Bandwidth requirement for external RAID editing

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

B-Magic-Drew

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2018 9:41 pm
  • Real Name: Andrew Metcalf

Bandwidth requirement for external RAID editing

PostMon Oct 08, 2018 10:46 pm

Hello, everyone.

I am rather new to the video editing field. I have always had a passion for hardware. I setup this Thunderbolt 3 desktop RAID (QNAP TVS-1282T3) for a friend who does video work professionally. Prior to getting this unit, he was using a stand alone USB 3.0 external HDD. Most mornings it would take him an hour+ to load a project. This box loads it within 30 seconds to a minute depending on how large the project file is. This has greatly increased his efficiency and completion times.

Here is the problem I am running into. We originally setup data tiering (what they call Qtier). The work gets completed too fast for this tiering to really work. He isn't accessing the same files for more than two or three days. The tiering cannot keep up with how quickly he completes these two to three minute videos.

To cut to the chase, I am going to be reconfiguring this box so there are two RAIDs. One for active work and the other for long term storage. I really don't want to have to do this again. I know I can get a PCIe add-in card to RAID two M.2 NVMe drives, but I don't want to have to do that. In the next 6 months, he plans on editing in 4K 10-bit YUV 4:2:2. How fast does the read and writes need to be for 2160p60 in 10-bit YUV 4:2:2? I have seen some tests out on the Internet of 4 SSDs hitting close to 1300MB/s.

*I apologize if I put this in the wrong forum.
*I apologize even further if I complicated the question (just wanted to give the few details I work with)
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 4348
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Bandwidth requirement for external RAID editing

PostTue Oct 09, 2018 10:46 am

4 SDDs in RAID 0 can do 2GB/sec.
UHD 10bit YUV is around 560MB/sec, just above single SSD capability. USB is not the best connection for RAID. USB 3 gen2 should do around 1GB/sec, but if you can use TB2 or TB3. It all depends what drives you use and if you do RAID0 (or 10) or RAID5/6 as these will have slower speeds. Good controller should easily do 1GB/sec+ on RAID 5/6.
Offline

B-Magic-Drew

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2018 9:41 pm
  • Real Name: Andrew Metcalf

Re: Bandwidth requirement for external RAID editing

PostTue Oct 09, 2018 3:04 pm

I have four Crucial MX500 500GB SSDs. I just want this QNAP TVS-1282T3 to be incredibly fast and never really need to reconfigure anything unless we upgrade the SSDs to a larger capacity. We are operating this through the TB3 interface. So the four SSDs in RAID 0 should be good enough for 4K workflow?
Offline
User avatar

rick.lang

  • Posts: 9555
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:41 pm
  • Location: Victoria BC Canada

Re: Bandwidth requirement for external RAID editing

PostWed Oct 10, 2018 5:12 am

I would think so. But you can verify that before you load data on the RAID. Configure the RAID 0 (striping) and when it’s configured, Then run the Blackmagic Speedtest against the RAID.

For the devices you want to use for backup, that needn’t be on a RAID or you can configure the backup as JBOD.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Rick Lang
Offline

B-Magic-Drew

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2018 9:41 pm
  • Real Name: Andrew Metcalf

Re: Bandwidth requirement for external RAID editing

PostWed Oct 10, 2018 4:11 pm

I really appreciate the feedback, everyone. This gives me enough to go with. I did a lot of research on this and I could never find a clear answer. Thank you.

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests