4K or 8_K?

Do you have questions about Desktop Video, Converters, Routers and Monitoring?
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

GiuseppeC

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 8:59 am
  • Real Name: Giuseppe Cammino

4K or 8_K?

PostSat Aug 24, 2019 5:49 pm

Hello,
I actually use a Canon EOS R to shoot timelapse videos (I shoot raw photos and I convert it in a timelapse video).

The RAW resolution is 6720 x 4480.
It's worth to generate 8K videos (7680 × 4320)? The raws are not full 8K resolution.
Otherwise I will us "standard" 4K resolution for the videos.

Thank you for the help :)


Giuseppe
Offline

GiuseppeC

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 8:59 am
  • Real Name: Giuseppe Cammino

Re: 4K or 8_K?

PostTue Aug 27, 2019 7:37 am

Please ... help me! :lol:
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 5646
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: 4K or 8_K?

PostTue Aug 27, 2019 9:08 am

Not worth (do you really need it?). Stay with 4K. With such a sensor you will get really detailed 4K.
Offline

MishaEngel

  • Posts: 1016
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 12:18 am
  • Real Name: Misha Engel

Re: 4K or 8_K?

PostTue Aug 27, 2019 11:07 am

You can use a program like Topaz Gigapixel AI to upscale the (RAW) images to 8k.
It has a trail version https://topazlabs.com/gigapixel-ai/
We use it to upscale old SD footage to 1080.
Offline

GiuseppeC

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 8:59 am
  • Real Name: Giuseppe Cammino

Re: 4K or 8_K?

PostTue Aug 27, 2019 11:52 am

Thank you for the feedback. I think that 8K will be more interesting for potential buyers. My question is if technically with my raw landmark DaVinci will generate 8K videos with good quality.
I want to avoid to generate blurred 8K video.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 5646
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: 4K or 8_K?

PostTue Aug 27, 2019 12:47 pm

6720 x 4480 is close to 8K. If you really want it then it's close enough to upscale with fairly good end result.
You can use Resolve super resolution upscaler (it's quite good), but you need good GPU to work with 8K.
Offline

GiuseppeC

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 8:59 am
  • Real Name: Giuseppe Cammino

Re: 4K or 8_K?

PostTue Aug 27, 2019 3:41 pm

Thank you for the support ^_^
Offline

GiuseppeC

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 8:59 am
  • Real Name: Giuseppe Cammino

Re: 4K or 8_K?

PostFri Aug 30, 2019 11:29 am

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:6720 x 4480 is close to 8K. If you really want it then it's close enough to upscale with fairly good end result.
You can use Resolve super resolution upscaler (it's quite good), but you need good GPU to work with 8K.



Ehm back again.
Just an information: where I can find Resolve super resolution upscaler?
It's a built in plugin or an "external" plugin that I have to buy?

Thank you very much :)
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 5646
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: 4K or 8_K?

PostFri Aug 30, 2019 6:53 pm

Resolve Studio internal feature. Right click on the clip and then "Clip Attributes". Bottom of the Video tab there.
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 5908
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: 4K or 8_K?

PostSat Aug 31, 2019 2:45 am

I don't think 8K will buy you any additional image quality. Image quality alone won't sell/not sell your idea.

You can make a good argument that if you extract a 4K image from a larger frame, this will give the room to optimize and reposition the frame as needed to create better composition. Noted director David Fincher has done this for years, and I don't think anybody has criticized Fincher's work from a technical point of view.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

GiuseppeC

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 8:59 am
  • Real Name: Giuseppe Cammino

Re: 4K or 8_K?

PostSat Sep 07, 2019 7:56 am

Hello again,
I have tried.
I have simply activated in the clip attribute the super scale, setting it to 2x.
I have left the other option Sharpness and noise reduction to medium, the default value.

Now I can simply render the video?
I'm missing some steps?

Thanks :)
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 5646
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: 4K or 8_K?

PostSat Sep 07, 2019 4:45 pm

Yes, just render (I assume project is set to 8K). I would set noise rather to low.
Offline

GiuseppeC

  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2019 8:59 am
  • Real Name: Giuseppe Cammino

Re: 4K or 8_K?

PostSat Sep 07, 2019 4:59 pm

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:Yes, just render (I assume project is set to 8K). I would set noise rather to low.


Ok thank you very much ^_^

Return to Post Production

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests