Best Way To Batch Transcode Compressed Raw

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

pritch84

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 12:25 pm
  • Real Name: David Pritchard

Best Way To Batch Transcode Compressed Raw

PostMon Apr 16, 2018 12:28 pm

Hello, I shot for a client recently, my first job with the Ursa Mini Pro. We shot compressed raw for space. Now my client doesnt have a paid copy of Resolve but needs to somehow be able to open and export the footage at 4k. I don't believe the free version of resolve allows this.

Fastcinemadng doesn't seem to allow batch processing which is a nightmare.

Is there any other solution for my client? They want to be able to edit in Premier so uncompressed raw is fine.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 3551
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Best Way To Batch Transcode Compressed Raw

PostTue Apr 17, 2018 12:06 pm

Free Resolve version opens lossy DNG.
Offline

pritch84

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 12:25 pm
  • Real Name: David Pritchard

Re: Best Way To Batch Transcode Compressed Raw

PostTue Apr 17, 2018 1:23 pm

Free version doesnt do 4k trans coding though right? Bit of an issue when shooting for other production houses :/ If they dont use Resolve.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 3551
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Best Way To Batch Transcode Compressed Raw

PostTue Apr 17, 2018 9:46 pm

Yes, UHD frame size is maximum (3840x2160).
Well- these sort of things should be discussed up-front :)

If you want to handle lossy DNG with Premiere you can buy fairly cheap slimRAW (49$) and convert your lossy DNG into lossless (there is Premiere compatibility check field), which will be read by Premiere. This is good workaround- you still have 100% quality RAW assets and they will be more compatible (for the price of being bigger).

I'm not sure if there is any free app which reads lossy DNG and properly converts them.

Last option- if you have Resolve then convert it to ProRes/DNxHR/Cineform and deliver this to client.

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 6 guests