Page 1 of 1

DeckLink 8K Pro - how many outputs?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 4:14 pm
by TonyK47
I want to connect an Akitio Node Lite with a DeckLink 8k Pro to a Macbook Pro via Thunderbolt 3 and get four 4k outputs to 4k screens. Would that be possible?

Re: DeckLink 8K Pro - how many outputs?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 4:40 pm
by Andrew Kolakowski
No, TB3 data path is x4 PCI-E and DeckLink 8K Pro is x8 card.
Another issues which was mentioned in other thread is that DeckLink 8K Pro actually does not support 4x independent streams atm.

Re: DeckLink 8K Pro - how many outputs?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 5:07 pm
by TonyK47
Oh I see. How about getting two 4k outputs with the DeckLink 4K Extreme 12G?

Re: DeckLink 8K Pro - how many outputs?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 5:14 pm
by Andrew Kolakowski
This should work ( assuming T3 bus where card is connected is purely dedicated for it and card can actually do it).

Re: DeckLink 8K Pro - how many outputs?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 5:26 pm
by TonyK47
Cool! What do you mean "and can actually do it" though? :lol:

Re: DeckLink 8K Pro - how many outputs?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 6:00 pm
by Andrew Kolakowski
Well- do you know for sure that Extreme model does output 2x 4K independent channels?

Re: DeckLink 8K Pro - how many outputs?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 6:02 pm
by TonyK47
:lol: yeah, that's my question!

Re: DeckLink 8K Pro - how many outputs?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 6:03 pm
by Andrew Kolakowski
Send question to BM support.

Re: DeckLink 8K Pro - how many outputs?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 6:27 pm
by Xtreemtec
It does not.. Channel A and B are for Switch between gear, Dual link out or Stereoscopic..

Only cards that will do 2 channels out are Quad, Quad2, Duo and 8K Pro. And only the 8K Pro is 2x 12Gsdi out. The others are HD.

Somewere in the forum somebody of BMD states that the 8K pro will do 2x 12G sdi input, 2x 12G sdi output or Quadlink in or out.


Edit:: Did not remember it correctly.. The 8K Pro is only 1x in 1x out.. :?

Re: DeckLink 8K Pro - how many outputs?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 6:46 pm
by TonyK47
Just to clarify - the 8k Pro does only one channel in and one channel out simultaneously. It can't get more than one channel. Here's a link to that information:

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=73344&p=408501&hilit=8k+pro#p407967

Re: DeckLink 8K Pro - how many outputs?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 7:03 pm
by TonyK47
@Andrew Thanks for pointing that out with the PCI lanes. My hope is that with the next 4th generation of PCI the compatibility will be better.

It's amazing that 4k is still so problematic after all these years...

Re: DeckLink 8K Pro - how many outputs?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2018 7:15 pm
by Xtreemtec
All these years.. BMD was almost the founding father of 12G (4 years ago).. Because BMD adopted 12G, SMPTE adopted it to a standard.. While 12G was not even fully on paper the moment the first 12G products of BMD hit the market.. ;)

But don't forget other limiting factors like troughput on the motherboards and stuff like that.. Nice if a card can handle so much data.. But the PC it is installed in must be able to handle that much info too.. :lol: :lol:

BTW i put a new and intresting post in that other topic we discussed the Decklink 8K card..

https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=76329&p=422598#p422598