Playback frame rate settings doesn't work

  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Vit Reiter

  • Posts: 323
  • Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 5:36 pm

Playback frame rate settings doesn't work

PostTue Aug 13, 2019 3:38 pm

DaVinci ignores the Frame Rate Setting in the Project Settings. The video is still playing based on the Timeline Frame Rate setting.

Can anyone confirm this? This is a very important issue and must be corrected soon!
Attachments
Snímek obrazovky 2019-08-13 v 17.24.07.png
Snímek obrazovky 2019-08-13 v 17.24.07.png (151.64 KiB) Viewed 160 times
DaVinci Resolve 16.1b1 Studio, Fusion 16.0 Studio
macOS High Sierra 10.13.6
Mac Pro 2013,
AMD FirePro D700 Graphics, 64 GB RAM

Film Editor, Colorist, VFX and Motion Graphic Designer, DIT, Encoding technician
linkedin.com/in/vít-reiter-film-editor
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2611
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: Playback frame rate settings doesn't work

PostTue Aug 13, 2019 4:56 pm

Confirmed !!

Here with V15.3
2_fps_v15_3.jpg
2_fps_v15_3.jpg (53.84 KiB) Viewed 145 times

:oops:
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5388
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Playback frame rate settings doesn't work

PostWed Aug 14, 2019 1:35 am

I cannot confirm this. It's working properly for me.

Tested in 16.1b1 on Mac and Windows.

Can you provide a small simple project export .drp that exhibits this issue on your system? Perhaps some other project setting is involved.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2611
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: Playback frame rate settings doesn't work

PostWed Aug 14, 2019 9:18 am

Here is easy to reproduce:
From a created project:
Go Edit page
From media Pool: right click on a TL =>
Timeline settings => Click Use Custom Settings => OK
(no need to change the settings)

"Playback frame rate" is no longer respected.

Remake
Timeline settings => Click Use Basic Settings => OK
(no need to change the settings)

"Playback frame rate" is respected.

Unless it is by design?
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Offline

Vit Reiter

  • Posts: 323
  • Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 5:36 pm

Re: Playback frame rate settings doesn't work

PostWed Aug 14, 2019 10:16 am

Jean Claude wrote:Here is easy to reproduce:
From a created project:
Go Edit page
From media Pool: right click on a TL =>
Timeline settings => Click Use Custom Settings => OK
(no need to change the settings)

"Playback frame rate" is no longer respected.

Remake
Timeline settings => Click Use Basic Settings => OK
(no need to change the settings)

"Playback frame rate" is respected.

Unless it is by design?
That's right. Great finding!
DaVinci Resolve 16.1b1 Studio, Fusion 16.0 Studio
macOS High Sierra 10.13.6
Mac Pro 2013,
AMD FirePro D700 Graphics, 64 GB RAM

Film Editor, Colorist, VFX and Motion Graphic Designer, DIT, Encoding technician
linkedin.com/in/vít-reiter-film-editor
Offline

Rohit Gupta

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1149
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:00 am

Re: Playback frame rate settings doesn't work

PostWed Aug 14, 2019 2:12 pm

Jean Claude wrote:Here is easy to reproduce:
From a created project:
Go Edit page
From media Pool: right click on a TL =>
Timeline settings => Click Use Custom Settings => OK
(no need to change the settings)

"Playback frame rate" is no longer respected.

Remake
Timeline settings => Click Use Basic Settings => OK
(no need to change the settings)

"Playback frame rate" is respected.

Unless it is by design?


When you unlink the timeline from project settings, the timeline plays back at native speed. This is as intended.

Why do you ever need to play at a different speed than frame rate anyway? You can use slow mo or fast forward etc.
Rohit Gupta

DaVinci Resolve Software Development
Blackmagic Design
Offline

Vit Reiter

  • Posts: 323
  • Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 5:36 pm

Re: Playback frame rate settings doesn't work

PostWed Aug 14, 2019 3:20 pm

Rohit Gupta wrote:When you unlink the timeline from project settings, the timeline plays back at native speed. This is as intended.

Why do you ever need to play at a different speed than frame rate anyway? You can use slow mo or fast forward etc.
There are many reasons why you can want to use playback at different speeds then it is native speed. It is very practical during grading or when QC of technical quality of a video like duplicate frames, motion jerks, ghosting artifacts, etc.

I consider the function to play video at any speed as one of the great conveniences of DaVinci.
DaVinci Resolve 16.1b1 Studio, Fusion 16.0 Studio
macOS High Sierra 10.13.6
Mac Pro 2013,
AMD FirePro D700 Graphics, 64 GB RAM

Film Editor, Colorist, VFX and Motion Graphic Designer, DIT, Encoding technician
linkedin.com/in/vít-reiter-film-editor
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2611
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: Playback frame rate settings doesn't work

PostWed Aug 14, 2019 4:28 pm

Rohit Gupta wrote:
Jean Claude wrote:Here is easy to reproduce:
From a created project:
Go Edit page
From media Pool: right click on a TL =>
Timeline settings => Click Use Custom Settings => OK
(no need to change the settings)

"Playback frame rate" is no longer respected.

Remake
Timeline settings => Click Use Basic Settings => OK
(no need to change the settings)

"Playback frame rate" is respected.

Unless it is by design?


When you unlink the timeline from project settings, the timeline plays back at native speed. This is as intended.

Why do you ever need to play at a different speed than frame rate anyway? You can use slow mo or fast forward etc.


I did not find in the release notes that it's intentional that it only works with Basic setting.(I did not find)

The timeline playback control is located in one place.
As a result, I have considered it as a global parameter for all TLs, whether they are Basic setting or Custom setting.

If it is 'intented' that it only works with 'Basic setting', it would be nice while the timeline playback control is then by TL Basic or Custom.
Thank you.
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "

Return to DaVinci Resolve Beta Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests