ProRes RAW - Resolve Future Compatibility Request

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

CRyanStemple

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2018 6:29 pm
  • Real Name: C. Ryan Stemple

ProRes RAW - Resolve Future Compatibility Request

PostWed Aug 08, 2018 7:40 pm

Hello all!

I'm making this post under the advisement of a Blackmagic Design technical support representative. Our post-facility is currently doing dailies on a major studio/network production (to remain un-named for client privacy, of course), and this week, we were delivered our first-ever batch of footage filmed using ProRes RAW on the DJI Inspire 2.

To our knowledge, the only way to process this footage (as of early August 2018) in any capacity is by using Final Cut Pro X 10.4.3 on Mac OS High Sierra, which is what we did (RAW to Log Conversion at DJI D-Log, transcoded to an established, universally supported ProRes variant). According to the DI house on this project, these transcodes will effectively be considered the "master" files for finishing purposes, not the original camera source files, as they themselves have no other way of working with the source material.

I would not categorize this as an ideal workflow, to say the least. We ended up more than doubling our media ingest for these cards, and still had to re-process them using our dailies software for metadata, second-system audio sync and DNxHD/DAX rendering. Not to mention that working within FCP X is in itself...not entirely conducive to an efficient dailies workflow, or at least one that works well for us.

I suppose the purpose of this post is to let the BMD Resolve developers know that there are major studio productions that are beginning to shoot with ProRes RAW, and that as this format increases in popularity (as I'm sure it will, because the relative size compared to other metadata-controllable RAW formats is indeed incredibly small), it will become critically necessary for software such as (perhaps especially) Resolve to support ProRes RAW on both a dailies and finishing level. It would please me to no end to be able to by-pass FCP X in this regard.

Thanks all! Would love to hear from other productions that have seen ProRes RAW being filmed - from what we can glean from our network of partner houses/vendors, this is one of the first (if not THE first) major studio production to use it.
C. Ryan Stemple, CSI
Senior DI Colorist, Periscope Post & Audio
periscopepa.com
Offline
User avatar

Jack Fairley

  • Posts: 1207
  • Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:58 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: ProRes RAW - Resolve Future Compatibility Request

PostWed Aug 08, 2018 11:01 pm

I agree it should be supported, but why in the world did they shoot ProRes RAW? It doesn't work on just about anything yet...
Threadripper 1950X 3.7GHz
64GB DDR4-2666
2x GTX 1080 Ti
DeckLink 4K Extreme 12G
Resolve Studio 15.3.1
Windows 10 Pro 1803
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 5409
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: ProRes RAW - Resolve Future Compatibility Request

PostThu Aug 09, 2018 12:56 pm

Apparently Adobe is working on it:

https://adobe-video.uservoice.com/forum ... er_page=20

but there may be some deals which prevent companies from implementation (if true than better to forget about it and work on eg. Cineform RAW).
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 10696
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

ProRes RAW - Resolve Future Compatibility Request

PostThu Aug 09, 2018 1:01 pm

Just speculating but I’d expect support for ProRes raw to be available in Resolve 15.x shortly after the six month exclusive license expires which is coming up in another month or so I believe. BMD may already have defined all the features of the release candidate for Resolve 15.0, but I’m thinking 15.1 will include ProRes raw in the fourth quarter.

Sorry that’s likely too late for your project but I hope your extra effort until then is at least financially rewarding for the hoops you had to jump through.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rick Lang
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 5409
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: ProRes RAW - Resolve Future Compatibility Request

PostThu Aug 09, 2018 1:33 pm

6 months of preventing what? All NLEs etc to add support for ProRes RAW, so there is actually a good reason to use it in camera?
Great idea Apple/Atomos stopping support in area which has nothing to do with creation of ProRes RAW (which I assume Atomos had some interest to be exclusive).

Up-front talks/development with NLE providers is exactly what you want when you try to introduce new codec. Well done Apple and rest to do everything to actually stop it :D This is not very good way to promote FCP X either.
Offline
User avatar

JPOwens

  • Posts: 1477
  • Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2013 8:04 pm
  • Location: Victoria, British Columbia, Canada

Re: ProRes RAW - Resolve Future Compatibility Request

PostFri Aug 10, 2018 6:08 pm

Kind of reminds me of the days when the anti-establishment rebel anarchists at RED wouldn't let anyone get at their R3DCode container. Seems quaint, somehow.

jPo, CSI
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 10696
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: ProRes RAW - Resolve Future Compatibility Request

PostSun Aug 12, 2018 4:26 am

I can’t comment on the rationale for the exclusive period, but six months goes by in the blink of an eye. In October I believe ProRes raw will begin to appear, perhaps two months away.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rick Lang
Offline

Simon Rabeder

  • Posts: 100
  • Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 12:42 am
  • Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: ProRes RAW - Resolve Future Compatibility Request

PostThu Feb 14, 2019 3:20 pm

Is there any news on this?
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 4641
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: ProRes RAW - Resolve Future Compatibility Request

PostFri Feb 15, 2019 1:25 am

Well, now that they have their own compressed RAW, I doubt they are in any hurry to implement ProRes RAW.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

David Fernandes

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Thu Jun 13, 2013 12:18 am

Re: ProRes RAW - Resolve Future Compatibility Request

PostTue Feb 19, 2019 7:50 pm

My understanding was that the 6 month exclusive thing only pertained to Atomos for RECORDING ProRes raw in an on-cmaera recorder - like, in other words, other monitor recorders couldn't add it until after 6 months. I didn't read that as no NLE's could support it... Wasn't it always available to be licensed?
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 5409
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: ProRes RAW - Resolve Future Compatibility Request

PostTue Feb 19, 2019 9:54 pm

No idea, but Resolve just needs to decode not record. Very different thing.
I'm worried that before ProRes RAW and BM RAW we had no standard and now we have 2 standards, which means we still don't have standard + we are actually in worse situation than before :D
Offline

Carlos Garcia-Diaz

  • Posts: 48
  • Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2016 9:40 pm

Re: ProRes RAW - Resolve Future Compatibility Request

PostWed Mar 06, 2019 10:05 pm

Andrew Kolakowski wrote: I'm worried that before ProRes RAW and BM RAW we had no standard and now we have 2 standards, which means we still don't have standard + we are actually in worse situation than before :D


This. Wouldn't it be nice if BM supported ProRes Raw and Apple/FCP X supported BRAW so that users can decide which one to use? Instead each might not support the other for obvious reasons, which sucks.

I really hope BM supports ProRres Raw at some point (in camera and in Resolve), but it looks like that ain't gonna happen: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=79893
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 5409
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: ProRes RAW - Resolve Future Compatibility Request

PostThu Mar 07, 2019 10:57 am

Yes, definitely, but problem is that world is more complex and all because of $.
Offline

Stop&Play

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 3:41 pm
  • Real Name: Juan Gomes

Re: ProRes RAW - Resolve Future Compatibility Request

PostThu Mar 14, 2019 12:28 pm

soooo ahemmmm... those clips i just recorded 5 min ago as a test with a FS7+raw output at 200fps and our brand new atomos sumo 19" ill just have to stick em up my ...disk! :| (working on win10 with resolve studio 15) ... **mad world song in the background**
Offline

MishaEngel

  • Posts: 837
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 12:18 am
  • Real Name: Misha Engel

Re: ProRes RAW - Resolve Future Compatibility Request

PostThu Mar 14, 2019 1:58 pm

Stop&Play wrote:soooo ahemmmm... those clips i just recorded 5 min ago as a test with a FS7+raw output at 200fps and our brand new atomos sumo 19" ill just have to stick em up my ...disk! :| (working on win10 with resolve studio 15) ... **mad world song in the background**


The new apple stuff only works on apple hardware/software.
Blame apple and the companies who collaborate with them, not companies who at least try to be open...
Offline

Stop&Play

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 3:41 pm
  • Real Name: Juan Gomes

Re: ProRes RAW - Resolve Future Compatibility Request

PostThu Mar 14, 2019 2:18 pm

MishaEngel wrote:
Stop&Play wrote:soooo ahemmmm... those clips i just recorded 5 min ago as a test with a FS7+raw output at 200fps and our brand new atomos sumo 19" ill just have to stick em up my ...disk! :| (working on win10 with resolve studio 15) ... **mad world song in the background**


The new apple stuff only works on apple hardware/software.
Blame apple and the companies who collaborate with them, not companies who at least try to be open...

nono, im not blaming BM... of course this is apple's way of dealing with the profesional world as always, thats why i sent FCP to hell

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests