtreemtec.nl =-
4K OBV, ATEM TVS HD, 1M/E 4K, 2M/E Broadcast Studio 4K, Hyperdeck Studio Mini, SONY FS7 4K, Ursa Broadcast 4K
Offline

Tony Rivera

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 3215
  • Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2013 4:52 pm
  • Real Name: Tony Rivera

Re: HyperDeck Studio 2 and 1080/60p?

PostThu Apr 05, 2018 11:42 pm

I've mentioned this specifically and it will be forwarded to the powers that be.
Support: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/support
Info: http://www.blackmagicdesign.com/company

Follow us on Instagram:
@blackmagicnewsofficial
Offline

Bryan Nelson

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:07 pm
  • Real Name: Bryan Nelson

Re: HyperDeck Studio 2 and 1080/60p?

PostSun Apr 15, 2018 11:41 pm

Thanks guys, this helps. I agree the website should be updated to clear up any future confusion.

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests